Forum


Notice to all users

We are migrating towards a new forum system located at community.teamspeak.com, as such this forum will become read-only on January 29, 2020

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    August 2012
    Posts
    1

    Failed to resolve hostname (no-ip)

    I have a teamspeak server and from the server upgrade some clients can not connect by NOIP address, but if you can with the server's IP
    I have to give customers the IP number so that they can connect
    Is bad!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    August 2012
    Posts
    1
    Resolved!
    Is a problem with NO-IP conections.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    July 2013
    Location
    Earth: Undisclosed Location
    Posts
    37

    Failed to resolve hostname on my own server

    Hi guys,

    I do have my own Non-Profit TS Server running on this PC.
    However, today I recently tried to connect to it via the hostname (krsteamspeak.no-ip.biz). It's running on the default 9987 port.
    However, it instantly said Failed to resolve hostname krsteamspeak.no-ip.biz.

    I can connect just fine using my 192.168.0.xxx IP Address, and just fine using my Internet IP 173.xxx.xxx.xxx
    However, no matter which hostname I try (I have one hostname I give out to friends, which is the one above, and one I give out to Staff on my forum, which isn't listed here), it still says Failed to resolve hostname.

    All ports are forwarded on my router for the server, including the ports for the TS3 Client, and I still cannot connect to my own server using the hostname.

    Anyone know why?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    September 2012
    Posts
    6,079
    Quote Originally Posted by kefren View Post
    I have a teamspeak server and from the server upgrade some clients can not connect by NOIP address, but if you can with the server's IP
    I have to give customers the IP number so that they can connect
    Is bad!
    Resolving No-IP DNS names is now being done by Microsoft after a court ruling, due to certain No-ip names being used to distribute malware and being used as CC Servers for Botnets.
    They won't be resolving those DNS names at all, but should resolve legit ones that aren't abused, however there seem to be problems with that so far.
    When sending PMs please make sure to include a reference link to the thread in question in the body of your message.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    April 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,266
    Quote Originally Posted by Knight Rider View Post
    Anyone know why?
    Yeah, it like your ts client said: "failed to resolve hostname". Fix the hostname and all is fine. This is not a teamspeak issue!

    ; <<>> DiG 9.7.3-P3 <<>> krsteamspeak.no-ip.biz
    ;; global options: +cmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: SERVFAIL, id: 58596
    ;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;krsteamspeak.no-ip.biz. IN A

    ;; Query time: 835 msec
    ;; SERVER: 2001:14b8:0:3401::6#53
    ;; WHEN: Wed Jul 2 07:33:09 2014
    ;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 40

  6. #6
    Join Date
    July 2013
    Location
    Earth: Undisclosed Location
    Posts
    37
    Quote Originally Posted by Barungar View Post
    Yeah, it like your ts client said: "failed to resolve hostname". Fix the hostname and all is fine. This is not a teamspeak issue!

    ; <<>> DiG 9.7.3-P3 <<>> krsteamspeak.no-ip.biz
    ;; global options: +cmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: SERVFAIL, id: 58596
    ;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;krsteamspeak.no-ip.biz. IN A

    ;; Query time: 835 msec
    ;; SERVER: 2001:14b8:0:3401::6#53
    ;; WHEN: Wed Jul 2 07:33:09 2014
    ;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 40
    Thanks guys.

    I read the email from No-IP a few hours after I posted this.
    Hopefully all goes well

  7. #7
    Join Date
    July 2014
    Posts
    1

    External clients cannot connect

    Setting up a TS3 server for my guild to connect to.
    I am using a Ubee DD366 cable gateway as my LAN/WAN connection. I have set port forwarding for ports 30033, 10011, 9987, and 2008 from my staticIp'd laptop running the server to the external IP. I have completely turned off windows firewall on the laptop (win7 ultimate 64) and have no other antivirus or firewalls running. I have a noip domain linked to my external IP with the automatic dynamic IP updater running. I am able to connect to the TS3 server using the client on my desktop (same LAN subnet) with the noip domain, but my guildmates are unable to connect with the same domain.

    So in theory, when I try to connect to ts4gods.ddns.net on my desktop's client, it is sending a request to redirect basically to itself(well the wan port on my gateway) allowing it to work on my internal network. But why is the WAN port rejecting the port forwarding?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: November 1st, 2015, 11:06 AM
  2. Failed to resolve hostname
    By oiuytrewq in forum Client Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: August 1st, 2015, 03:26 PM
  3. Failed to resolve hostname
    By JuicyX in forum Client Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: December 1st, 2011, 09:04 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •