Community Forums Today's Posts     Member List     Archive    
Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    7

    TS3 Web link & Shortcut syntax and auto connect

    Hi
    I spent a lot of time trying to find the answer to a few questions on TS3, with limited success.
    So I thought I would post all the answers here so others can find answers easier than i did.

    I'm using XP Pro 32 bit and TS3-beta 9

    Questions

    1) What is the syntax to connect to a TS3 server from a web link?

    2) What is the syntax to connect to a TS3 server from a desktop shortcut?

    3) Why does my client fail to connect via a web link?

    Answers

    1) <a href="ts3server://IPADDRESS/?port=YOUR PORT&nickname=Web
    Guest">Connect to Server</a>

    2) "C:\Program Files\TeamSpeak 3 Client\ts3client_win32.exe" ts3
    server://IPADDRESS/?port=YOUR PORT&nickname=YOUR NICKNAME

    3) Neither 1 nor 2 will work if you have, via a bookmark in the TS3 client,
    set the client to auto connect to your preferred server and you attempt
    to click on a web link or shortcut to another server.
    To turn off the auto connect within the client; go to bookmarks and
    highlight the server you auto connect to; press More at the bottom of the dialogue box and un-check connect at startup



    SDT HAMMER

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    7

    Follow-up post

    Hi All
    Well the auto connect issue (number 3 above)has been accepted as a bug and will be addressed.

    I add a number 4

    Question
    4) What is the syntax to connect via a batch file (.bat)

    Answer
    4) path="C:\Program Files\TeamSpeak 3 Client"
    start ts3client_win32.exe "ts3server://IPADDRESS?port=YOURPORT&nickname=YOUR NICKNAME"



    SDT HAMMER

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    2

    Join teamspeak Weblink

    I want to connect to teamspeak by clicking a button on my website. But when i just use the link ts3server://ip/?port it automaticly gives the name TeamSpeakUser.
    No i've read on some forums it's possible to connect with a custom nickname with following code:

    ts3server://IP/?PORT&nickname=NICKNAME

    Now i want a screen to popup (javascript) when i click the button, ask for a nickname and then connect with that nickname. How can i realise this?

    This is the code i used
    Code:
    <a href="ts3server://teamspeak.onlydutch.com/?port=9987&nickname=WebGuest">Join</a>

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    4

    try this ...

    e.g. ts3server://ts3server:78.46.90.80:9987 working with WinVST
    e.g. ts3server://78.46.90.80:9987 working with WinXP

    Not really helpful ...

    g, Niceguy.
    Last edited by Niceguy; 04-01-2010 at 07:25.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    7

    Further Update

    The approach is always to make things easier/simpler when dealing with computers and other people.
    So to that end I'll update my posting above.

    1. web link = <a href="ts3server://IPADDRESS/?port=YOUR PORT&nickname=Web
    Guest">Connect to Server</a>


    2. desktop shortcut = ts3server://"YOUR IP?port=YOUR PORT&nickname=YOUR NICKNAME"

    3. batch file= start ts3server://"YOUR IP?port=YOUR PORT&nickname=YOUR NICKNAME"

    Don't forget the "quotes"

    SDT HAMMER

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    7

    Default Channel and Password in a weblink

    Had a search for the answer to this but failed to find anything for TS3.

    I want to be able to auto join to a server via
    1. a weblink
    2. a desktop shortcut
    3. a DOS batch file

    The channel I want to join is not the default channel for the server.
    So I expect to have to specify the channel and its password in the link/shortcut/batch file

    Can anyone help please?

    SDT HAMMER
    Last edited by SDT HAMMER; 31-01-2010 at 10:23.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    1
    Just installed TS3 and love it. Busy replacing the functions in TS2 with the TS3 versions.

    Thanks to Hammer for the posting this. It took me 2 hrs to find someone that had checked on this syntax for TS3.
    However, I still find the explaination a bit confusing without an example (I like examples), so here is an example of the syntax for #2.

    desktop shortcut = "C:\Program Files\TeamSpeak 3 Client\ts3client_win32.exe" ts3server://"IPADDRESS/?port=YOUR PORT&nickname=YOUR NICKNAME"


    example -
    The TS3 server name you want to connect to is named "MyTS3server.net"
    You are using the defualt port of "9987"
    Your nickname is "G4meDTP"



    Here is how the syntax would look if you are using the default port (this does not acctually set the port).

    "C:\Program Files\TeamSpeak 3 Client\ts3client_win32.exe" ts3server://"MyTS3server.net?9987&nickname=G4meDTP"


    If you really want to change the port number you will need to change to;

    "C:\Program Files\TeamSpeak 3 Client\ts3client_win32.exe" ts3server://"MyTS3server.net/?port=1234&nickname=G4meDTP"


    You can use an IP address for the servername if you wish, but I will let DNS figure out the IP, just in case the Admin changes it at some point.
    Capitalization is likely not needed, but I did not test.

    Peace!
    Last edited by g4medtp; 26-04-2010 at 22:56. Reason: New info discovered.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8

    Exclamation More than 1 TS not connecting with the shortcuts,

    My clan GD has 2 TS's maybe more, on the gravediggers.eu Web address one on port 9000 and others on other ports but the shortcut

    "ts3server://gravediggers.eu/?PORT=9000/username=MrDemon" Does not connect to the 9000 server and connects to the 9987 server instead,

    Ok just found a area in "Bookmarks" in TS3 "Connect on startup. Auto connects to the server there n then when u load TS3.
    Last edited by mrdemon; 19-02-2010 at 14:48.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8

    Red face Huh

    ts3server://gravediggers.eu/?port=9000&nickname=MrDemon

    Wierd this is now working,.....

    looking at it now, funny, not reading what i was doing as usual, the /username and not &nickname, lol

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    5
    The weblink is working… ts3server:// and although I haven't found a complete reference guide, I is covered in the server quick reference and some threads.

    http://forum.teamspeak.com/showthread.php?t=48960

    The desktop shortcut could just be a saved link for the weblink…. the Batch file would need a client reference guide to know which args to use for the app…. haven't seen completed TS3 server or client docs released yet.

    …T.

    --- Merged ---

    Does anyone have a complete list of all new argument that can be passed using the weblink? I don't see a reference guide for this anywhere yet.

    …T.
    Last edited by florian_fr40; 23-12-2011 at 08:47.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Krün, Germany
    Posts
    481

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    20
    Code:
    <form name="tsform">
                <p align="center"><font face="Arial"><img border="0" src="/forums/foets.png" width="283" height="54"></font>
                </p>
                <p align="center"><font face="Arial">Choose A Nickname:<br> <input type="text" name="NICKNAME">
                <br />
                <input type="button" value="Connect To TeamSpeak" onClick="javascript:location.href='ts3server://foe-rs.com/?port=9987&nickname=' + tsform.NICKNAME.value">
                </font><br>
                <font face="Arial" size="1">You Must Have
                TeamSpeak Preinstalled to Use This Function.<br><a href="#" onClick="window.open('http://foe-rs.com/forums/index.php?topic=31.0', 'teamspeak')">Check This Guide for More Info</a></font>
                </p>
            </form>

    I got that code together with some friends and its working fine, but how can I make it so it connects to a specific channel + insert the channel's password...

    Great thx if you can help.

    Thx!

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    9
    i got this to work in IE8, not sure if works for firefox(dont have it installed) but i want to get it to work for chrome and it wont. is that just a chrome thing? or is there something else that i need to do for this to work.

    spook24

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by SDT HAMMER View Post
    Had a search for the answer to this but failed to find anything for TS3.

    I want to be able to auto join to a server via
    1. a weblink
    2. a desktop shortcut
    3. a DOS batch file

    The channel I want to join is not the default channel for the server.
    So I expect to have to specify the channel and its password in the link/shortcut/batch file

    Can anyone help please?

    SDT HAMMER
    this works for me as a windows desktop shortcut ......

    ts3server://SERVERIPADDRESS?password=PASSWORD&channel=CHANNEL% 2FSUBCHANNEL&channelpassword=PASSWORD&nickname=NIC KNAME

    The syntax should also work for a weblink as well as a batch file

    Cheers,
    PhilC

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •