Forum

Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Join Date
    June 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,350

    OpenGL high CPU load in Client 3.1

    (Moving this here from the feedback thread.)
    When I start the TeamSpeak client, I usually (there appear to be rare cases in which it doesn't do that) get instant permanent heavy CPU load (half a core) on my laptop caused by the ig75icd32.dll!DrvValidateVersion thread (part of the Intel OpenGL driver). I can kill that thread with no effect on the client. To fix the issue, I simply put an empty DLL with that name in my client directory, but you guys should fix that issue as well, as TeamSpeak draining laptop battery isn't nice and not everyone has an empty DLL at hand.

    My laptop:
    CPU: i7-4720HQ
    GPU: HD 4600 + 980M 8GB, most recent drivers for these
    OS: Win7 x64
    Client: x86

    Stack:
    Code:
    ntoskrnl.exe!memset+0x64a
    ntoskrnl.exe!KeWaitForMultipleObjects+0xd52
    ntoskrnl.exe!KeWaitForSingleObject+0x19f
    ntoskrnl.exe!__misaligned_access+0xbd4
    ntoskrnl.exe!__misaligned_access+0x186d
    ntoskrnl.exe!KeWaitForMultipleObjects+0xf5d
    ntoskrnl.exe!KeWaitForSingleObject+0x19f
    ntoskrnl.exe!ExAcquireSharedStarveExclusive+0x30f
    ntoskrnl.exe!NtQuerySystemInformation+0x5faa
    ntoskrnl.exe!RtlRunOnceExecuteOnce+0x15ea
    ntoskrnl.exe!RtlRunOnceExecuteOnce+0x32a7
    ntoskrnl.exe!NtConnectPort+0x41
    ntoskrnl.exe!KeSynchronizeExecution+0x3a23
    ntdll.dll!NtConnectPort+0xa
    wow64.dll!Wow64EmulateAtlThunk+0x11134
    wow64.dll!Wow64SystemServiceEx+0xd7
    wow64cpu.dll!TurboDispatchJumpAddressEnd+0x2d
    wow64.dll!Wow64SystemServiceEx+0x1ce
    wow64.dll!Wow64LdrpInitialize+0x42a
    ntdll.dll!TpAlpcRegisterCompletionList+0x791c
    ntdll.dll!LdrInitializeThunk+0xe
    ntdll.dll!ZwConnectPort+0x12
    dwmapi.dll!Ordinal132+0x6fa
    dwmapi.dll!Ordinal132+0x977
    dwmapi.dll!DwmGetWindowAttribute+0x1b3
    dwmapi.dll!DwmFlush+0x89
    ig75icd32.dll!DrvValidateVersion+0xfd5
    ntdll.dll!RtlInitializeExceptionChain+0x63
    ntdll.dll!RtlInitializeExceptionChain+0x36

  2. #2
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    18,151
    Thank you!

    I will retest that on my own CPU (HD 4600) first and i will create a ticket for that issue.

    //Edit
    I could not reprodcue that with my desktop CPU (driver version 15.40.28.4501).
    The CPU load wasn't higher on client start (logged in and logged out) in Options, Addons or on Server compared to stable 3.19.4
    Last edited by dante696; October 18th, 2016 at 04:13 PM.
    When sending me private messages: Please make sure to include reference link to your forum thread or post.

    TeamSpeak FAQ || What should i report, when i open a client thread?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    18,151
    It seems that this is an driver issue and we are unable to do anything here.

    The QTWebinge that we use runs on highestest priority on OpenGPL and the only way to see its to dig deeper into that issue and to change some opengpl settings in your OpenGPL driver :/
    http://doc.qt.io/qt-5/windows-requir...aphics-drivers

    I mark this as no bug since that issue is not comming from us directly.
    When sending me private messages: Please make sure to include reference link to your forum thread or post.

    TeamSpeak FAQ || What should i report, when i open a client thread?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    June 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,350
    Why are you even using OpenGL? I see no advantage as you can simply use a dummy DLL or even kill that running thread (if the thread was of any use, the application would instantly hang or crash). Causing high CPU usage for no advantage and a large number of IGPs makes no sense for me. It also can't be too hard to detect an Intel IGP and use software rendering instead.

    So as TeamSpeak doesn't appear to be willing to fix this, I'm uploading my fix here. This is a useless DLL that is used by my icon editor for creating ICL files (icon collections). Empty (0-byte) files would cause an error as it's not a DLL. As far as I know, there is no downside of using it. Just place it in your TeamSpeak folder. The fix is for x86, because noone should be running an x64 client anyway (waste of ram and disk space).
    Attached Files Attached Files

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. high cpu load
    By Breeze_ in forum Server Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: February 21st, 2013, 08:49 AM
  2. Replies: 5
    Last Post: November 15th, 2011, 03:24 AM
  3. high cpu load using ts3 in a vm
    By klonschaf in forum Linux / FreeBSD
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: October 18th, 2011, 12:00 PM
  4. High CPU Load..
    By dftst in forum Linux / FreeBSD
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: August 22nd, 2011, 08:24 AM
  5. [Server] Very High CPU-Load
    By InComplete in forum Linux / FreeBSD
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: June 13th, 2011, 05:28 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •