Forum


Notice to all users

We are migrating towards a new forum system located at community.teamspeak.com, as such this forum will become read-only on January 29, 2020

Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Join Date
    October 2016
    Posts
    2

    fresh install using MariaDB with autoincrement value other than 1

    Hey, when i was trying to install fresh server with MariaDB i have noticed some issue with default ID's.

    My MariaDB auto_increment_increment is set to 2, and this make problems.

    when server creates database on first run and instert data (for example look on channel groups)
    we have 4 groups with ID's 1, 3, 5, 7 but the server always expects they are (will be) with ID's 1, 2, 3, 4
    so in this case the serwer will not start because there is no group with ID=4
    Also all other ID's are not that they ment to be.

    Maybe you can look on it in next versions and take care about auto increment other than 1

    2016-10-21 17:31:54.606989|CRITICAL|PermissionMgr | |SERVERINSTANCE_TEMPLATE_CHANNELDEFAULT_GROUP points to an not available cgid: 4


    MariaDB [ts3_new]> select * from groups_channel;
    +----------+-----------+---------------+------+--------------+
    | group_id | server_id | name | type | org_group_id |
    +----------+-----------+---------------+------+--------------+
    | 1 | 0 | Channel Admin | 0 | NULL |
    | 3 | 0 | Operator | 0 | NULL |
    | 5 | 0 | Voice | 0 | NULL |
    | 7 | 0 | Guest | 0 | NULL |
    +----------+-----------+---------------+------+--------------+

  2. #2
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    18,506
    Why should auto_increment_increment be changed to 2?
    When sending me private messages: Please make sure to include reference link to your forum thread or post.

    TeamSpeak FAQ || What should i report, when i open a client thread?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    September 2012
    Posts
    6,079
    the auto increment value is always +1 of the highest record that was in the table.
    As such the auto_increment_value being 1 on an empty database is to be expected.

    Not sure what other problems you're describing, but setting up a new server worked perfectly fine last time I checked.
    Last edited by Chris; October 26th, 2016 at 12:35 AM.
    When sending PMs please make sure to include a reference link to the thread in question in the body of your message.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    October 2016
    Posts
    2
    @Chris
    auto_increment_increment is global DB setting (default config is set to 1)
    auto_increment_value is table specific value (and as default it starts from 1 (as auto_increment_offset is 1 by default))

    "the auto increment value is always +1 of the highest currently existing record"
    - no its not always "+1" it depends on auto_increment_increment and the value is incremented by: "+auto_increment_increment", and for clarity the value is not counted from "highest currently existing record" but the latest value is stored in table data.

    So the only problem in this case is when installing TS_serwer using database with other then default configuration.


    @dante696
    "Why should auto_increment_increment be changed to 2?"
    Please read about multi-master replication - its all about avoiding collisions on id's

    https://mariadb.com/kb/en/mariadb/ma...n-limitations/
    Do not rely on auto-increment values to be sequential. Galera uses a mechanism based on autoincrement increment to produce unique non-conflicting sequences, so on every single node the sequence will have gaps. See http://codership.blogspot.com/2009/0...ith-multi.html
    and some more description: http://www.chrislondon.co/mysql-auto...t-replication/



    I hope i wrote now more clearly about it.

    Maybe during TS installation make inserts with fixed id's and don't relay on database configuration with autoincrement.


    Anyway my workaround for this case was:
    1. install TS using other MariaDB serwer with default settings
    2. dump tables
    3. insert dumped data into destination database

    then all works fine

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Fresh install of teamspeak 3, no conectivity
    By Zero Ryoko in forum Windows
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: June 23rd, 2016, 11:28 AM
  2. where is pass serveradmin ? fresh install
    By sytry in forum Linux / FreeBSD
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: February 5th, 2010, 04:17 PM
  3. Fresh Install -> New ID
    By r4z0r in forum General Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: January 7th, 2010, 10:23 PM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: December 26th, 2009, 09:14 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •