Forum


Notice to all users

We are migrating towards a new forum system located at community.teamspeak.com, as such this forum will become read-only on January 29, 2020

Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Join Date
    April 2009
    Location
    the netherlands
    Posts
    36

    Teamspeak 3 server TSDNS setup

    Hi all,

    First of all sorry for the time i am going to need for this. I'am Dutch and my English is not good en of to understand some things i need to know in this explanation for TSDNS

    I wanna setup my teamspeak IP'S + ports to a (non IP adres "TSDNS")

    The example like i planning to use is "name.FTS4Y.com:"port"

    I got 10 servers running on a machine, that have to be setup total from the beginning.
    There is nothing ready yet from the TSDNS. Never touched the map TSDNS before.
    Only tried to understand the usage.txt but found out my English is to horrible to understand it .

    Hopefully somebody can help me here in Dutch or English with some screenshots or own made tutorials. Because all the tutorial i found are German about this subject.
    And getting a big headache from trying to understand it by reading it several times.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    December 2004
    Location
    RF
    Posts
    3,008
    Don't use TSDNS. Use DNS SRV records.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    April 2009
    Location
    the netherlands
    Posts
    36
    Can you explain? I dont know what DNS SRV records is and how it works...
    I am running on a windows 7 machine not linux or server edition.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    December 2004
    Location
    RF
    Posts
    3,008
    Has nothing to do with servers or linux.
    SRV record is a standardized way of using DNS resolution to indicate location of servers providing services (SRV) for domain.
    Something akin to MX record, just more generic (thus more utilitarian).
    Example can be found at http://forum.teamspeak.com/showthrea...288#post383288

  5. #5
    Join Date
    April 2009
    Location
    the netherlands
    Posts
    36
    this topic doesn't explain where to create/found it or what tool you need to use.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    December 2004
    Location
    RF
    Posts
    3,008
    If you don't know that, TSDNS won't help you either... Both only work if you have a DNS name attached to your IP.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    June 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,368
    Why do you even still want to use ports?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    April 2009
    Location
    the netherlands
    Posts
    36
    Quote Originally Posted by numma_cway View Post
    Why do you even still want to use ports?
    This is not important anymore. If its really not possible like ANR Daemon says.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    July 2014
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by darkangel456 View Post
    This is not important anymore. If its really not possible like ANR Daemon says.

    Wrote: Both only work if you have a DNS name attached to your IP.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    December 2004
    Location
    RF
    Posts
    3,008
    And you wanted to say… what?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    April 2009
    Location
    the netherlands
    Posts
    36
    Uuhh so? The TSDNS is the tool that makes a DNS name from your IP or not?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    December 2004
    Location
    RF
    Posts
    3,008
    No. It lets you discover port(s) of your server(s) when you already have a DNS name(s).
    But when you already have DNS name, then you can use DNS SRV records with the benefit of having one less service to worry about.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    April 2009
    Location
    the netherlands
    Posts
    36
    I totaly dont know how the DNS SRV works. And what i can find on google is that its a part of the windows server, and not the normal windows.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    June 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,368
    Dafuq?
    Well, before knowing what SRV is, you need some basic knowledge what DNS is at all. And after that, you can try understanding TSDNS for the sole purpose of understanding why it's entirely useless (unless your ISP limits your number of subdomains). TSDNS does not work without DNS, so if you have no domain, you cannot have TSDNS anyway.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: August 4th, 2013, 02:52 PM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: July 19th, 2010, 12:07 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •