Forum


Notice to all users

We are migrating towards a new forum system located at community.teamspeak.com, as such this forum will become read-only on January 29, 2020

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    January 2016
    Posts
    6

    Change name via command and notification question

    Hello,
    I was wondering if it is possible to change name on a TS3 server using commands but only as a user.
    This is because I have created a music bot and would like to make it change nickname whenever a song changes to reflect the name of the song.

    Also, is it possible to mute all notification sound of only a particular user? For example, let's imagine I had a friend that kept on posting stuff that didn't interest me and I didn't want to hear the notification sound whenever he wrote something in the TS chat, however I still wanted to hear it when someone else wrote something.

    Thanks for any help you may provide.

    Take care.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    18,513
    No and No.

    1. Your bot must do this for you. (He can use clientupdate client_nickname=xxxx as a ServerQuery).
    2. Sound packs are active for all users and can only tunred off comepletely.
    When sending me private messages: Please make sure to include reference link to your forum thread or post.

    TeamSpeak FAQ || What should i report, when i open a client thread?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    January 2016
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by dante696 View Post
    No and No.

    1. Your bot must do this for you. (He can use clientupdate client_nickname=xxxx as a ServerQuery).
    2. Sound packs are active for all users and can only tunred off comepletely.
    Thank you for your answer.
    I'd like to ask another question:
    Using the command you gave me (clientupdate client_nickname=[nameofsong]), does the server have to be programed in any special way to accept such a command? Or is this a command that is accepted by default in most servers?
    Also, just in case the server doesn't accept it, what command should the server admin use to allow it?

    Thank you.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    18,513
    It's inlcuded in the ServerQuery on all TeamSpeak servers.
    Your Bot must be logged in into that query and the bot must send this command everytime when he wants to change the nickname.

    Changing the nickname automatically has nothing to do with any build in feature. You must do this or the bot must do this.

    //Edit//
    I'm talking about the Query, not that you use a client for this.
    But In both cases you must change the login name somehow.
    When sending me private messages: Please make sure to include reference link to your forum thread or post.

    TeamSpeak FAQ || What should i report, when i open a client thread?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    January 2016
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by dante696 View Post
    It's inlcuded in the ServerQuery on all TeamSpeak servers.
    Your Bot must be logged in into that query and the bot must send this command everytime when he wants to change the nickname.

    Changing the nickname automatically has nothing to do with any build in feature. You must do this or the bot must do this.
    Again, I thank you for your response - so fast this time!
    Unfortunately I'm quite a novice at this and I think I have given you the wrong idea. When I say I've created a "bot" I mean that I'm using Virtual Audio Cable and the plugin "Now Playing" on TeamSpeak 3. So probably saying I have a bot is the not correct.
    However, if you have the time could you tell me exactly where I must put that command? The plugin I'm using allows the identity I created for the MUSIC to send a message to the channel with the name of the song, however this gets tiring to hear every 4 mins or so the "BLING" sound, especially when we can't turn it off for only one user.
    This is the addon: http://forum.teamspeak.com/threads/7...Playing-Plugin

    Thank you for your help and any you may yet provide.

    Regards.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    18,513
    Quote Originally Posted by dante696 View Post
    1. Your bot must do this for you.
    This is not part of our software. This is why I answered this in my first post.
    We only offer the ability to change a nickname. Plugins can use that feature, but it is no command from us.
    You need a plugin which supports that.

    I'm pretty sure such plugin does exist already (no i do not know any).
    When sending me private messages: Please make sure to include reference link to your forum thread or post.

    TeamSpeak FAQ || What should i report, when i open a client thread?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    January 2016
    Posts
    6
    Thanks for your help.
    I've been looking for a very long time for such a plugin and didn't find one. However, thanks for your help, have a nice day!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. [Not possible] Change query password by command
    By DJ_Ironic in forum Linux / FreeBSD
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: September 19th, 2015, 03:04 PM
  2. Visual Notification Question
    By lyncthra in forum General Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: August 23rd, 2013, 05:34 PM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: April 8th, 2013, 12:49 PM
  4. Change premission in all chanels by 1 command
    By Viziss in forum Permission System
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: March 3rd, 2012, 12:12 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •