Forum

Notice to all users

We are migrating towards a new forum system located at community.teamspeak.com, as such this forum will become read-only on January 29, 2020

Max Users/Family Max Users on a channel group

Hi all, I'm pretty new to TS administration, but I read most of the tutorials about permission system and still I can't really figure out how to exaclty achieve my goal.
    What I need to do: setup a public channel group to use them as free guest rooms with a global max users limit. E.g. having one parent channel with 6 subchannels, all free to join by guests until their number don't reach the limit of 10. Then I have the restricted channels hierarchy configured to be private, no trouble here.

As far as I can understand, I see that many configurations are made by join power permissions, which is not what I need: I'd like to leave the free channel group totally joinable for anyone, regardless of his permissions and group, so that the n+1-th user trying to join one of the free channels is blocked (where n is the limit, of course).
    I thought this setting could be achieved the family max users parameter in edit channel pane, but as I can see it acts a little bit strange: when user limit is reached, all channel group's icons become red, but some users are correctly blocked with the user limit message, while others still can join channels despite the limit. Plus, sometimes it seems to block no one at all, still behaving fine with icon symbolism.

I'm using version 3.0.11.1 on Linux on server and latest windows client for management.

Thanks in advance for any suggestion.

your server is outdated and should be updated to the latest version