Forum

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    November 2017
    Posts
    1

    use encrypted passwords

    Dear TeamSpeak-Team,

    Bots can query the encrypted passwords from channels but they can't set them. If they do the channel will use the encrypted password as the real one. The channel doesn't decrypt it. To set the encrypted one would be very helpful for an automated channel creation. I hope that this function will be implemented.

    Best regards
    Evoferry

  2. #2
    Join Date
    June 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,351
    Backing that suggestion.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    December 2012
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    185
    I really don't support this suggestion.

    You can set a new password without problems, just send the raw password and the server will encode it, if you provide a hash you have to use it as password, this is normal the server encode the submitted string.

    I don't know wich algo is used, but the password seem hashed, so it can't be reverted, if you want know each channel password you have to store them in other place like a json file.

    Set a new password
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Sélection_329.png 
Views:	52 
Size:	70.7 KB 
ID:	16190

    Set a hash as password
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Sélection_330.png 
Views:	47 
Size:	66.4 KB 
ID:	16191

    The password used is mypassword
    Last edited by Toine; December 1st, 2017 at 11:56 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    June 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,351
    We all know what you posted. OP and I do not want to know the password. We want to set a hash as password to make software that copies channels and channel properties, but with passwords, we can't because we cannot set hashes as password.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    December 2012
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    185
    In fact when you hash a password you have to use a random salt, if the devs do their job correctly each channel got his own salt, so you can't be able to use the same hash on multiple channels using client/serverquery.

    The only (good) way is allowing the subchannel to inherit the parent channel hash/salt without set it up, just disable password field and use a placeholder wich inform the client when this option is enabled.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    June 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,351
    Passwords are just SHA1 without salt, so your argument is invalid.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. [Resolved] Can't set channel to encrypted
    By slick97477 in forum Linux / FreeBSD
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: May 20th, 2011, 09:17 AM
  2. [Solved] Imagedir, encrypted
    By Morfi in forum Bug Reports [EN/DE]
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: July 26th, 2010, 07:32 AM
  3. [Solved] Imagedir, encrypted
    By Morfi in forum Suggestions and Feedback
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: July 26th, 2010, 07:32 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •