Forum


Notice to all users

We are migrating towards a new forum system located at community.teamspeak.com, as such this forum will become read-only on January 29, 2020

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    October 2014
    Posts
    10

    Random packetloss cause of too many channels?

    We are hosting a ts3 server. We have about 110 users at peak times. We had this same problem before, where everybody would get 60% packetloss in and 0% out, sometimes it crashed outright(thats what it said when we restarted the server). Then we deleted every channel and the problems stopped. Now we are at 190 channels again and the problems have started again. MTR shows 0 packetloss to the host, so it must be something else. Any suggestions?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    June 2012
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    317
    Hmm. What are the server specs? I would say either CPU or high IO wait.

    I have almost 700 channels and currently as I write 300 clients online and no lag.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    October 2014
    Posts
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by barricas View Post
    Hmm. What are the server specs? I would say either CPU or high IO wait.

    I have almost 700 channels and currently as I write 300 clients online and no lag.
    It's a ssd vps, with 2vcores @ 3,5ghz.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    June 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,368
    Which database engine are you using?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    October 2014
    Posts
    10
    I actually don't know what engine is being used, but the laggs have dissapeared for some reason.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    April 2014
    Location
    Seattle, WA, USA
    Posts
    141
    I can confirm no reproduction of packetloss on other servers, I've monitored 300 to 400 users on a couple servers with 500 to 600 channels.

    Have often experienced packetloss from
    • processes overloading system (cpu overloading, mass disk io, transcoding, etc)
    • networking inconsistencies such as updates or network traffic spikes choking bandwidth (probably not issue, since vps at datacenter?)


    Also, depending on the type of VPS (OpenVZ, Xen, HyperV, ect), resources and other devices are shared, so if someone else's account is spiking resource usage, then this can effect users' vps resources usage experience.

    Next time it happens, it might be worth a quick support ticket to your VPS provider just to see if there is something going on with the network or VPS host node.

    Using linux commands on your end also might help prove it's not a resource usage limit issue on your VPS. Some commands to try are
    - ⓟⓢ ⓐⓤⓧ
    - ⓗⓣⓞⓟ
    (^^ without circles because CloudTrash is being stupid)

    htop is live, so you can watch resource usage as the issue is on-going (to see if there are CPU spikes, etc).
    Last edited by Ronin Design; October 15th, 2014 at 03:13 AM.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: November 12th, 2014, 01:35 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •