Forum


Notice to all users

We are migrating towards a new forum system located at community.teamspeak.com, as such this forum will become read-only on January 29, 2020

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Join Date
    August 2014
    Posts
    3

    Solved Linux x86_64, not Linux i386

    Hey

    I have make a big mistake when i install teamspeak3

    Look like i have the wrong version

    You have: Linux x86_64, not Linux i386

    But all our chanels is set up, can i overwrite "Server x86 3.0.10.3" with "Server amd64 3.0.10.3" without deleting all our settings or i have to start all over ?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    October 2011
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    23
    that should be safe, remember to take a backup of the files if things break.

    But that said, there isn't too many reasons to change before there's an update anyways, TS3Server doesn't use that much memory that 64bit is required.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    18,513
    Quote Originally Posted by Thor Erik View Post
    that should be safe, remember to take a backup of the files if things break.

    But that said, there isn't too many reasons to change before there's an update anyways, TS3Server doesn't use that much memory that 64bit is required.
    Sorry, but i disagree to this completely. It's not safe to have both binarys in one folder. The memory usage is nearly the same, but can use more than 4GB RAM.

    Better install the server into a new folder and then copy the needed files and folders to the new server dir.
    Folder: files

    Files (if existing): ts3server.sqlitedb, query_ip_blacklist.txt, query_ip_whitelist.txt, ts3server.ini, licensekey.dat, serverkey.dat
    and all other ".ini" fiels if you used some.
    When sending me private messages: Please make sure to include reference link to your forum thread or post.

    TeamSpeak FAQ || What should i report, when i open a client thread?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    October 2011
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    23
    Quote Originally Posted by dante696 View Post
    Sorry, but i disagree to this completely. It's not safe to have both binarys in one folder.
    I wonder what planet that is unsafe on, as long as the init script is copied over, it will invoke the 64bit binary, if it's not, it will invoke the 32bit binary, in which case he will have to copy over the 64bit binary.

    At no point will the cpu boil, memory fry or network card loose all it's bits caused by invoking the incorrect version when copying it over.
    When I talk safety I talk about safety for the data which is what "costs" the most to loose, since you'd have to re-create said data, as long as there are no files of the ones you mentioned in the source directory/zip, there is little to no risk of dataloss, hence why I say it should be safe.

    But as I also said, take a backup, since you can never be too safe.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    August 2014
    Posts
    3
    Thanks working now

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Issues moving TS3 server from 32-bit linux to 64-bit linux
    By DreamPhysix in forum Linux / FreeBSD
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: March 10th, 2011, 08:43 AM
  2. Linux server install for low-skill-in-linux-terminal guy
    By flakz0r in forum Linux / FreeBSD
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: December 30th, 2010, 09:03 AM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: February 24th, 2010, 05:30 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •