Forum

Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    March 2015
    Location
    RUssia
    Posts
    68

    [Suggestions] Block running on root/admin start

    Suggestions for block running server and client on root/administrator privelegies.
    And add option command -RunAsRoot for binary.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    18,413
    For what is this usefull?
    User who run their software as root, should know what they do already.
    When sending me private messages: Please make sure to include reference link to your forum thread or post.

    TeamSpeak FAQ || What should i report, when i open a client thread?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    289
    The question is "Do they know, what they are doing?".

    The answer in most cases is "They do not know, what they are doing!".

    It is always better to show something to the user, which he can confirm, instead of leave the user alone and do not think about is anyway.

    Also from my point of view, the best case should be, that everybody knows, what he is doing, but the truth is, that most users do not know, what they are doing. So i can understand the thinkings behind this suggestion.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    April 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,266
    The start script does warn the user if it is started with root privileges. If someone after that still doesn't react he isn't fit to administrate a server and should as quick as possible turn to an ATHP.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    March 2015
    Location
    RUssia
    Posts
    68
    Quote Originally Posted by dante696 View Post
    For what is this usefull?
    User who run their software as root, should know what they do already.
    users stupid more than you think.

    from the server, with support that helps: 4 out of 5 - running as root

  6. #6
    Join Date
    March 2015
    Location
    RUssia
    Posts
    68
    Quote Originally Posted by Barungar View Post
    The start script does warn the user if it is started with root privileges.
    users not read this.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    April 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,266
    Quote Originally Posted by VJean View Post
    users not read this.
    Well, in that case bad luck and may their servers be captured and abused.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    March 2015
    Location
    RUssia
    Posts
    68
    Quote Originally Posted by Barungar View Post
    Well, in that case bad luck and may their servers be captured and abused.
    it is useless to explain and talk.
    already smashed his head against the wall Name:  dash_mini.gif
Views: 252
Size:  2.0 KB

  9. #9
    Join Date
    January 2010
    Location
    Secret Base in Arctic Region
    Posts
    1,671
    Its not up to teamspeak to make such restrictions.
    They only have to provide a stable, secure application, the rest is task for user or administrator.

    Its like Linux, the various developers and distributors have to make sure the kernel is safe and working, not to prevent (l)users from executing commands.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    October 2003
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,531
    I'd also vote against blocking this. While it might sound harsh... In my opinion, people who want to call themselves "admins" and run servers should know what they're doing. Most of them will learn the hard way why it's a bad idea to run software with root privileges.

    It's like natural selection...

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F6ySNAA_2Iw


  11. #11
    Join Date
    March 2015
    Location
    RUssia
    Posts
    68
    it is necessary to beat the hand of the launch of the software under the superuser account.

    as minimal change ts3server_startscript.sh
    Code:
    if [ "${UID}" = "0" ]; then
    	echo WARNING ! For security reasons we advise: DO NOT RUN THE SERVER AS ROOT
    	c=1
    	while [ "$c" -le 10 ]; do
    		echo -n "!"
    		sleep 1
    		c=$(($c+1))
    	done
    	echo "!"
    fi
    at
    Code:
    if [ "${UID}" = "0" ]; then
    	echo -e "\e[31mWARNING ! For security reasons we advise: DO NOT RUN THE SERVER AS ROOT!\e[0m"
    	exit 2
    fi

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 8
    Last Post: March 9th, 2015, 10:58 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: May 4th, 2011, 02:22 AM
  3. can ts2 and ts3 server running on the same root?
    By ice76 in forum Server Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: December 22nd, 2009, 01:07 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •