Forum

Server / Channel password resets to random?

I have been hosting a TS3 server for close to a year until my TS has been invaded by random people making rooms and other them spamming the poke feature... Now I would like a server password however every time I set it the password is suddenly changed to a some random one?!

It is not. For security reasons it simply displays as a certain number of dots, regardless of how many characters the actual password has. This is to prevent people from being able to know how long the password is, which would greatly reduce the time required to guess the password.
    When sending PMs please make sure to include a reference link to the thread in question in the body of your message.

Virtual Server Password Resetting?

Hi there, I'm relatively new to TS3 and I'm just starting to get the hang of the very basics. And I mean the -very- basics. Anyway, my issue. Basically, I made a Virtual Server Password via | Right-clicking TS - Edit Virtual Server - Password - Apply.

Yet, everytime I apply it with the correct password which should be ********** long. I get one that's ************** long. Which is a couple more character's. And so obviously my original password doesn't work for people wanting to get onto the server. I have no idea what's causing the issue but any sort of solution/help/input would be much appreciated by the newbie! ^_^
    Last edited by dante696; December 31st, 2014 at 05:18 PM. Reason: merged

The number of stars has no relation with the number of password's characters.
    They type the wrong password.
    Make a new simple password and try to join the server with a new identity

Wow. Now I feel like a total idiot. XD Thanks for that though, felt like I was gonna have a heart-attack when it kept changing to a different number of characters. Not that it matters that much though since I'm setting up an invite only server. Just don't want anything out of my control.

You're welcome