Forum

Page 1 of 15 12311 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 222
  1. #1
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Pitt
    Posts
    103

    Don't have your Server Admin Query password? Look here!

    1. Manual Password Change [Easy] [Safe] [Requires Restart]
      1. Windows
      2. Linux



    Special Thanks to Actium


    1.A Manual Password Change - Windows


    Things you should consider:
    • [Easy]
    • [Safe]
    • [Requires Restart]


    Video: Watch


    Instructions
    1. Go to your Teamspeak 3 server folder.
    2. Create a shortcut of this file
    3. Choose the one that fits your situation
    4. Identify your server's executable
      • Windows 32bit
        • Code:
          ts3server_win32.exe
      • Windows 64bit
        • Code:
          ts3server_win64.exe
    5. Right click on the shortcut
    6. Click (at bottom) properties
    7. In the target box should be something similar to one of these two depending where you put your server folder
      • Windows 32bit
        • Code:
          C:\Program Files\teamspeak3-server_win32\ts3server_win32.exe
      • Windows 64bit
        • Code:
          C:\Program Files\teamspeak3-server_win64\ts3server_win64.exe
    8. Put this after the .exe Remember to include a space after .exe!
      • Code:
        serveradmin_password=passwordhere
    9. It should look something like this.
      • Windows 32bit
        • Code:
          C:\Program Files\teamspeak3-server_win32\ts3server_win32.exe serveradmin_password=passwordhere
      • Windows 64bit
        • Code:
          C:\Program Files\teamspeak3-server_win64\ts3server_win64.exe serveradmin_password=passwordhere
    10. Notice there is a space between .exe and serveradmin
    11. Change the green highlighted text to what ever password you want
    12. Now shutdown your TS3 server, and launch it through this shortcut.
    13. You have changed your serveradmin password!




    1.B Manual Password Change - Linux



    Things you should consider:
    • [Easy]
    • [Safe]
    • [Requires Restart]



    Video: Watch


    Instructions
    1. Open up terminal/bash.
    2. cd to your TS3 server folder
    3. Stop your server (Choose the one that fits your situation)
      Code:
      ./ts3server_startscript.sh stop
    4. Open ts3server_startscript.sh with your favorite text editor and replace the this code....
      Code:
      COMMANDLINE_PARAMETERS=""
      with this code
      This step is not necessary if you already have COMMANDLINE_PARAMETERS="$2". They must have updated their startup script
      Code:
      COMMANDLINE_PARAMETERS=$2
    5. Save your changes.
    6. Go back to your command line and put this in
      Code:
      ./ts3server_startscript.sh start serveradmin_password=passwordhere
    7. Change the green highlighted text to the password you want
    8. You have changed your serveradmin password!

    Note: This should not mess up your normal launch, you should be able to use ./ts3server_startscript.sh like you could before.
    Last edited by Chris; July 21st, 2016 at 05:00 PM. Reason: Strip unsupported options.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1

    Wink thx

    Yes youre vids are helpful even for a total noob like me :d

  3. #3
    Join Date
    December 2004
    Location
    RF
    Posts
    2,828
    Got this very "problem", will respond if it's enough to solve it.
    Was about to wipe database anyway Can't do more harm trying your guide.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    6
    I just had a quick look at the `clients` table in the teamspeak database. It took me only a few minutes to figure it out: The `client_login_password` field is a base64 encoded sha1-hash of the password. Reverse engineering the password will be quite difficult, unless you rely on quite a huge rainbow table, but you can easily set a new password for the existing account.

    This is a piece of php-code that will get the job done:
    Code:
    function encrypt_ts3_client_password($password) {
    	return(base64_encode(sha1($password, true)));
    }
    Just replace the `client_login_password` field of the serveradmin with this function's return value and the new password will be set.

    I also set up a really simple example php-script (source code).
    Last edited by Actium; December 28th, 2009 at 01:40 PM. Reason: fixed some typos

  5. #5
    Join Date
    December 2004
    Location
    RF
    Posts
    2,828
    Quote Originally Posted by Actium View Post
    I just had a quick look at the `clients` table in the teamspeak database. It took me only a few minutes to figure it out: The `client_login_password` field is a base64 encoded sha1-hash of the password.
    Nice catch I've had no doubt it is base64 encoded string, I was just wondering, from what function it is.
    I think, it will be easier to make a console script from this code.
    Code:
    #! /bin/php
    <?php
    print(base64_encode(sha1($argv[1], true)));
    For Linux/Mac, you can just make it executable, for Windows, obtain PHP and run
    php.exe -f ts3passwd.php <desiredPassword>

    F.e.,
    Code:
    [C:\]$ts3passwd.php 123456
    fEqNCco3Yq9h5ZUglD3CZJT4lBs=
    
    [C:\]$
    --- Merged ---

    Alternatively, to reset your serveradmin password to simple 123456, you could just run this query:

    Code:
    UPDATE clients SET client_login_password = "fEqNCco3Yq9h5ZUglD3CZJT4lBs=" WHERE client_unique_id = "serveradmin"
    Don't forget to reset password once you login to server query terminal with new credentials!!

    Code:
    telnet localhost 10011
    TS3
    login serveradmin 123456
    error id=0 msg=ok
    clientsetserverquerylogin client_login_name=serveradmin
    client_login_password=<Here'sYourNewPassword>
    error id=0 msg=ok
    quit
    Last edited by florian_fr40; March 26th, 2012 at 07:49 AM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Pitt
    Posts
    103
    I was wondering what the password was encoded with. I'll write up a documentation on how to change admin password, when I get home from the gym.

    --- Merged ---

    Hey Actium, can you increase the width of your text box? So the entire encrypted password shows. Or if not I'll just edit it around a little and post on my web server and give you credit.
    Last edited by florian_fr40; March 26th, 2012 at 07:50 AM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    December 2004
    Location
    RF
    Posts
    2,828
    I think, my method more generic, as it includes less steps. You don't have to figure out, what "passwordhere" is and how to obtain it from these scripts.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Germany / NRW
    Posts
    74
    love ya for figuring out the encryption

  9. #9
    Join Date
    December 2004
    Location
    RF
    Posts
    2,828
    Wasn't me - I was lazy to do it myself.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Pitt
    Posts
    103
    Quote Originally Posted by ANR Daemon View Post
    I think, my method more generic, as it includes less steps. You don't have to figure out, what "passwordhere" is and how to obtain it from these scripts.

    Meh, not that hard to understand. And the steps are basically the same since you then have to go into teamspeak and change the password again. This way is only one password change. Thanks tho

  11. #11
    Join Date
    June 2002
    Location
    Krün / Germany
    Posts
    1,639
    you could also start the server with command line serveradmin_password=yournewpassword

  12. #12
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    181
    Please put this information also in the command line parameter section in doc/server_quickstart.txt.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    6
    To anyone who thanked me, for figuring this out: You're welcome.

    Well, R. Ludwig's (unfortunately non-documented) method of resetting the serveradmin password makes my app sorta superfluous, but as Soljia asked me to adjust it, I decided to officially release it under the BSD license, so anyone who thinks there's a need for it, can take it and use it however he pleases.

    PHP Code:
    <?php

    /*    
     *    TeamSpeak3 Password Encrypter by Actium <Actium****.net>
     *
     *    Revision:    2
     *    Latest change:    Tue, 29 Dec 2009 10:25:02 +0100
     *
     *    Copyright (c) 2009, Actium <Actium****.net>
     *    All rights reserved.
     *     
     *    Redistribution and use in source and binary forms, with or without
     *    modification, are permitted provided that the following conditions are met:
     *        * Redistributions of source code must retain the above copyright
     *          notice, this list of conditions and the following disclaimer.
     *        * Redistributions in binary form must reproduce the above copyright
     *          notice, this list of conditions and the following disclaimer in the
     *          documentation and/or other materials provided with the distribution.
     *        * Neither the name of Actium nor the
     *          names of his contributors may be used to endorse or promote products
     *          derived from this software without specific prior written permission.
     *    
     *    THIS SOFTWARE IS PROVIDED BY THE COPYRIGHT HOLDERS AND CONTRIBUTORS "AS IS" AND
     *    ANY EXPRESS OR IMPLIED WARRANTIES, INCLUDING, BUT NOT LIMITED TO, THE IMPLIED
     *    WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY AND FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE ARE
     *    DISCLAIMED. IN NO EVENT SHALL ACTIUM BE LIABLE FOR ANY
     *    DIRECT, INDIRECT, INCIDENTAL, SPECIAL, EXEMPLARY, OR CONSEQUENTIAL DAMAGES
     *    (INCLUDING, BUT NOT LIMITED TO, PROCUREMENT OF SUBSTITUTE GOODS OR SERVICES;
     *    LOSS OF USE, DATA, OR PROFITS; OR BUSINESS INTERRUPTION) HOWEVER CAUSED AND
     *    ON ANY THEORY OF LIABILITY, WHETHER IN CONTRACT, STRICT LIABILITY, OR TORT
     *    (INCLUDING NEGLIGENCE OR OTHERWISE) ARISING IN ANY WAY OUT OF THE USE OF THIS
     *    SOFTWARE, EVEN IF ADVISED OF THE POSSIBILITY OF SUCH DAMAGE.
     *    
     */

    function encrypt_ts3_client_password($password) {
        return(
    base64_encode(sha1($passwordtrue)));
    }

    ?>
    <?php 
    print('<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>'); ?>
    <!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.1//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml11/DTD/xhtml11.dtd">
    <html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" xml:lang="en">
    <head>
        <title>TeamSpeak3 Password Encrypter</title>
    </head>
    <body>
        <form action="<?php print($_SERVER['REQUEST_URI']); ?>" method="post" accept-charset="utf-8">
        <div>
            <input type="text" name="password" size="60" value="<?php if(isset($_POST['password'])) { print(encrypt_ts3_client_password($_POST['password'])); }; ?>" />
            <span>&nbsp;</span><input type="submit" />
        </div>
        </form>
    </body>
    </html>

  14. #14
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Pitt
    Posts
    103
    Quote Originally Posted by R. Ludwig View Post
    you could also start the server with command line serveradmin_password=yournewpassword
    Booo, ruined all the fun :P

    --- Merged ---

    I haven't tried out the command line thing that Ludwig mentioned. Anyone else?

    Nevermind I just did. Guess my method is obsolete. I'll change the guide.
    Last edited by florian_fr40; March 26th, 2012 at 07:50 AM.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    75
    Choose any user to be in the Admin Server Query group. [Using sqlite]

    Video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4i_bOWe-MMs

    Documentation: http://docs.google.com/Doc?docid=0AZ...hjZjhjeg&hl=en

    is this just for the virtual server in question and not the main server admin ?

    i keep getting customers deleting admins and accounts then asking me to make them admin again, i dont want to give them rights to any server just the virtual server that they own.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 3 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 3 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. How to get my Query Admin password?
    By lalal in forum Server Support
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: March 10th, 2015, 01:55 PM
  2. Server Query Admin password
    By Honza1616 in forum Permission System
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: July 12th, 2014, 01:48 PM
  3. How to get query admin and password
    By qutip in forum Linux / FreeBSD
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: May 29th, 2012, 11:58 AM
  4. Admin Server Query password changing
    By chris_pl in forum Linux / FreeBSD
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: January 4th, 2011, 05:43 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •