Forum

Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    October 2014
    Posts
    7

    Nobody can connect to my server

    Hi all,

    I have been running my TS3 server for the past 2 months with no problems. Everyone could connect, there were no issues. But yesterday, I noticed my IP changed. Since then, no one can connect to my server anymore, except for people IN my network.

    I really need some help. Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Eastern NC
    Posts
    1,794
    Which IP, the server's LAN IP or your gateway/router's WAN IP? What address type (IP, Domain name) are your users using?

    Normally, loss of access when an IP changes is for one of two reasons:
    1) LAN IP of the server changed and the port forwarding rules in the gateway/router were not updated to direct traffic to new IP
    2) WAN IP of the gateway/router changed and users are using a Domain name that is still pointing to old IP. Further if the DNS record has a long Time To Live (TTL) it may take a several hours, or a day even, for the new IP to reach all DNS servers in their DNS chain. Servers I have hosted on a site with a Dynamic IP have a 30 minute TTL and software running to update the DNS server if the IP changes.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    October 2014
    Posts
    7
    I'm a real noob in this, but I guess my router's IP changed (it's something like this, right? : 141.135.134.95 ).
    I gave my friends the new IP, but only I (and all PC's in my network) can connect to the server.

    And what do you mean by the LAN IP of the server? Where can I find this?

    Sorry if my questions are stupid, this isn't really 'my cup of tea'.

    Cheers,

    -Viper

  4. #4
    Join Date
    June 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,335
    141.135.134.95 is a WAN IP, so your router's IP in the internet.

    For the router to work, it needs to have port forwards (can be found in the router interface) and that's what you need a LAN IP for. Press Windows+R, "cmd", "ipconfig /all" and grap the IP of the correct adapter. Do not ask anything about that here, nobody will be able to help you. LAN IPs look like this: 192.168.x.x

  5. #5
    Join Date
    June 2013
    Location
    TeamSpeak Community Forums
    Posts
    108
    Quote Originally Posted by numma_cway View Post
    LAN IPs look like this: 192.168.x.x
    What about if your router's DHCP server uses Class A or Class B addresses?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    December 2004
    Location
    RF
    Posts
    3,002
    Quote Originally Posted by itteam View Post
    What about if your router's DHCP server uses Class A or Class B addresses?
    What about you not trying to be smartass?
    While it is possible for a router to use other network addresses, the chances are close to zero nowadays.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    October 2014
    Posts
    7
    I just noticed this in the latest server log (I don't know if it's normal):

    2014-10-29 23:57:59.342766|INFO |ServerLibPriv | | TeamSpeak 3 Server 3.0.10.3 (2014-01-01 16:28:39)
    2014-10-29 23:57:59.343766|INFO |ServerLibPriv | | SystemInformation: Windows 7 SP1 (7601) x64 (AMD or Intel) Binary: 64bit
    2014-10-29 23:57:59.343766|INFO |ServerLibPriv | | Using hardware aes
    2014-10-29 23:57:59.344766|INFO |DatabaseQuery | | dbPlugin name: SQLite3 plugin, Version 2, (c)TeamSpeak Systems GmbH
    2014-10-29 23:57:59.344766|INFO |DatabaseQuery | | dbPlugin version: 3.7.3
    2014-10-29 23:57:59.344766|INFO |DatabaseQuery | | checking database integrity (may take a while)
    2014-10-29 23:57:59.369767|WARNING |Accounting | | Unable to find valid license key, falling back to limited functionality
    2014-10-29 23:58:00.948858|INFO | | | Puzzle precompute time: 1568
    2014-10-29 23:58:00.949858|INFO |FileManager | | listening on 0.0.0.0:30033
    2014-10-29 23:58:01.502889|INFO |CIDRManager | | updated query_ip_whitelist ips: 127.0.0.1, 208.167.241.190, 208.167.241.185, 208.167.241.186, 108.61.78.147, 108.61.78.148, 108.61.78.149, 108.61.78.150,
    2014-10-29 23:58:01.503889|INFO |Query | | listening on 0.0.0.0:10011
    2014-10-29 23:58:06.235160|ERROR | | | TS3ANetwork::ResolveHostName failed error: 11001 (Host is onbekend. ) 11001
    [...]
    2014-10-29 23:58:06.279163|ERROR |GetWanIP | | failed to retrieve WAN ip

    At the [...], the ResolveHostName failed error is repeated a lot of times.

    Didn't knew if it might be helpful, so I just posted it.

    [EDIT]

    Also, there is one more file wich says this:

    2014-10-29 23:58:01.502889|INFO |VirtualServer | 1| listening on 0.0.0.0:9987
    2014-10-30 00:27:21.444672|INFO |VirtualServerBase| 1| stopped

  8. #8
    Join Date
    June 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,335
    Do not use outdated servers.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    October 2014
    Posts
    7
    And what does that mean?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    June 2013
    Location
    TeamSpeak Community Forums
    Posts
    108
    It means you must update the server to a newer version.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Eastern NC
    Posts
    1,794
    Right, support is generally not giving to non-current versions.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    October 2014
    Posts
    7
    Ah finaly, I fixed it, I just had to reset my router and now it works. Thanks for the support!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. [Resolved] Can't connect to a specific server (Failed to connect to server)
    By MightyB in forum Client Support
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: July 29th, 2015, 02:21 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: March 28th, 2015, 09:42 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: February 5th, 2014, 03:53 PM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: January 21st, 2014, 10:57 PM
  5. Replies: 3
    Last Post: August 21st, 2010, 11:17 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •