Forum

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    February 2016
    Posts
    5

    Unable to connect to server after upgrading (from 3.0.11.2 to 3.0.12.x) Arch x86

    I'm running a server on arch linux (32 bit; don't ask) and it has been working very well with version 3.0.11.2, but since it's getting a little dated I decided it was time for an update. So I tried downloading version 3.0.12.4, and the server starts and acts normal, but the clients can't connect to it. (my backup of the 3.0.11.2 still runs fine though), I had similar results with 3.0.12 and 3.0.12.2. So I'm assuming there must have been some chnage between 3.0.11.2 and 3.0.12 that is causing this. Anyone got any ideas?

    No logfiles are created in ./logs on this version either (plenty of logs on 3.0.11.2, were the logs moved?) Was the default port changed?

    What can I do to troubleshoot and fix this?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    18,260
    I don't think your server has started.
    I think the server does not have enough permissions to start or your are trying to start the wrong binary (read changelog).
    When sending me private messages: Please make sure to include reference link to your forum thread or post.

    TeamSpeak FAQ || What should i report, when i open a client thread?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    February 2016
    Posts
    5
    My server has enough permissions to start (permissions are the same as for my backup) and it is probably not actually starting as you say.

    Code:
    $ teamspeak3-server/ts3server_startscript.sh start
    Starting the TeamSpeak 3 server
    TeamSpeak 3 server started, for details please view the log file
    $ teamspeak3-server/ts3server_startscript.sh status
    Server seems to have died
    Also:
    Code:
    $ teamspeak3-server/ts3server_minimal_runscript.sh 
    teamspeak3-server/ts3server_minimal_runscript.sh: line 8:  6323 Illegal instruction     (core dumped) ./ts3server [email protected]
    And finally, sometimes (like 1 out of 10) on the first run after an update I get this error:
    Code:
    $ /home/ts3host/teamspeak3-server/ts3server_startscript.sh start
    /home/ts3host/teamspeak3-server/ts3server_startscript.sh: line 12:  7860 Illegal instruction     (core dumped) "./${BINARYNAME}" ${COMMANDLINE_PARAMETERS} > /dev/null
    TeamSpeak 3 server could not start
    That's about all the info I have for now :/ I read the changelog between my old version and the current ones, didn't see anything that should cause something like this...
    Last edited by rabcor; March 2nd, 2016 at 01:55 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    18,260
    We have changed a lot in 3.0.12 and this also changed the minimum needed OS version from FreeBSD and other Unix System like OS X etc.
    It could be that your OS or OS version is no longer supported.
    Or it could be that you missed installed packages on your system (don't know which packages you need)

    You may not use Arch Linux for hosting anyways.
    When sending me private messages: Please make sure to include reference link to your forum thread or post.

    TeamSpeak FAQ || What should i report, when i open a client thread?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    289
    The problem may be located within the binary itself.
    There may be an instruction-set, which is not supported by your hardware.

    So @dante696, was there a change within the needed instruction-sets with the last update?

    As far as i can tell, there is no problem using teamspeak on archlinux. I use archlinux myself, not for my server, but on my client. An as far as i can see, there is no problem running the teamspeak3-binaries on archlinux. I can only tell for an 64bit environment, but there should not be an issue with an updated archlinux, although it is an 32bit environment.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    February 2016
    Posts
    5
    Seems like the only dependency on arch is glibc, and I have that. (more info here) https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/teamspeak3-server/

    And just to clarify, I am not running the server from that package (this package actually never worked for me), I downloaded the linux binary from the teamspeak site myself. As for hardware limitations, this is actually quite possible, my server is actually being hosted on an ancient (90s) laptop. This is my (lscpu)cpu info:

    Code:
    Architecture:          i686
    CPU op-mode(s):        32-bit
    Byte Order:            Little Endian
    CPU(s):                1
    On-line CPU(s) list:   0
    Thread(s) per core:    1
    Core(s) per socket:    1
    Socket(s):             1
    Vendor ID:             GenuineIntel
    CPU family:            6
    Model:                 11
    Model name:            Intel(R) Celeron(TM) CPU                1133MHz
    Stepping:              1
    CPU MHz:               1129.618
    BogoMIPS:              2260.37
    Flags:                 fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 sep mtrr pge mca cmov pse36 mmx fxsr sse
    And also for the sake of being thorough, cat /proc/cpuinfo:

    Code:
    processor	: 0
    vendor_id	: GenuineIntel
    cpu family	: 6
    model		: 11
    model name	: Intel(R) Celeron(TM) CPU                1133MHz
    stepping	: 1
    microcode	: 0x1d
    cpu MHz		: 1129.618
    cache size	: 256 KB
    physical id	: 0
    siblings	: 1
    core id		: 0
    cpu cores	: 1
    apicid		: 0
    initial apicid	: 0
    fdiv_bug	: no
    f00f_bug	: no
    coma_bug	: no
    fpu		: yes
    fpu_exception	: yes
    cpuid level	: 2
    wp		: yes
    flags		: fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 sep mtrr pge mca cmov pse36 mmx fxsr sse
    bugs		:
    bogomips	: 2260.37
    clflush size	: 32
    cache_alignment	: 32
    address sizes	: 36 bits physical, 32 bits virtual
    power management:
    As you can see it has a very limited set of supported flags.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    18,260
    The CPU explains your "illegal instruction" errors.
    You need a CPU with SSE2 support for the server/client.

    Quote Originally Posted by dante696 View Post
    We will no longer support CPU's without SSE2 support.

    You need one of these CPU's as a minimum to run the client:
    Intel Pentium4 or AMD Athlon 64 (or VIA C7)

    Intel Pentium3 / Athlon XP or older CPU's will not work with the client or server.
    @Master_D
    This happend in server 3.0.11.0 already. The minimum sys req have changed for client and server.
    When sending me private messages: Please make sure to include reference link to your forum thread or post.

    TeamSpeak FAQ || What should i report, when i open a client thread?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    February 2016
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by dante696 View Post
    The CPU explains your "illegal instruction" errors.
    You need a CPU with SSE2 support for the server/client.



    @Master_D
    This happend in server 3.0.11.0 already. The minimum sys req have changed for client and server.
    Aw Then how can I actually run 3.0.11.2 with no issues? (Just checked, I can apparently also run 3.0.11.4)
    Last edited by rabcor; March 3rd, 2016 at 08:00 PM.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: July 17th, 2015, 11:13 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •