Forum

Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Join Date
    June 2018
    Posts
    10

    Where did teamspeak 4 gone?

    Teamspeak 5 is going to be there on Q4 this year ,but where did teamspeak 4 gone?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    18,301
    There wasn't and there won't be any TS4.
    When sending me private messages: Please make sure to include reference link to your forum thread or post.

    TeamSpeak FAQ || What should i report, when i open a client thread?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    August 2013
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    541
    Any explanation on why TS4 is being skipped? Just following trends? Or because 4 is a unlucky number?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    September 2012
    Posts
    6,080
    Management decision.
    When sending PMs please make sure to include a reference link to the thread in question in the body of your message.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    January 2010
    Location
    Secret Base in Arctic Region
    Posts
    1,671
    Maybe the new asian management, in china, korea and japan number 4 is like the 13 in europe, since the word for "4" sounds similar the word for "death"

  6. #6
    Join Date
    June 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,368
    For example, there is no Office13 by Microsoft. They moved from Office12 (informally called Office 2007) to Office 14 (Office 2010). But yeah, looks strange for 4, as TeamSpeak has no connections to Asia.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    August 2017
    Posts
    5
    There was no Windows 9 as well so chill bois

  8. #8
    Join Date
    June 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,368
    That was because Software would check for "Windows 9" to see if the user was running Windows 95 or 98, but that would find Windows 9 as well. I do not know how many maintained applications run on both, Windows 95 and what is now Windows 10, though.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    August 2013
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    541
    Quote Originally Posted by numma_cway View Post
    I do not know how many maintained applications run on both, Windows 95 and what is now Windows 10.
    If the app was maintained, they'd just push an update to look for " Windows\s[95|98] " instead of Windows\s9

  10. #10
    Join Date
    October 2003
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,527
    TeamSpeak has always tried to skip the 4 in version numbers. There were a few exceptions (by mistake), but we did not release a 3.0.0-beta4, 3.0.0-beta14, 3.0.0-beta24, 3.0.4, etc.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    February 2014
    Posts
    277
    Quote Originally Posted by ScP View Post
    TeamSpeak has always tried to skip the 4 in version numbers. There were a few exceptions (by mistake), but we did not release a 3.0.0-beta4, 3.0.0-beta14, 3.0.0-beta24, 3.0.4, etc.

    Any reason why you do this?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,356
    Quote Originally Posted by Bluscream View Post
    If the app was maintained, they'd just push an update to look for " Windows\s[95|98] " instead of Windows\s9
    I guess there is not much software, which is still maintained and still officially supports Windows 95/98.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    November 2017
    Location
    Cologne, Germany
    Posts
    181
    Quote Originally Posted by Chris View Post
    Management decision.
    That's a classic statement used when questionable decisions are forced upon employees. You could have made up a cool story how your next product is going to be so awesome and different from the previous one that skipping a version was the logical thing to do. You could have said that you were about to release TeamSpeak 4 but misplaced the disks that the code was stored on.

    Anything would have been better than blaming it on your management which is inconsistent with the "cool" way you present yourselves on your shiny new website.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    February 2014
    Posts
    277
    Quote Originally Posted by RandomHost View Post
    That's a classic statement used when questionable decisions are forced upon employees. You could have made up a cool story how your next product is going to be so awesome and different from the previous one that skipping a version was the logical thing to do. You could have said that you were about to release TeamSpeak 4 but misplaced the disks that the code was stored on.

    Anything would have been better than blaming it on your management which is inconsistent with the "cool" way you present yourselves on your shiny new website.
    > You could have said that you were about to release TeamSpeak 4 but misplaced the disks that the code was stored on.

    That would have been x10000 worse.

    It doesn't sound like he's blaming management, simply stating they picked the name?

  15. #15
    Join Date
    November 2017
    Location
    Cologne, Germany
    Posts
    181
    You clearly missed out on the Sierra adventures.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •