Forum

Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Join Date
    March 2015
    Posts
    4

    Can't change serveradmin password

    Trying to change serveradmin password from CLI:
    Code:
    ./ts3server_linux_amd64 serveradmin_password=newserveradminpassword inifile=ts3server.ini
    2015-03-17 18:18:44.420203|INFO    |ServerLibPriv |   | TeamSpeak 3 Server 3.0.11.2 (2014-12-15 14:43:52)
    2015-03-17 18:18:44.420715|INFO    |ServerLibPriv |   | SystemInformation: Linux 3.13.0-37-generic #64-Ubuntu SMP Mon Sep 22 21:28:38 UTC 2014 x86_64 Binary: 64bit
    2015-03-17 18:18:44.420954|INFO    |ServerLibPriv |   | Using hardware aes
    2015-03-17 18:18:44.422016|INFO    |DatabaseQuery |   | dbPlugin name:    MariaDB plugin, (c)TeamSpeak Systems GmbH
    2015-03-17 18:18:44.422333|INFO    |DatabaseQuery |   | dbPlugin version: 1
    2015-03-17 18:18:44.451375|INFO    |ServerLibPriv |   | updated server query admin password
    2015-03-17 18:18:44.452308|WARNING |Accounting    |   | Unable to find valid license key, falling back to limited functionality
    2015-03-17 18:18:46.790927|INFO    |              |   | Puzzle precompute time: 2326
    2015-03-17 18:18:46.792442|INFO    |FileManager   |   | listening on 0.0.0.0:30033
    2015-03-17 18:18:46.840322|INFO    |VirtualServer |  1| listening on 0.0.0.0:9987
    2015-03-17 18:18:46.840938|INFO    |CIDRManager   |   | updated query_ip_whitelist ips: 127.0.0.1,
    2015-03-17 18:18:46.842754|INFO    |Query         |   | listening on 0.0.0.0:10011
    but seems it is not working:
    Code:
    telnet localhost 10011
    Trying ::1...
    Trying 127.0.0.1...
    Connected to localhost.
    Escape character is '^]'.
    TS3
    Welcome to the TeamSpeak 3 ServerQuery interface, type "help" for a list of commands and "help <command>" for information on a specific command.
    login serveradmin newserveradminpassword
    error id=520 msg=invalid\sloginname\sor\spassword

  2. #2
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    17,812
    Here is the only "supported" way to tell the server multiple parameters on start.

    1. Put the parameter serveradmin_password=newserveradminpassword into your inifile=ts3server.ini
    2. Start your server with command:
    ./ts3server_minimal_runscript.sh inifile=ts3server.ini
    or
    ts3server_startscript.sh start inifile=ts3server.ini
    Last edited by dante696; May 4th, 2015 at 09:37 AM. Reason: changed how to
    When sending me private messages: Please make sure to include reference link to your forum thread or post.

    TeamSpeak FAQ || What should i report, when i open a client thread?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    March 2015
    Posts
    4
    with script:
    Code:
    ./ts3server_minimal_runscript.sh serveradmin_password=newserveradminpassword inifile=ts3server.ini
    2015-03-17 19:38:21.678759|INFO    |ServerLibPriv |   | TeamSpeak 3 Server 3.0.11.2 (2014-12-15 14:43:52)
    2015-03-17 19:38:21.679525|INFO    |ServerLibPriv |   | SystemInformation: Linux 3.13.0-37-generic #64-Ubuntu SMP Mon Sep 22 21:28:38 UTC 2014 x86_64 Binary: 64bit
    2015-03-17 19:38:21.679884|INFO    |ServerLibPriv |   | Using hardware aes
    2015-03-17 19:38:21.681647|INFO    |DatabaseQuery |   | dbPlugin name:    MariaDB plugin, (c)TeamSpeak Systems GmbH
    2015-03-17 19:38:21.682295|INFO    |DatabaseQuery |   | dbPlugin version: 1
    2015-03-17 19:38:21.729647|INFO    |ServerLibPriv |   | updated server query admin password
    2015-03-17 19:38:21.730566|WARNING |Accounting    |   | Unable to find valid license key, falling back to limited functionality
    2015-03-17 19:38:24.503449|INFO    |              |   | Puzzle precompute time: 2744
    2015-03-17 19:38:24.505208|INFO    |FileManager   |   | listening on 0.0.0.0:30033
    2015-03-17 19:38:24.575081|INFO    |VirtualServer |  1| listening on 0.0.0.0:9987
    2015-03-17 19:38:24.575972|INFO    |CIDRManager   |   | updated query_ip_whitelist ips: 127.0.0.1,
    2015-03-17 19:38:24.577023|INFO    |Query         |   | listening on 0.0.0.0:10011
    2015-03-17 19:38:46.076498|INFO    |Query         |   | query from 1 127.0.0.1:57989 attempted to login with account "serveradmin" and failed!
    Code:
    telnet localhost 10011
    Trying ::1...
    Trying 127.0.0.1...
    Connected to localhost.
    Escape character is '^]'.
    TS3
    Welcome to the TeamSpeak 3 ServerQuery interface, type "help" for a list of commands and "help <command>" for information on a specific command.
    login serveradmin newserveradminpassword
    error id=520 msg=invalid\sloginname\sor\spassword
    Connection closed by foreign host.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    17,812
    Please put the parameter serveradmin_password=newserveradminpassword into your inifile=ts3server.ini
    And then start your server with command ./ts3server_minimal_runscript.sh inifile=ts3server.ini
    When sending me private messages: Please make sure to include reference link to your forum thread or post.

    TeamSpeak FAQ || What should i report, when i open a client thread?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    March 2015
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by dante696 View Post
    Please put the parameter serveradmin_password=newserveradminpassword into your inifile=ts3server.ini
    And then start your server with command ./ts3server_minimal_runscript.sh inifile=ts3server.ini
    It does not work too.
    I noticed this line when start:
    Code:
    2015-03-18 16:39:25.820063|INFO    |ServerLibPriv |   | updated server query admin password
    Is this means that the password is changed, but not "applied"?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    17,812
    It means both.
    This should work in case it could write to your databse.
    When sending me private messages: Please make sure to include reference link to your forum thread or post.

    TeamSpeak FAQ || What should i report, when i open a client thread?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    March 2015
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by dante696 View Post
    It means both.
    This should work in case it could write to your databse.
    What can I do in this situation?
    Can there be any additional debugging?
    How can I check for changes in the database?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    April 2015
    Posts
    1
    I am also having a similar issue when trying to update password. I get message that password is changed but then error on startup and password is not changed. I tried with script below and also adding to ini file but same result

    Code:
    Code:
     ./ts3server_minimal_runscript.sh inifile=ts3server.ini serveradmin_password=test1234
    Response:
    Code:
    2015-04-05 17:49:28.639685|INFO    |ServerLibPriv |   | TeamSpeak 3 Server 3.0.10.3 (2014-01-01 16:28:39)
    2015-04-05 17:49:28.639877|INFO    |ServerLibPriv |   | SystemInformation: Linux  3.5.0-23-generic #35~precise1-Ubuntu SMP Fri Jan 25 17:15:33 UTC 2013 i686 Binary: 32bit
    2015-04-05 17:49:28.771012|INFO    |DatabaseQuery |   | dbPlugin name:    MySQL plugin, (c)TeamSpeak Systems GmbH
    2015-04-05 17:49:28.771100|INFO    |DatabaseQuery |   | dbPlugin version: 1
    2015-04-05 17:49:28.962198|INFO    |ServerLibPriv |   | updated server query admin password
    2015-04-05 17:49:29.005886|WARNING |Accounting    |   | Unable to find valid license key, falling back to limited functionality
    2015-04-05 17:49:29.510959|ERROR   |Accounting    |   | local accounting reports an already running instance, instance will shutdown
    2015-04-05 17:49:29.511058|ERROR   |ServerLibPriv |   | Server() error while starting servermanager, error: instance limit reached

  9. #9
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    17,812
    Your problem completely differs! You did not stop the instance

    Stopp the server instance first and then use the command.
    It's a startparameter, why should it work when there is nothing to start?
    When sending me private messages: Please make sure to include reference link to your forum thread or post.

    TeamSpeak FAQ || What should i report, when i open a client thread?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    April 2015
    Posts
    7

    serveradmin query issues

    Hi,

    I have read the other user created forums regarding this issue and have found them to not really help much.

    I tried adding the "serveradmin_password=asdasd" to my start params, and that didn't work. I also added it to the ts3server.ini and that didn't work.

    My setup is below -

    OS: Ubuntu
    dbPlugin: MariaDB

    I did not set the server up, it was set up by someone else but they have since left it alone and disappeared.
    Upon looking at phpmyadmin I noticed that under the "clients" table there was no serveradmin account. After double checking with an old teamspeak server I used to host (using sqlite db file) I found a serveradmin account there. Whether or not this makes a difference, I don't know.

    I tried the password they gave me, but that didn't work. I reset the password using various methods, mentioned above, and they don't work either.

    The server logs the fact that the password was changed both times.

    Is there any way of solving this?

    PS: Oh and btw, the thread relating to "don't know your serveradmin query password look here!" that thread doesn't exist anymore. And I noticed it popped up on a PDF Selling website...... Just to clarify. I am not going to pay to read a pdf.

    EDIT:: After checking the database, all I can see in the "clients" table are clients under the server id 1 not 0 and I know serveradmin shows up as an instance client for all virtual servers. I'm wondering if anyone else has seen anything like this? (No users from server id 0 are showing in MariaDB/Phpmyadmin Screenshot below.)

    http://i.imgur.com/px1X26Z.png

    (Open link in a new tab. img tags don't work and the preset "open in a new tab" linking doesn't work.)
    Last edited by Gh0sT120; April 26th, 2015 at 12:25 PM.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    April 2015
    Posts
    7
    After double checking my database, I decided to test adding a client into the table..

    I used the TS3 "ServerQuery Login" box, to create my own serverquery account. Then went to the database, added a new row in "clientid 1, serverid 0, client_login_name serveradmin" and copied my query password in.

    2mins later, I tried Putty and YaTQA and both logged in successfully and I was able to give myself server admin permissions etc etc as a test.

    If anyone can explain why it worked, that would be great. But I thought I'd post my solution here anyway.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    6

    Failure to reset ServerAdmin password

    Hi,

    I tried to reset my serveradmin password according to the docs here:

    https://support.teamspeakusa.com/ind...admin-password

    I am running teamspeak 3 on a CentOS/MySQL server.

    After stopping the server, I tried to reset my password with
    Code:
    ts3server_startscript.sh start inifile=ts3server.ini serveradmin_password=test1234
    But it does not seem to happen. I check the respective fields in the MySQL database and the content of the field does not change. When I try later to telnet into the server and login with

    Code:
    login serveradmin tester1234
    I get a
    Code:
    error id=520 msg=invalid\sloginname\sor\spassword
    Any idea how to debug this?
    Last edited by dante696; May 4th, 2015 at 09:34 AM. Reason: merged

  13. #13
    Join Date
    April 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,266
    I think the standard start scripts only accept ONE additional option besides {start|stop|...}; this one is used with your inifile ... so all further options are ignored. To change that behavior you'll have to modify the start script.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by Barungar View Post
    I think the standard start scripts only accept ONE additional option besides {start|stop|...}; this one is used with your inifile ... so all further options are ignored. To change that behavior you'll have to modify the start script.
    You were right. I had to change the file ts3server_startscript.sh at the line

    Code:
    COMMANDLINE_PARAMETERS="${2}" #add any command line parameters you want to pass here
    to

    Code:
    COMMANDLINE_PARAMETERS="${2} ${3}" #add any command line parameters you want to pass here
    Then it worked.

    To test if the command was actually appended, I changed the same file again from

    Code:
     "./${BINARYNAME}" ${COMMANDLINE_PARAMETERS} > /dev/null &
    to

    Code:
     "./${BINARYNAME}" ${COMMANDLINE_PARAMETERS} > /dev/null &.
     echo "./${BINARYNAME}" ${COMMANDLINE_PARAMETERS}
    so that it would show me what command line parameters are actually handed over and executed.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. [Resolved] Server Query | View them and/or change password (NOT SERVERADMIN!)
    By DaisukeHideki in forum General Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: May 20th, 2014, 07:04 AM
  2. [No Bug] login serveradmin password do not work on certain password ???
    By copper in forum Bug Reports [EN/DE]
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: July 23rd, 2011, 05:49 AM
  3. serveradmin and password not right
    By BIgBangTheory in forum Linux / FreeBSD
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: March 11th, 2010, 08:58 AM
  4. ServerAdmin Password
    By Chad Moore in forum Server Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: December 30th, 2009, 02:45 PM
  5. Change serveradmin password MySQL
    By znypan in forum Linux / FreeBSD
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: December 25th, 2009, 11:12 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •