Forum

Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    October 2015
    Posts
    34

    TeamSpeak Client - Socket Reusing

    Hi, guys.

    I've noticed the TeamSpeak client creates an UDP Socket and then keeps reusing it, even when there are disconnections or when you connect back manually. (So the source port, used by the computer, is always the same).

    Although, there is a bug that happens due to this, there are many home routers, that once they disconnect from internet and reconnect again, for some reason, blocks "teamspeak client" from reconnecting, after doing a few tests, I've noticed this is related to the way the sockets are reused in the client side. Is there a way for you to "re-create" the UDP socket in new connections, so the source-port used by the client, will be a different one, at every new connection or reconnection ?

    I am asking this mainly, because we have to "close" TeamSpeak client and "reopen it" so the connection works fine again to the destination server.

    Just a suggestion, because while this is a tiny bug, it is a bit annoying have to close the client and reopen it again sometimes. (This exists for a while, it is not something new).

  2. #2
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    17,363
    I know what you are talking about, I face that everytime when my ISP has problems
    You do not need to close your client. Using a server new tab solves the issue.

    This is no bug, it was build in that way that the client does use the same Port for the same tab.
    I don't know why it is like it is now, maybe to avoid that the client blocks all ports.

    I also would expect to reconnect by using random port on every connect.
    So there may be space for an improvement here and I will make an ticket for our developers to evaluate this.
    When sending me private messages: Please make sure to include reference link to your forum thread or post.

    TeamSpeak FAQ || What should i report, when i open a client thread?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    October 2015
    Posts
    34

    Solved

    Quote Originally Posted by dante696 View Post
    I know what you are talking about, I face that everytime when my ISP has problems
    You do not need to close your client. Using a server new tab solves the issue.

    This is no bug, it was build in that way that the client does use the same Port for the same tab.
    I don't know why it is like it is now, maybe to avoid that the client blocks all ports.

    I also would expect to reconnect by using random port on every connect.
    So there may be space for an improvement here and I will make an ticket for our developers to evaluate this.
    Well, if I'm not entirely wrong, this change will require probably this, the calling of:

    closesocket();
    socket();
    bind();

    Methods, during the reconnection procedure, not much of a trouble and for sure it wouldn't take all the existing source ports, unless there was some sort of infinite looping in the socket binding procedure, but this is not the case of course.

    It may not be a bug, but it causes a problem while the software could do all by itself without requiring user intervention right ? Otherwise, why an automatic reconnect method would be needed ? If you have to open a new tab or close then reopen it, then there's no fun.

    Also, it would be very nice, if at the first connection attempt, the TS client could make a connection retry 1 or 2 times, before requiring you to manually try it again (I mean at the first connection you try towards any server).

  4. #4
    Join Date
    August 2007
    Location
    Lexington, Ky USA
    Posts
    7

    Disconnect and loop till client restart...

    I can launch and run fine for a while then get disconnected and it will not reconnect for a long period of time if at all...
    until that is I close the client and relaunch it... then it connects instantly.

    checked the log while it was 'attempting' to reconnect and this is what I see.

    4/19/2017 04:28:14 ClientUI Info Autoreconnecting
    4/19/2017 04:28:14 ClientUI Info Connect to server: PRIVATE.us
    4/19/2017 04:28:14 ClientUI Info Trying to resolve PRIVATE.us
    4/19/2017 04:28:14 TSDNS Info A/AAAA DNS resolve successful, "PRIVATE.us" =(h: ###.###.##.## p:0)
    4/19/2017 04:28:14 TSDNS Info A/AAAA DNS resolve for possible TSDNS successful, "PRIVATE.us" =(h: ###.###.##.## p:0)
    4/19/2017 04:28:15 TSDNS Info SRV DNS resolve unsuccessful, "_tsdns._tcp.PRIVATE.us" Domain name not found
    4/19/2017 04:28:15 TSDNS Info SRV DNS resolve unsuccessful, "_ts3._udp.PRIVATE.us" Domain name not found
    4/19/2017 04:28:16 TSDNS Info TSDNS queried unsuccessfully ###.###.##.##:41144
    4/19/2017 04:28:16 TSDNS Info No TSDNS found
    4/19/2017 04:28:16 ClientUI Info Lookup finished: ip=###.###.##.## port=9987 query=PRIVATE.us error=0
    4/19/2017 04:28:16 ClientUI Info Resolve successful: ###.###.##.##:9987
    4/19/2017 04:28:16 ClientUI Info Initiating connection: ###.###.##.##:9987
    4/19/2017 04:28:16 ClientUI Info Connect status: Connecting
    4/19/2017 04:28:21 ClientUI Info Connect status: Disconnected
    4/19/2017 04:28:21 ClientUI Info Failed to connect to server, want autoreconnect = 1
    **obviously I edited two items "PRIVATE" and "###.###.##.##" for protection...**
    Last edited by dante696; April 19th, 2017 at 08:08 AM. Reason: merged

  5. #5
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    17,363
    The local port that the client has used is blocked and the client won't be able to use this port again.
    They do not need to close the client. Using a server new tab solves the issue.
    When sending me private messages: Please make sure to include reference link to your forum thread or post.

    TeamSpeak FAQ || What should i report, when i open a client thread?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    August 2007
    Location
    Lexington, Ky USA
    Posts
    7
    Kinda neglected to include some info that could be pertinent.

    Windows 10 Pro (64 bit)
    Version 1703
    OS Build 15063.138

    Windows Firewall (portforwarded and program allowed)

    Router Netgear R6220 (ddos protection disabled, and port forwarded)

    ISP is Spectrum (TWC, Comm Cast, who ever the hell owns it now...)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    November 2017
    Posts
    1

    Teamspeak randomly disconect and wont connect back

    hi,
    here is my problem,my ts randomly disconnecting,then,when it trying automaticly connect,it wont,like im offline,but connection is fine,sometimes it doing 2times per day,sometimes 5times per hour....log before crash - PktHandler | |Dropping client 175 because of ping timeout 19 0 0
    Last edited by dante696; November 7th, 2017 at 10:05 PM. Reason: merged

  8. #8
    Join Date
    July 2018
    Posts
    1

    Client times out, and only able to reconnect by restart of client.

    Hi,

    I have been having this issue for the last couple of weeks, where my Teamspeak client times-out of the server. This happens every now and then, sometimes after 10 minutes, sometimes after 60 minutes and sometimes after 90+. It is very strange, because i don't lose internet connection, and if i am in the middle of a video game, that doesn't time-out.

    I have read similar posts around this issue, where the solution seems to be disabling DDoS-protection / Flood-protection on your router firewall. However this is not possible for me, since my router doesn't give me the option to disable that feature.

    The router that i am using is a D-Link DIR-878, and i am connected through cable. I have tried allowing Teamspeak through Windows Firewall, but that has not fixed it either. And i am also running the newest version of Windows, but i had this issue before the latest update as well. And i have tried re-installing the Teamspeak client - I am running 64-bit version.

    Also it is worth to mention, that if i have 2 tabs connected, to 2 different servers. I can time-out from one of the other, and the other tab will be connected. If i want to reconnect to either of the 2 servers, i have to open a new tab, or fully restart the client. It does not let me instantly reconnect from the same tab.

    Hopefully there is someone out there, that has had the same issue as me, and found a solution to it. Thank you in advance
    Last edited by dante696; July 10th, 2018 at 04:25 PM. Reason: merged

  9. #9
    Join Date
    October 2018
    Posts
    1

    Random connection lost

    Hi everyone!
    Once I've connected to server (now to voice.teamspeak.com), it randomly disconnect from the server.
    It doesn't connect to server again, until app is restarted.
    Only after restart server get connected (so it's not a network issue).
    Do you have any suggestions how to solve it?
    Last edited by dante696; October 16th, 2018 at 02:34 PM. Reason: merged

  10. #10
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    17,363
    Quote Originally Posted by bench_doos View Post
    (so it's not a network issue)
    Losing the connection is a network problem.

    It depends on how you did loose the connection.
    In some cases the socket the client did use before is blocked and the client is not able to use that one again.
    Using a server new tab solves the issue.

    To solve this completely you need to find the reason for these timeouts.
    When sending me private messages: Please make sure to include reference link to your forum thread or post.

    TeamSpeak FAQ || What should i report, when i open a client thread?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    January 2019
    Posts
    1

    Frequent disconnects: No TSDNS found

    Please explain why TS is disconnection and can't reconnect in current tab.
    When opening new tab it connects without problem.

    Here is the log:
    Code:
    23.01.2019 11:51:11	ClientUI	Info	Autoreconnecting	
    23.01.2019 11:51:11	ClientUI	Info	Connect to server: bs.wclan.pro	
    23.01.2019 11:51:11	ClientUI	Info	Trying to resolve bs.wclan.pro	
    23.01.2019 11:51:11	TSDNS	Info	SRV DNS resolve successful, "_ts3._udp.bs.wclan.pro" =(h: athp02.mir-ts.ru p:50001)	
    23.01.2019 11:51:11	TSDNS	Info	SRV DNS resolve unsuccessful, "_tsdns._tcp.wclan.pro" Domain name not found	
    23.01.2019 11:51:11	TSDNS	Info	A/AAAA DNS resolve successful, "bs.wclan.pro" =(h: 185.97.255.90 p:0)	
    23.01.2019 11:51:11	TSDNS	Info	A/AAAA DNS resolve for possible TSDNS successful, "bs.wclan.pro" =(h: 185.97.255.90 p:0)	
    23.01.2019 11:51:11	TSDNS	Info	A/AAAA DNS resolve unsuccessful, "wclan.pro" DNS server returned answer with no data	
    23.01.2019 11:51:11	TSDNS	Info	A/AAAA DNS resolve successful, "athp02.mir-ts.ru" =(h: 77.220.180.239 p:0)	
    23.01.2019 11:51:11	ClientUI	Info	Lookup finished: ip=77.220.180.239 port=50001 query=bs.wclan.pro error=0	
    23.01.2019 11:51:11	ClientUI	Info	Resolve successful: 77.220.180.239:50001	
    23.01.2019 11:51:11	ClientUI	Info	Initiating connection: 77.220.180.239:50001	
    23.01.2019 11:51:11	TSDNS	Info	TSDNS queried unsuccessfully 185.97.255.90:41144	
    23.01.2019 11:51:11	TSDNS	Info	No TSDNS found	
    23.01.2019 11:51:11	ClientUI	Info	Connect status: Connecting	
    23.01.2019 11:51:13	TSDNS	Info	TSDNS queried unsuccessfully 185.97.255.90:41144	
    23.01.2019 11:51:13	TSDNS	Info	No TSDNS found	
    23.01.2019 11:51:16	ClientUI	Info	Connect status: Disconnected	
    23.01.2019 11:51:16	ClientUI	Info	Failed to connect to server, want autoreconnect = 1	
    23.01.2019 11:51:17	ClientUI	Info	Autoreconnecting	
    23.01.2019 11:51:17	ClientUI	Info	Connect to server: bs.wclan.pro	
    23.01.2019 11:51:17	ClientUI	Info	Trying to resolve bs.wclan.pro	
    23.01.2019 11:51:17	TSDNS	Info	SRV DNS resolve successful, "_ts3._udp.bs.wclan.pro" =(h: athp02.mir-ts.ru p:50001)	
    23.01.2019 11:51:17	TSDNS	Info	SRV DNS resolve unsuccessful, "_tsdns._tcp.wclan.pro" Domain name not found	
    23.01.2019 11:51:17	TSDNS	Info	A/AAAA DNS resolve unsuccessful, "wclan.pro" DNS server returned answer with no data	
    23.01.2019 11:51:17	TSDNS	Info	A/AAAA DNS resolve successful, "bs.wclan.pro" =(h: 185.97.255.90 p:0)	
    23.01.2019 11:51:17	TSDNS	Info	A/AAAA DNS resolve for possible TSDNS successful, "bs.wclan.pro" =(h: 185.97.255.90 p:0)	
    23.01.2019 11:51:17	TSDNS	Info	A/AAAA DNS resolve successful, "athp02.mir-ts.ru" =(h: 77.220.180.239 p:0)	
    23.01.2019 11:51:17	ClientUI	Info	Lookup finished: ip=77.220.180.239 port=50001 query=bs.wclan.pro error=0	
    23.01.2019 11:51:17	ClientUI	Info	Resolve successful: 77.220.180.239:50001	
    23.01.2019 11:51:17	ClientUI	Info	Initiating connection: 77.220.180.239:50001	
    23.01.2019 11:51:17	ClientUI	Info	Connect status: Connecting	
    23.01.2019 11:51:19	TSDNS	Info	TSDNS queried unsuccessfully 185.97.255.90:41144	
    23.01.2019 11:51:19	TSDNS	Info	No TSDNS found	
    23.01.2019 11:51:22	ClientUI	Info	Connect status: Disconnected	
    23.01.2019 11:51:22	ClientUI	Info	Failed to connect to server, want autoreconnect = 1
    Last edited by dante696; January 24th, 2019 at 12:29 PM. Reason: merged. see post #2

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. [Resolved] [Teamspeak Client] Client list search (CTRL+F)
    By bbqeater in forum Bug Reports [EN/DE]
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: February 24th, 2015, 11:35 AM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: January 10th, 2013, 03:31 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •