Forum


Notice to all users

We are migrating towards a new forum system located at community.teamspeak.com, as such this forum will become read-only on January 29, 2020

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22
  1. #1
    Join Date
    September 2014
    Posts
    5

    Can not reach the update server?

    I can't connect to anything from teamspeak now. I couldn't even connect to do the update via the menu, had to download & install manually. I ping the address with no problem, nothing unusual. I've tried disabling firewall and virus protection, no difference. Reading the forums the answers seem to be "check if you have UDP" or "check with your ISP" but it seems way more likely the update changed something rather than my ISP coincidentally doing something.
    Last edited by dante696; September 9th, 2014 at 02:07 PM. Reason: thread title renamed

  2. #2
    Join Date
    September 2012
    Posts
    6,079
    The update server has been offline occasionally over the past couple days / week, so that's why you had to update manually. Other than that nothing really, except for the changes mentioned in the changelog. The server may simply be offline.
    When sending PMs please make sure to include a reference link to the thread in question in the body of your message.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    September 2014
    Posts
    14
    Is there an ETA when the update server is working again? I know that i can download the installer manually but the error messages are just bugging me.

    As far as I can tell update.teamspeak.com (176.9.148.78) just checks the client version. The actual files are then downloaded from somewhere else. Is this right? blacklist.teamspeak.com is the same ip (176.9.148.78). Thats why blacklist is working neither.

    Maybe you can call your provider (Hetzner afaik) to sort things out. Thank you!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    September 2012
    Posts
    6,079
    What error messages? There are none.
    When sending PMs please make sure to include a reference link to the thread in question in the body of your message.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    September 2014
    Posts
    14
    Using the german version:

    "Konnte aktuelle Clientversion nicht vom Aktualisierungsserver abfragen"

    "Not able to get the most recent client version from the update server" something like that in english

  6. #6
    Join Date
    January 2010
    Location
    El Prat de Llobregat (Barcelona, Spain)
    Posts
    2,698
    Quote Originally Posted by Stumble View Post
    "Not able to get the most recent client version from the update server" something like that in english
    "Failed to query latest client version from update server"
    That's what I've got right now after Help --> Check for update

  7. #7
    Join Date
    September 2012
    Posts
    6,079
    That message only appears when you manually check for an update... not when the client checks the update automatically. So it's not really a problem.
    When sending PMs please make sure to include a reference link to the thread in question in the body of your message.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    September 2014
    Posts
    14
    Okay for me the message appeared due to the scrolling news at the bottom of the program. They didn't appear properly so i tried to reload them.

    I assume that the news are also loaded from 176.9.148.78 (update.teamspeak.com) so i think thats why i received the message constantly.

    Anyway, do you know when the server is available again or is there a bigger problem?

    Thank you!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    September 2014
    Posts
    5
    Yes, the "failed to query latest client version from update server"... I don't see how you can call that not a problem? I can't connect to the update server, I can't connect to anything now, every connection attempt results in "failed to connect to server". I also get "blacklist check timeout" in the client log. Only thing that's changed is update 3.0.16.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    September 2014
    Posts
    14
    Chris can you give us an ETA when the update, blacklist server is back online. Thank you.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    September 2014
    Posts
    14

    Arrow

    Any update on this would be appreciated, seriously

  12. #12
    Join Date
    September 2014
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by Stumble View Post
    Any update on this would be appreciated, seriously
    Trying one last time to get help on this as I still cannot connect to anything thru teamspeak. All servers ping fine as far as I can tell, but admit I'm not great with this stuff. I've tried disabling firewall and antivirus but still can't connect.

    Also, if I go to help -> check for update, I get the following error "Failed to query latest client version from update server". This seems to suggest there's something going wrong internally with teamspeak or its servers?

    Here's a copy of my client log, any help or fix advice would be appreciated (the "your dns needs attention" seems odd?):

    9/5/2014 07:28:56 ClientUI Info Connect to server: ts55.light-speed.com
    9/5/2014 07:28:56 ClientUI Info Trying to resolve ts55.light-speed.com
    9/5/2014 07:28:56 TSDNS Info SRV TSDNS found at "_tsdns._tcp.light-speed.com"=>"your-dns-needs-immediate-attention.network:0", but could not find TSDNS server there
    9/5/2014 07:28:56 TSDNS Info SRV TSDNS found at "_tsdns._tcp.ts55.light-speed.com"=>"your-dns-needs-immediate-attention.network:0", but could not find TSDNS server there
    9/5/2014 07:28:56 TSDNS Info DNS resolve successful, "ts55.light-speed.com"=216.127.64.195
    9/5/2014 07:28:56 TSDNS Info SRV DNS resolve successful, "_ts3._udp.ts55.light-speed.com"=>"your-dns-needs-immediate-attention.network:0" = 127.0.53.53:0
    9/5/2014 07:28:56 ClientUI Info Lookup finished: 127.0.53.53 0 ts55.light-speed.com 0 0
    9/5/2014 07:28:56 ClientUI Info Resolve successful: 127.0.53.53:0
    9/5/2014 07:28:56 ClientUI Info Blacklist check ok
    9/5/2014 07:28:56 ClientUI Info Initiating connection: 127.0.53.53:0 ts55.light-speed.com
    9/5/2014 07:28:56 TSDNS Info TSDNS found at "light-speed.com" and queried successfully. Result: 216.127.64.195:4136
    9/5/2014 07:28:56 TSDNS Info TSDNS found at "ts55.light-speed.com" and queried successfully. Result: 216.127.64.195:4136
    9/5/2014 07:28:56 ClientUI Info Connect status: Connecting
    9/5/2014 07:29:01 ClientUI Info Blacklist check timeout
    9/5/2014 07:29:01 ClientUI Info Connect status: Disconnected
    9/5/2014 07:29:01 ClientUI Info Failed to connect to server, want autoreconnect = 0

  13. #13
    Join Date
    September 2012
    Posts
    6,079
    This "your-dns-needs-immediate-attention.network" has been popping up a lot recently on the forums, however I never saw this myself, despite checking all of the mentioned addresses. Either they really did something wrong on their side, and fixed it between me checking and the report or it's your ISP / DNS server doing something wrong.


    try both of those commands if you're on windows
    Code:
    nslookup -type=SRV _tsdns._tcp.ts55.light-speed.com
    nslookup -type=SRV _tsdns._tcp.ts55.light-speed.com 8.8.8.8
    try these two if you're on linux:
    Code:
    dig SRV _tsdns._tcp.ts55.light-speed.com
    dig SRV _tsdns._tcp.ts55.light-speed.com @8.8.8.8
    In either case, both results should be the same, saying it can't find it.
    When sending PMs please make sure to include a reference link to the thread in question in the body of your message.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    January 2010
    Location
    El Prat de Llobregat (Barcelona, Spain)
    Posts
    2,698
    Quote Originally Posted by Chris View Post
    This "your-dns-needs-immediate-attention.network" has been popping up a lot recently on the forums, however I never saw this myself, despite checking all of the mentioned addresses.
    It seems the key is in the solved IP 127.0.53.53
    Details in this article:
    ICANN Approves Name Collision Occurrence Management Framework | Special IP Address (127.0.53.53) Alerts System Administrators of Potential Issue
    https://www.icann.org/news/announcement-2-2014-08-01-en

  15. #15
    Join Date
    September 2014
    Posts
    5
    The problem was comcast doing something. Here is the solution (at the bottom): https://github.com/rubygems/rubygems/issues/1001

    I have no idea what "appending home.lan" means, but it worked.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Can't reach TS3 server
    By sonezu in forum Linux / FreeBSD
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: June 29th, 2015, 06:08 AM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: November 8th, 2012, 12:22 PM
  3. [Resolved] I can not reach my server anymore.
    By weasle117 in forum Server Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: August 2nd, 2012, 12:38 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •