Forum

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    July 2015
    Posts
    1

    Using domainname with TS3 Server on CentOS

    Hi all,

    Im new to this forum and to the TS3 online community, so please excuse me if I say something stupid. I am encountering some problems whilst deploying my TS3 Linux Server. At first my configuration. Its as follows:

    Physical machine
    - Intel i5 CPU
    - 16gb RAM
    - 2tb HDD
    - OS: ESXi 6

    TS Virtual Machine
    - 1 CPU, 2 cores
    - 2gb RAM
    - CentOS 7

    DNS Config for example.com
    name / type / value
    - @ / A-record / (ISP's default IP)
    - www / C-name / @
    - ts / A-record / my.server's.external.ip

    So far my configuration. I managed to get the server started, and configured all the channels and such on my LAN. Next, I have forwarded the ports 9987, 10011 and 30033 to my server. Now I can connect to the TS3 server using my external IP. After this I set the A record for my subdomain (in this case, ts.example.com) to my external IP. But when I try to connect to this subdomain, it won't connect to my TS3 server. Then again, if I use my external IP to connect, it DOES work. I waited a few days before posting this message because I am aware of ISP's caching DNS. Now I have read, some users seem to use a SRV record for their TS3 server, but I did not manage to get it working.

    So, my question is, what am I doing wrong? Or is there an easier / better way to do this? Thanks in advance for your help people!

    Regards.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    February 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    576
    It seems you did everything correctly, at least from what you wrote. Now you should look if your ts.example.com isn't resolving to the IP address your set it to. And after that, why it isn't resolving to that address.

    To what address your ts.example.com is actually resolving, you can use the tool "dig" under Linux. Or ping that address under Windows. Or you could look into the client logfile of your Teamspeak client and look to which address your client actually tried to connect.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    289
    Can you give some more informations about your problem?

    The problem itself is located within the DNS, so please check the following things:
    - Is the DNS-Record set correctly?
    - If you check the configured subdomain from an other point, is it resolved correctly?
    - As you mentioned, your client does not resolve the subdomain correctly, does an other client within your network resolve the subdomain correctly?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    December 2004
    Location
    RF
    Posts
    3,007

  5. #5
    Join Date
    December 2004
    Location
    RF
    Posts
    3,007

  6. #6
    Join Date
    June 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,368
    I don't think anyone will be able help you without real data.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    November 2006
    Location
    Kent - UK
    Posts
    67
    where are you hosting it?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Can't connect to TS3 Server on CentOS
    By Phenom94 in forum Linux / FreeBSD
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: July 28th, 2014, 12:52 PM
  2. [Resolved] Server help setup: centos-6-x86
    By goatboynz in forum Linux / FreeBSD
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: February 21st, 2014, 03:51 AM
  3. CentOS Server Help
    By VenomServers in forum Server Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: January 22nd, 2013, 11:16 AM
  4. did centos 5.5 break the TS3 server for anyone else?
    By jesepi in forum Linux / FreeBSD
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: May 23rd, 2010, 03:43 PM
  5. CentOS with the new version from ts3-server
    By notebook in forum Linux / FreeBSD
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: February 20th, 2010, 05:18 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •