Community Forums Today's Posts     Member List     Archive    
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Post Feature Requests (and Bribe) for TS3

Hi,

I'm very new to the Team Speak community. With the recent Ventrilo license changes I would love to switch to Team Speak. I recently sent $50 via Pay Pal to Team Speak just in support even though I'm not using the product yet, just to help create competetion for Ventrilo.

I will continue to use the old version of Ventrilo with my friends (we don't have a "clan" or anything like that, just some friends who game together) as the voice quality is PERFECT. So, I'm wondering what it will take to get that type of voice quality in Team Speak for version 3?

I believe it will require the 44k GSM 6.10 codec for one thing. Yes, I understand that folks on modems wouldn't be able to talk to us. I don't really care about people on modems as they should be on broadband. They don't have to join a channel that their connectivity cannot support.

I think it'll also require TCP instead of UDP for communications. I also think you should be able to choose these settings (codec and TCP/UDP) on a per client basis. Certainly by default the server could function just as it does in TS2 with everyone in one channel matching codecs; but with some new options it would be great if each client could chose their own transport layer (UDP or TCP) and codec (current ones or GSM 6.10) and have the server do a bit of conversion.

Obviously this would make the server QUITE a bit more complex in what it actually does and probably a lot more CPU intensive, but I think for those of us that have dual Xenon 3Ghz 800mhz FSB servers sitting on Gigabit Ethernet connections to the Internet this would be just fine.

So, in support of the following features I'm making another donation to the Team Speak developers in addition to the $50 I've already sent they'll be getting another donation for $200 right after I post this message.