Forum

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 50
  1. #1
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    18,003

    How to Update / Upgrade server

    Edit & Thread overtake
    It seems that many people do not read or understand the server_upgrade.txt


    Here is an step by step "How to upgrade"
    1. Stop your old server instance (Do not kill it! Or else you will not be able to start your new server for the next 2-3 hours!)
    Code:
    These are official supported ways. to shutdown the whole server. 
    All ways will shutdown the whole instance and will report, that slots are not used anymore.
    
    All operation systems:
    The ServerQuery command serverprocessstop.
    click me to get an "how to use the Query Interface with Putty"
    
    Windows:
    Right-click into the Server Tray Icon -> Then press Exit
    
    Linux/FreeBSD shell:
    The command ./ts3server_startscript.sh stop if your server was started with ./ts3server_startscript.sh start
    2. Make a copy of the existing ts3server.sqlitedb to have a backup in case something bad happens.
    *Make a backup of your TS database in MariaDB/MySQL in case you do not use SQLite

    3. Download the right server package from https://www.teamspeak.com/en/downloads#server

    4. Extract the server package

    5. Overwrite the server files and folders with the extracted content.

    6. On Windows/Mac OS start the ts3server binary.
    On Linux/FreeBSD start the server with the ts3server_startscript.sh
    (First start can take some time)
    Last edited by dante696; September 1st, 2018 at 10:41 AM. Reason: updated download url

  2. #2
    Join Date
    November 2015
    Posts
    8

    Upgrading

    Hi,

    I understand that this has been asked before but I cannot find the answer I need.

    To upgrade from 3.0.11.4v2 to 3.0.12.2. I'm running Ubuntu. I download it using wget then extract.
    And all I need to do is run it from the NEW location? How does the database get updated?
    Are there no files in the existing old DIR that need to be copied/kept?

    Does the SQlite files not need to be kept ?

    I don't have SQL installed so I thought that users, channels and stuff I have would be stored in one of the files on the old existing TS server?
    Last edited by dante696; March 4th, 2016 at 01:12 PM. Reason: merged -> server_upgrade.txt is the answer.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    November 2015
    Posts
    8

    Update / Upgrade server

    Hi,

    When doing an upgrade. Do you just copy the files over and run it as normal or do you need to do any SQL updates?
    If there has been any improvements or fixes to the database how do these get applied?

    Thanks

  4. #4
    Join Date
    September 2012
    Posts
    6,076
    Quote Originally Posted by Shabba View Post
    Hi,

    When doing an upgrade. Do you just copy the files over and run it as normal or do you need to do any SQL updates?
    Pretty much yeah.

    Quote Originally Posted by Shabba View Post
    If there has been any improvements or fixes to the database how do these get applied?

    Thanks
    Automatically, unless otherwise noted in the changelog and/or announcement.
    When sending PMs please make sure to include a reference link to the thread in question in the body of your message.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    November 2015
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by Chris View Post
    Pretty much yeah.



    Automatically, unless otherwise noted in the changelog and/or announcement.
    Thanks for your help

  6. #6
    Join Date
    February 2015
    Location
    Almaty
    Posts
    5

    Update server

    Hi guys. Help me. How update linux server on ubuntu?
    Last edited by dante696; March 22nd, 2016 at 01:26 PM. Reason: merged

  7. #7
    Join Date
    November 2013
    Posts
    16

    Update from 3.0.10.1 to 3.0.12.3

    Hello,

    I have search the forum for this and i can't find any details.
    First of all i would like to apologize for my English and i want to tell you that i'm dont have the experience to update a TS server.

    I have a TS server version 3.0.10.1 running more than 2 years with Non-Profit licence.
    In the past i tried to upgrade the server to the latest version by shutting down the server and overwrite the files.
    It fails and i got some sql error.

    Can someone please tell me in baby steps what shall i do to upgrade the server from 3.0.10.1 to 3.0.12.3?

    Thanks in advanced.
    Last edited by dante696; April 26th, 2016 at 09:09 AM. Reason: merged. please read the server_upgrade.txt

  8. #8
    Join Date
    August 2013
    Posts
    2

    Update problems

    Hello,

    i have a problem with my ts server. I want to update the server version and i have do all introduction from the server_upgrade.txt. But the server version do not change, my info show me that the server has the old server version. Maybe somebody can help me.

    Hammond
    Last edited by dante696; April 26th, 2016 at 02:02 PM. Reason: merged.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    18,003
    So there was something skipped from server_upgrade.txt. or an older version was downloaded or started.

    Here is a checklist to avoid all these things:
    - Have I stopped the server?
    - Have I downloaded the latest server version for my operation system?
    - Have I extracted the files into the right folder? / Did I Overwrite all files from the server package?
    - Have i started the right server binary?
    - What does my server log say about the version number?
    - Am I connected to the right server?
    When sending me private messages: Please make sure to include reference link to your forum thread or post.

    TeamSpeak FAQ || What should i report, when i open a client thread?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    February 2013
    Posts
    9
    I am trying to upgrade my Lubuntu 14.04 based server from 3.0.12.2 to 3.0.12.4.

    What i did step by step.

    1) Downloaded and extracted new version
    2) Stopped running instance
    3) Backup of whole directory
    4) Copied over extracted files and overwritten all
    5) Started up the instance

    I can still see version of the server 3.0.12.2 . There is no info in the logs. I also tried to go file by file in the subdirectories to make sure everything is overwritten. Tried to delete contents of the old directory and put there only new one. Nothing seems to be working for me.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    March 2011
    Posts
    39

    Question How to update TS3 server without loosing all channels on previous version?

    So, I want to update to new version, how to copy channels and other settings into new server? Or is there an updater.exe?
    Last edited by dante696; October 13th, 2016 at 12:39 PM. Reason: merged

  12. #12
    Join Date
    June 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,340
    Run google.exe.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    March 2011
    Posts
    39
    GREAT. DID copy and replace, now all channels gone and it asks me for "Berechtigungs schlüssel". It was NOT stated in upgrade.txt file that this is needed. Now I have to search and hope I find the screenshot with this code and hope I get back all my channels.

    NOPE not working, entered the exact veeeery long key, told me wrong key.
    Last edited by dante696; October 14th, 2016 at 02:14 PM. Reason: merged 2 posts.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    18,003
    Just overwriting the server folder with the extracted package content can never kill or overwrite your server settings.

    You did not paste or you did delete the old ts3server.sqlitedb.
    This file or a backup of that file is needed to get your stuff back.

    I did overtake post #1 and did add a how to upgrade.
    Last edited by dante696; October 16th, 2016 at 09:08 AM. Reason: more details added
    When sending me private messages: Please make sure to include reference link to your forum thread or post.

    TeamSpeak FAQ || What should i report, when i open a client thread?

  15. #15
    Join Date
    March 2011
    Posts
    39
    Quote Originally Posted by dante696 View Post
    Just overwriting the server folder with the extracted package content can never kill or overwrite your server settings.

    You did not paste or delete the old ts3server.sqlitedb.
    This file or a backup of that file is needed to get your stuff back.

    I did overtake post #1 and did add a how to upgrade.
    Thank you! Probably not deleted the old sqlitedb then...

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 3 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 3 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: November 8th, 2012, 12:22 PM
  2. How to upgrade the server?
    By cristian in forum Linux / FreeBSD
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: June 5th, 2011, 05:00 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •