Forum

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Join Date
    March 2015
    Posts
    2

    TS3 server without port forwarding?

    I am looking to set up a TS3 Server for my office's internal use, on a shared Wifi network with dynamic IP selection. Because the whole operation will be for internal use over the same network, is there any way to enable connecting to my server without setting up the port forwarding, or is it required by the client?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    December 2004
    Location
    RF
    Posts
    3,004
    Port forwarding is a poor man's routing. If addresses between client and server are routable already, you don't need any kind of port forwarding or what not.

    In case of TS3 server, your only concern will be the accessibility of the accounting server to verify your license. No need for any stinkin' port forwarding.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    March 2015
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by ANR Daemon View Post
    Port forwarding is a poor man's routing. If addresses between client and server are routable already, you don't need any kind of port forwarding or what not.

    In case of TS3 server, your only concern will be the accessibility of the accounting server to verify your license. No need for any stinkin' port forwarding.
    I'm running the NPO license, which is more than adequate for my needs. I can connect to public teamspeak servers, but when I try to access my server the client gives me "Failed to connect to server" message. I feel like I'm missing a step somewhere but without being able to find any solid documentation on setting up the server on a dynamic, internal network I can't be sure where. I know it isn't my firewall settings, I've been all over those.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    June 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,342
    Did you try pinging the server?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    December 2004
    Location
    RF
    Posts
    3,004
    Quote Originally Posted by Ruppert View Post
    I'm running the NPO license, which is more than adequate for my needs. I can connect to public teamspeak servers, but when I try to access my server the client gives me "Failed to connect to server" message. I feel like I'm missing a step somewhere but without being able to find any solid documentation on setting up the server on a dynamic, internal network I can't be sure where. I know it isn't my firewall settings, I've been all over those.
    Consult with your network administrator.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Issues with Port forwarding on my Server
    By SilverReig in forum Server Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: February 25th, 2015, 07:44 AM
  2. Port forwarding server side
    By u4xmp in forum Linux / FreeBSD
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: November 22nd, 2014, 12:26 PM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: May 2nd, 2012, 08:12 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •