Forum


Notice to all users

We are migrating towards a new forum system located at community.teamspeak.com, as such this forum will become read-only on January 29, 2020

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Question on RAM

  1. #1
    Join Date
    April 2016
    Posts
    20

    Question Question on RAM

    Hello,

    I am wondering is there any sort of table showing how many slots a server with x amount of ram can run? I currently have 512 mb of ram and I'm wondering if I can run 2 128 slot servers?

    Thanks
    Harry

  2. #2
    Join Date
    December 2015
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    76
    How many users do you think your going to have? Two 128 servers is kind of pushing it.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    June 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,368
    If you don't provide the OS, noone will be able to help you. On Windows Server 2008, the OS will not even boot with 512 MB RAM. On Linux, especially x86, this will be enough if the server doesn't run any other stuff.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    October 2003
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,527
    Quote Originally Posted by HCStrike View Post
    Hello,

    I am wondering is there any sort of table showing how many slots a server with x amount of ram can run? I currently have 512 mb of ram and I'm wondering if I can run 2 128 slot servers?

    Thanks
    Harry
    My personal TS3 instance is currently running in a VM. Right now, there are around 150 people online and the server is consuming less than 200 megs of RAM. I guess you should be fine as long as the box is dedicated to the TeamSpeak 3 Server.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    August 2016
    Posts
    2
    On Linux x86 memory consumption is quite low, TS3 likely will love to hog cpu on crowded server instead.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    April 2015
    Posts
    38
    Quote Originally Posted by numma_cway View Post
    If you don't provide the OS, noone will be able to help you. On Windows Server 2008, the OS will not even boot with 512 MB RAM. On Linux, especially x86, this will be enough if the server doesn't run any other stuff.
    You are wrong. 512mb ram works just fine with windows servers 2008. I have hundreds of customers as hosting provider. Teamspeak3 itself uses very little resources as server. You are more than ok with having 2x128 on 512mb windows. Linux will do fine as well.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    June 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,368
    I meant without using pagefile.sys as your primary memory.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Question..
    By 123abc in forum General Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: December 29th, 2009, 09:57 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •