Community Forums Today's Posts     Member List     Archive    
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Netgear routers

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4

    Question Netgear routers

    Router - RT311

    Before flaming me - I have read all the FAQ's i can handle !

    Has anyone been able to make the Netgear RT311 work with TS2?

    I called up netgear support and the female support rep i spoke to concluded that even thou i had set the port forwarding up on the router for port 8767, the RT311 wasnt forwarding the UDP packets. !!!

    This is maybe, or appears to be a limitation in the RT311. BTW i have latest firmware version.

    Is there a way around this problem?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    California
    Posts
    255
    Wow, yoou got through Netgear tech support!?!?! takes a couple hours for me hahaha.

    Anyway, i'm running TS behind a Netgear FR314 router with no problems. I just forward UDP port 8767 to the TS host and all is good.

    Don't know what else to say.

    0.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4
    Thx for replying ZP, I'm just resigned to the fact that this hardware dont cut it!

    Unless someone can help me out im gonna have to by a new firewall

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    63
    try fowarding and check to see if there are application triggers in your model.

    Btw you can only connect via your local ip on the intranet becuase you are behind the router. Internet users are the only ones who need your external ip.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4
    Thx a bunch Aero

    stupid noob

    All working now, was just trying to connect on External IP from within Lan. Didnt see that mentioned b4.

    External peeps can connect now

    Thx again


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    63


    np i did it myself

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    66
    Did I understand you correctly? if ur on a lan you cant connect via your own internet ip?

    I do it all the time to make sure people can..

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    63
    Thats what i said, most routers that have a pretty good nat and are pretty securely designed do not allow you to, becuase its a loopback and a security risk. You router is supposed to seperate internet traffic and lan traffic. My router will completely ignoe me if i try to use my external ip to connect to anything inside my network, simply becuase the connections are internal and not via the web. Only people not on my net need the external ip. I dont believe you should be able to do what you are doing.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    France
    Posts
    4

    Unhappy

    Hello, I have a Router Netgear RP114 and I cannot connect myself to TS2, I think that it is necessary configured the ports but I do not know the numbers! Help me !!!!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    3
    I have an RP114 Netgear router.

    Just forward the port, dont' worry if it's UDP or not. As stated above, YOU connect to server with internal IP, other people connect with external IP. I learned this the hardway when I was hosting FTP and WWW site (linksys works with external ip from internal source, unlike netgear).

    The port you need to forward is 8767, and you forward that the internal IP in your netgear webadmin (Open 192.168.1.1 with internet explorer - username admin password 1234).

    Click on the SERVER ICON in the system tray to find out the servers INTERNAL and EXTERNAL ip address.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    7

    do I need static IP?

    I have a RP114 router. Can I leave it DHCP and still port forward?


    Cheers

    Medic6666

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,594
    if you use dhcp you can enter the "name of your computer":Port as forwarding-destination.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Please Help with Netgear router
    By ZoomerChick in forum [TeamSpeak 2] Server Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-04-2007, 06:08
  2. i know how do it for routers and non routers
    By iquit in forum [TeamSpeak 2] Server Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 24-11-2006, 20:45
  3. List of good routers
    By veggii in forum [TeamSpeak 2] Server Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-02-2006, 03:24
  4. Routers and the Server
    By Unipheas in forum [TeamSpeak 2] Server Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 16-01-2006, 14:02
  5. I Offer Help For Connection Probs And Routers!
    By =STO=Jay in forum [TeamSpeak 2] Server Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-09-2004, 14:00

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •