Forum


Notice to all users

We are migrating towards a new forum system located at community.teamspeak.com, as such this forum will become read-only on January 29, 2020

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 36
  1. #16
    Join Date
    June 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,368
    Quote Originally Posted by Stefan1200 View Post
    Same here. But I also like the "simple 2 way secure handshake" described by Kubuxe at Yesterday, 19:54.

    If possible I would implement the unencrypted "simple 2 way secure handshake" to my JTS3ServerMod, but not the TLS encryption idea.
    I agree. I don't want to ship that libeay with YaTQA, as I don't agree to its license terms.

  2. #17
    Join Date
    September 2012
    Posts
    138
    Then use LibreSSL, OpenSSL, GnuTls, there are various libraries.

    Altough I would suggest a complete rework of the whole query aspect in TS3. More in the way RCON protocol of various game servers, or something with a HTTP, but get rid of the telnet output parsing.

  3. #18
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,360
    Quote Originally Posted by fspower View Post
    Altough I would suggest a complete rework of the whole query aspect in TS3. More in the way RCON protocol of various game servers, or something with a HTTP, but get rid of the telnet output parsing.
    Please not, I like it how it is now.

  4. #19
    Join Date
    September 2012
    Posts
    6,079
    Quote Originally Posted by Stefan1200 View Post
    Please not, I like it how it is now.
    That settles it then I guess? No need to change anything, we like that Thread resolved :P
    When sending PMs please make sure to include a reference link to the thread in question in the body of your message.

  5. #20
    Join Date
    June 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,368
    LOL, no. This thread is about adding any security to query. Stefan was talking about changing the whole query system.

  6. #21
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,360
    Quote Originally Posted by numma_cway View Post
    This thread is about adding any security to query. Stefan was talking about changing the whole query system.
    Exactly. I like the current telnet way, and I don't have problems to parse it. But I understand that it would be useful to make the login password a little bit more secure without switching to TLS/SSL, if possible.

  7. #22
    Join Date
    December 2012
    Location
    Athens, Greece
    Posts
    32
    Just a reminder to TS developers: Openssh protocol is... OPEN

  8. #23
    Join Date
    March 2014
    Posts
    12
    Just a reminder for you all. They are already making money on this software. They just want to sit and earn. It is a conclusion after reading threads on this forum. So we won't have new features that aren't flashy buttons for users.

  9. #24
    Join Date
    December 2004
    Location
    RF
    Posts
    3,008
    ssh [email protected] telnet localhost 10011
    Ergo, you have secure connection to TS3 query console.

  10. #25
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    The 3rd dimension
    Posts
    956
    Quote Originally Posted by Kubuxu View Post
    Stefan1200 stated right point. Currently to use SQ remotely you should consider using VPN or tunnelling as sending something in the internet like shouting throughout a window.
    Using a VPN is useless because the VPN provider techs/owners can have access to your credentials. I agree it should be secured but I do not know of any easy way this could be implemented. It would most likely require a special client. Remember, they even removed query out of the TS client so I highly doubt they will actively take steps to add it back with security. But that would be the only method I could think of. Add query back to the client and have that connection be secure and separate from the telnet port which is unencrypted.

  11. #26
    Join Date
    June 2012
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    317
    The VPN server can be the TS server (If ou are hosting in your server)

  12. #27
    Join Date
    April 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,266
    Quote Originally Posted by barricas View Post
    The VPN server can be the TS server (If ou are hosting in your server)
    To make it secure the TS server must be the VPN server, in any other case there would be some hops with unsecure traffic.

  13. #28
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    The 3rd dimension
    Posts
    956
    Or you can use Putty to SSH to localhost on the server. But the point is any of those options only work if you are hosting yourself. Most people rent servers.

  14. #29
    Join Date
    September 2012
    Posts
    138
    Quote Originally Posted by Barungar View Post
    To make it secure the TS server must be the VPN server, in any other case there would be some hops with unsecure traffic.
    You can still host a VPN server and TS on different machines. VPN connection can be encrypted between those two.

  15. #30
    Join Date
    December 2004
    Location
    RF
    Posts
    3,008
    Quote Originally Posted by Morthawt View Post
    Using a VPN is useless because the VPN provider techs/owners can have access to your credentials.
    Care to explain?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. ServerQuery
    By austin070 in forum General Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: January 16th, 2013, 09:26 AM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: November 9th, 2012, 01:41 PM
  3. Prevent serverquery users from seeing serverquery users?
    By Morthawt in forum Permission System
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: July 16th, 2012, 09:32 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •