Forum

Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Join Date
    January 2017
    Posts
    3

    OS X client now uses discrete/dedicated graphic card on launch

    Hello,

    Using a macbook pro with a discrete/dedicated graphic card, I noticed that with the latest 3.1.X update, teamspeak is requiring a switch and use this dedicated card to run.

    I was quite surprised to notice this as we're here only speaking about audio. I don't think this was intended, so can it be fixed? Otherwise, why this strange choice?

    Regards

  2. #2
    Join Date
    September 2012
    Posts
    6,076
    Please do the following:
    http://apple.stackexchange.com/a/74882

    for every one that is listed post a screenshot with the card selected. (In above link image that would mean two screenshots).
    When sending PMs please make sure to include a reference link to the thread in question in the body of your message.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    January 2017
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by Chris View Post
    Please do the following:
    http://apple.stackexchange.com/a/74882

    for every one that is listed post a screenshot with the card selected. (In above link image that would mean two screenshots).
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IGP.png 
Views:	180 
Size:	155.3 KB 
ID:	14911
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	AMD_discrete_card.png 
Views:	139 
Size:	175.7 KB 
ID:	14912

    Here goes the two screenshots.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    January 2017
    Posts
    3
    Hello, is there some updates on the topic?

    Regards

  5. #5
    Join Date
    November 2016
    Posts
    22

    [Bug] TS 3.1.3 forces dedicated graphics card on macOS

    Hi!

    I want to bring the following issue to your attention: when starting the newest TeamSpeak 3.1.3 I noticed it forces my Mac (MBP 15" Retina, model 2015, 10.12.4) to activate the dedicated graphics chip. This is not supposed to happen.
    Last edited by dante696; March 29th, 2017 at 08:15 AM. Reason: merged

  6. #6
    Join Date
    November 2016
    Posts
    22
    Here are the screenshots as requested.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Bildschirmfoto 2017-03-29 um 10.09.06 Kopie.png 
Views:	145 
Size:	180.5 KB 
ID:	15272
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Bildschirmfoto 2017-03-29 um 10.09.16.png 
Views:	160 
Size:	205.8 KB 
ID:	15273

  7. #7
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    18,119
    Thank you for that informmation.

    I will add this to our ticket.
    When sending me private messages: Please make sure to include reference link to your forum thread or post.

    TeamSpeak FAQ || What should i report, when i open a client thread?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    September 2012
    Posts
    6,076
    You can try to launch the client with the --force-opengl-soft parameter. No guarantees it does anything on Mac though.
    When sending PMs please make sure to include a reference link to the thread in question in the body of your message.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    November 2018
    Posts
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by dante696 View Post
    Thank you for that informmation.

    I will add this to our ticket.
    Has there been any update on this matter? I'm running up to date TS3 client on my mac, and it is still using dedicated GPU since that update. It is annoying as it makes the battery drain faster when unplugged from power, and also makes the computer warmer.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    18,119
    There is no update for this issue and it looks like there is nothing we can do to change that.

    Since client 3.1 features for web content have been added and we think this is why Mac OS or the graphics driver starts using the dedicated graphics card. It's not in our hands if that's the case.
    When sending me private messages: Please make sure to include reference link to your forum thread or post.

    TeamSpeak FAQ || What should i report, when i open a client thread?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    January 2019
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by dante696 View Post
    It's not in our hands if that's the case.
    I'd like to respectfully disagree. From my perspective as a user, your application is the one requiring high performance GPU, and therefore it's your fault. I don't know whether there is some knob you can tweak, or whether you'll need to open an issue upstream with the cross-platform UI library that you're using. Either way, it's not OK for an application that shoves audio into a UDP socket to need the discrete GPU.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    March 2019
    Posts
    1

    a fix is here

    Okay guys I have a solution! :)

    After reading the apple documentation for developers I have found a simple solution.
    (https://developer.apple.com/library/...34/_index.html)

    Simply modify the info.plist to add the NSSupportsAutomaticGraphicsSwitching boolean and set it to True. This can be achieved through a variety of methods. I used the terminal and edited the plist file with a text editor but it can also be edited through the GUI. Go to Fider => Applications => Teamspeak 3 Client and right click the application and choose "show package contents". Open the Contents folder and the info.plist should be there to edit. Mine opens with XCode but you might have to open with textedit if you do not have XCode installed. Just add the following lines after the first <dict>

    HTML Code:
    <key>NSSupportsAutomaticGraphicsSwitching</key>
    <true/>
    [At the bottom is my final plist file.] If you are confused I will be happy to assist you.

    Teamspeak Devs, could you possibly add this as a global fix for everyone? Simple boolean value which allows us macbook pro users to be happy :D. The boolean allows for the MacOS system to decide when to use integrated graphics for OpenGL and when to use dGPU. This is prefered behaviour over constant use of the dGPU.

    Before the fix the macbook would heat up a lot and the fans would whirr a lot and it would even impact game performance (when i game on my mac when i'm away from my gaming rig). However now the client can run quietly in the background without hogging all the resources.

    The plist file should look something like this once finished:

    HTML Code:
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
    <!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
    <plist version="1.0">
    <dict>
    	<key>NSSupportsAutomaticGraphicsSwitching</key>
    	<true/>
    	<key>CFBundleName</key>
    	<string>TeamSpeak 3</string>
    	<key>CFBundleExecutable</key>
    	<string>ts3client_mac</string>
    	<key>CFBundleGetInfoString</key>
    	<string>TeamSpeak 3 Client</string>
    	<key>CFBundleIconFile</key>
    	<string>teamspeak.icns</string>
    	<key>CFBundleIdentifier</key>
    	<string>com.teamspeak.TeamSpeak3</string>
    	<key>CFBundleInfoDictionaryVersion</key>
    	<string>6.0</string>
    	<key>CFBundlePackageType</key>
    	<string>APPL</string>
    	<key>CFBundleSignature</key>
    	<string>ts3c</string>
    	<key>NSHighResolutionCapable</key>
    	<true/>
    	<key>CFBundleURLTypes</key>
    	<array>
    		<dict>
    			<key>CFBundleURLName</key>
    			<string>TeamSpeak 3 Server URL</string>
    			<key>CFBundleURLSchemes</key>
    			<array>
    				<string>ts3server</string>
    			</array>
    		</dict>
    	</array>
    	<key>LSMinimumSystemVersion</key>
    	<string>10.8</string>
    </dict>
    </plist>

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    1
    @hacker123 's solution works flawlessly. Please incorporate this into the official Mac client.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    July 2019
    Posts
    2

    Mic doesn't work anymore if I use your fix

    Quote Originally Posted by hacker123 View Post
    Okay guys I have a solution!

    After reading the apple documentation for developers I have found a simple solution.
    (https://developer.apple.com/library/...34/_index.html)

    Simply modify the info.plist to add the NSSupportsAutomaticGraphicsSwitching boolean and set it to True. This can be achieved through a variety of methods. I used the terminal and edited the plist file with a text editor but it can also be edited through the GUI. Go to Fider => Applications => Teamspeak 3 Client and right click the application and choose "show package contents". Open the Contents folder and the info.plist should be there to edit. Mine opens with XCode but you might have to open with textedit if you do not have XCode installed. Just add the following lines after the first <dict>

    HTML Code:
    <key>NSSupportsAutomaticGraphicsSwitching</key>
    <true/>
    [At the bottom is my final plist file.] If you are confused I will be happy to assist you.

    Teamspeak Devs, could you possibly add this as a global fix for everyone? Simple boolean value which allows us macbook pro users to be happy . The boolean allows for the MacOS system to decide when to use integrated graphics for OpenGL and when to use dGPU. This is prefered behaviour over constant use of the dGPU.

    Before the fix the macbook would heat up a lot and the fans would whirr a lot and it would even impact game performance (when i game on my mac when i'm away from my gaming rig). However now the client can run quietly in the background without hogging all the resources.

    The plist file should look something like this once finished:

    HTML Code:
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
    <!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
    <plist version="1.0">
    <dict>
    	<key>NSSupportsAutomaticGraphicsSwitching</key>
    	<true/>
    	<key>CFBundleName</key>
    	<string>TeamSpeak 3</string>
    	<key>CFBundleExecutable</key>
    	<string>ts3client_mac</string>
    	<key>CFBundleGetInfoString</key>
    	<string>TeamSpeak 3 Client</string>
    	<key>CFBundleIconFile</key>
    	<string>teamspeak.icns</string>
    	<key>CFBundleIdentifier</key>
    	<string>com.teamspeak.TeamSpeak3</string>
    	<key>CFBundleInfoDictionaryVersion</key>
    	<string>6.0</string>
    	<key>CFBundlePackageType</key>
    	<string>APPL</string>
    	<key>CFBundleSignature</key>
    	<string>ts3c</string>
    	<key>NSHighResolutionCapable</key>
    	<true/>
    	<key>CFBundleURLTypes</key>
    	<array>
    		<dict>
    			<key>CFBundleURLName</key>
    			<string>TeamSpeak 3 Server URL</string>
    			<key>CFBundleURLSchemes</key>
    			<array>
    				<string>ts3server</string>
    			</array>
    		</dict>
    	</array>
    	<key>LSMinimumSystemVersion</key>
    	<string>10.8</string>
    </dict>
    </plist>
    Thanks for your nice trick. It works, the graphics is not the dedicated one anymore. But mimic doesn't work anymore. Neither the Macbook mic nor the USB-mic or any other mic. In the MacOS they work, but not in TeamSpeak. Does anyone have the same problem?

    Thank you for your help

  15. #15
    Join Date
    July 2019
    Posts
    2

    not working anymore after reboot

    Sorry the microphone works when you allow TeamSpeak microphone usage in MacOS.

    But if your restart the TeamSpeak-App crashes and wants to send an error-report to apple. Only changing the log file to original helps here. And then the dedicated graphics heats again.....

    Does anyone have the same issues? I would be very happy about some help, if you got any ideas

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. TS3 Client on a linux dedicated server
    By rossmann in forum Linux
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: October 22nd, 2012, 01:43 PM
  2. Teamspeak wakes Graphic card from zerocore ( HD7000 series)
    By Nemesis757 in forum Bug Reports [EN/DE]
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: June 14th, 2012, 02:31 PM
  3. (Graphic runs slow) BattleField 3 graphic lag when TS is on!
    By enklast in forum Bug Reports [EN/DE]
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: January 23rd, 2012, 06:55 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •