Forum


Notice to all users

We are migrating towards a new forum system located at community.teamspeak.com, as such this forum will become read-only on January 29, 2020

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    Join Date
    June 2016
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    9

    Different ways of starting my server?[HELP]

    Hello teamspeak community(again)
    I just noticed something strange.
    OS: Linux Debian
    Version: 3.0.12.4

    The issue:
    Lets say i go into the directory of the teamspeak server
    Example:
    Code:
    cd /opt/teamspeak3-server
    And i start the teamspeak server by doing the following:
    Code:
    ./ts3server_startscript.sh start
    It start as if it was a new Teamspeak(Nothing there line channels and all)

    BUT if i start the teamspeak server like this:
    Code:
    sudo /etc/init.d/ts3 start
    It works! Channels and all are back to the way it was.. This worries me.. Should it do that?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    June 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,368
    My guess is that you installed TS as root. Don't do that.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    June 2016
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by numma_cway View Post
    My guess is that you installed TS as root. Don't do that.
    I get what your saying, but honestly doesnt really help me, im kind of looking for a solution to fix this i guess?
    How can i check that i installed as root?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    June 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,368
    Solution is not installing as root. This is not related to TeamSpeak. You don't install or run software as root.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    December 2004
    Location
    RF
    Posts
    3,008
    You may install as root (which is often the only way), but you don't run it as root.
    Unless you want bad stuff to happen.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    June 2016
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by ANR Daemon View Post
    You may install as root (which is often the only way), but you don't run it as root.
    Unless you want bad stuff to happen.
    So there is no way to fix this?
    Tomorrow i'm reinstalling the OS onto an SSD,
    Is there even a point in backing up the Teamspeak server and using it again or can i still do that?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    June 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,368
    Why on earth would you want to back up a non-working empty TeamSpeak installation?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    18,513
    Sure there is a way to move the server files to a new location. I suggest to install a new server and just moved the listed files and folder from my link.
    http://forum.teamspeak.com/threads/1...-or-hard-drive

    But you should fix the permissions of the existing files. A normal user needs to be able to read and write them.
    When sending me private messages: Please make sure to include reference link to your forum thread or post.

    TeamSpeak FAQ || What should i report, when i open a client thread?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    June 2016
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by dante696 View Post
    Sure there is a way to move the server files to a new location. I suggest to install a new server and just moved the listed files and folder from my link.
    http://forum.teamspeak.com/threads/1...-or-hard-drive

    But you should fix the permissions of the existing files. A normal user needs to be able to read and write them.
    THANK YOU,
    NO offence to others that commented on this thread but
    Dante You are the ONLY one who provided help here.
    I thank you.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    June 2016
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by numma_cway View Post
    Why on earth would you want to back up a non-working empty TeamSpeak installation?
    You obviously did not read the op.
    Don't comment if you can't read the OP correctly, or you misunderstood.
    @dante696 Close this thread Thanks

    Edit: Dante, like so???
    chmod 755 ts3server_startscript.sh ts3server_linux_x86 ts3server_minimal_runscript.sh libts3db_mysql.so libts3db_sqlite3.so
    Last edited by clarkycal; August 11th, 2016 at 04:40 PM.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    December 2004
    Location
    RF
    Posts
    3,008
    There's no chmod in vacuum.
    http://lmgtfy.com/?q=linux+file+permissions

  12. #12
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    18,513
    Quote Originally Posted by clarkycal View Post
    chmod 755 ts3server_startscript.sh ts3server_linux_x86 ts3server_minimal_runscript.sh libts3db_mysql.so libts3db_sqlite3.so
    No, just login as a normal non root user. Then extract the server package.
    Then move my listed files and folders (from given thread).
    Then start your sever.

    And in best case everything is working without problems.
    In worst case you have to change the permissions of each single file and folder that was moved.
    chmod 644 or 666 should be enough for this.

    http://linuxcommand.org/lts0070.php

    Quote Originally Posted by ANR Daemon View Post
    There's no chmod in vacuum.
    There is no reason to insult!
    If you don't want to help a user, then please leave off such comments!
    When sending me private messages: Please make sure to include reference link to your forum thread or post.

    TeamSpeak FAQ || What should i report, when i open a client thread?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    December 2004
    Location
    RF
    Posts
    3,008
    I did not insult, I pointed out that chmod alone means nothing.
    It's always owner+permissions, and one doesn't mean anything without the other.

    P.S.
    Tolerastia is not the same as tolerance.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    March 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    41
    I just want to add something.
    I don't think that the server was really running as root.
    If he followed an instruction on how to install teamspeak onto a debian machine
    and that tutorial followed some typical debian style setup,
    then sudo /etc/init.d/ts3 will start the server as user "teamspeak" or "ts3" (and not root)
    cause within that script there is a su or sudo line dropping privileges.

    So first question would be to cat /etc/init.d/ts3 and look at startup parameters.
    most likely there is a inifile or working directory set in that startupscript that would move the database into a different folder than
    /opt/teamspeak.

    /opt is a folder mostly used for "all the software and add-on packages that are not part of the default installation". Or stuff that's not maintained by distro packages.

    Even though people might think that this is a wrong or broken installation, I know a lot of people who exactly use a similar setup.

    I just wanted to leave this for reference, it might help future users in understanding setups they copy pasted from the internet.
    Or if people used auto installers that produce such stuctures.

    EDIT:
    Even though they won't get any support from the Team here. (see post below)
    Last edited by Obbi89; August 17th, 2016 at 11:19 AM. Reason: clarified some terms that might be misunderstood thank you Schlumpi.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    February 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    577
    If something is "supported" has two different meanings.
    The first meaning is a technical thing: "will work" (supported) or "does not (or cannot) work" (unsupported). Software not supported in this case cannot work.

    The second meaning is : "software is used according to the standard we, the developers, set" (supported) or "user started the software in his own way" (unsupported). Software not supported in this case can work, but the developers will not help if something isn't working correctly.

    If it comes to Teamspeak start scripts, we usually have the second meaning: Teamspeak can and will be started in many different ways, because the standard way isn't well defined by the developers. It's incomplete, because there are no distribution-specific solutions, so every server operator has to invent his own. Even if the operator uses the included start script, he has to arrange for many different things before that script will actually work. None of these things (file location, user permissions) are enforced automatically, like it were if Teamspeak is installed via the distribution-specific packaging system, so it is even more difficult to implement the standard.

    I see this as a test of competence of the server operator: someone who lacks basic operating system knowledge isn't able to get the server up and running. Which is good, because someone who lacks that knowledge is most certainly not capable to operate the server for a longer time either.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. [Rejected] Ways of banning?
    By Tearlow in forum General Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: July 16th, 2012, 01:23 PM
  2. Ways to Ban
    By ktx2skd in forum General Questions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: December 26th, 2011, 11:20 PM
  3. All ways on top
    By Arcomile in forum Client Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: December 23rd, 2009, 03:10 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •