Forum

Page 7 of 8 FirstFirst ... 5678 LastLast
Results 91 to 105 of 111
  1. #91
    Join Date
    September 2014
    Posts
    16
    Discord is crushing them because:

    1. Mainstream users are morons and don't understand that Discord is trash (and is most likely selling their data due to the amount of users and how long there was no monetization system as well as it being definitely run by a shady CEO who has been exposed in the past with his OpenFeint project.. plus they support propaganda groups like SPLC and shut down people's servers based on political opinions.) Why is it trash? How about we start with the default grey on grey and all the hovering over chat messages and complicated methods for things like that? Things that should be simple are complicated and due to the nature of the software's layout it wastes a lot of screen real estate. It's dependent on their global servers and you get no freedom in what happens to that information or true freedom on where the server is hosted (in regards to location AND host).
    2. Mainstream users are morons and can't understand how to setup TS. Just take a look at the people a few posts up who cannot find the downloads.


    I've observed for a while now that dante seems fed up with the users who post here. He often doesn't reply at all to some posts or replies in a pretty upset manner, which is somewhat understandable considering the amount of dumb replies from people who don't read what he or the rest of the team has spent time presenting for others to read. It doesn't take much effort to do a simple search and find the downloads page and see that the latest download for TS is CLEARLY AVAILABLE and EASY TO ACCESS.

    On the other hand, in regards to this specific issue, it doesn't matter if you were already running the latest version of TS. For some odd reason they implemented this license for something which isn't even paid and only causes delays for people running TS servers for really no good reason as far as I can tell... which is why I spent so much time yesterday trying to get the server connectable again. My "license" for a free server had "expired" and I had to install the same version of the software over the existing files then restore my database and as a result every user who connects will be warned about something they do not understand and will assume there's a serious security issue which does not exist.

  2. #92
    Join Date
    August 2019
    Posts
    1

    Fixed it

    If you're running docker, the likely resolution is `docker pull teamspeak3`

    you're welcome

  3. #93
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    18,151
    Quote Originally Posted by code841 View Post
    Can you put this in the license description page at least? https://www.teamspeak.com/en/features/licensing

    "The free server license is valid for 1 year only" ?
    This would not be true for that license.
    It's valid 1 year depending in which server version it was added.


    Quote Originally Posted by code841 View Post
    Is there any documentation on this process? This is the only thread I could find on this license issue.
    The server log 0 shows the end date every time you start the server
    When sending me private messages: Please make sure to include reference link to your forum thread or post.

    TeamSpeak FAQ || What should i report, when i open a client thread?

  4. #94
    Join Date
    August 2019
    Posts
    1

    WARNING |Accounting

    Unable to open licensekey.dat, falling back to limited functionality
    2019-08-02 22:30:58.766652|CRITICAL|Accounting | |Failed loading default license file!
    And The server dont work is there a way to fix this running on windows 10
    Last edited by dante696; August 5th, 2019 at 10:32 AM. Reason: merged

  5. #95
    Join Date
    September 2014
    Posts
    16
    Quote Originally Posted by dante696 View Post
    This would not be true for that license.
    It's valid 1 year depending in which server version it was added.



    The server log 0 shows the end date every time you start the server
    For what reason was the decision made to put an expiration date on free software managed by the user?

  6. #96
    Join Date
    December 2015
    Posts
    272
    Quote Originally Posted by sneak310 View Post
    For what reason was the decision made to put an expiration date on free software managed by the user?
    Just because something is free doesn't mean you are owning it. You have free usage rights, but to TeamSpeak System GmbH conditions, which you also accepted when installing the free server software.

    But I guess the free server have a one year auto renew license because of the technical implementation and limitation of the new and more secure license system that came with 3.1. And 1 year is probably the longest time a license can be valid now.

    That's my guess.

  7. #97
    Join Date
    November 2016
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    115
    For the simple reason of security. If you read through the different changelogs from the different server versions you will see that some server updates are recommended by TS because of security fixes. Itīs always better to go with the newest version to support the newest features (e.g. features for the new TS5 client which wonīt be implemented into the current TS3 client) and to have the latest security. Badges only work from 3.9.0+ so if you want to show them of you need to have the latest server too (thank god they are signed now; no more fake badges ).

  8. #98
    Join Date
    August 2019
    Posts
    1

    I need a license now for 32 slots?

    my server is no longer starting up it says I need a license now but I thought that 32 slot is free
    Last edited by dante696; August 5th, 2019 at 07:21 AM. Reason: merged

  9. #99
    Join Date
    November 2012
    Posts
    8

    Failed loading default license file - Problem started few days ago

    Hello,

    i would like to ask you for support here please. I want to notice i did not do any updates on the server despite i had started to have problems with TS3 server runing on Debian machine. I use this server only for my friend so server never wanted any kind of license.



    2019-08-04 11:05:01.609177|INFO |ServerLibPriv | |TeamSpeak 3 Server 3.3.0 (2018-07-31 16:10:01)
    2019-08-04 11:05:01.609875|INFO |ServerLibPriv | |SystemInformation: Linux 4.9.0-9-amd64 #1 SMP Debian 4.9.168-1+deb9u4 (2019-07-19) x86_64 Binary: 64bit
    2019-08-04 11:05:01.617596|INFO |DatabaseQuery | |dbPlugin name: SQLite3 plugin, Version 3, (c)TeamSpeak Systems GmbH
    2019-08-04 11:05:01.617754|INFO |DatabaseQuery | |dbPlugin version: 3.11.1
    2019-08-04 11:05:01.618909|INFO |DatabaseQuery | |checking database integrity (may take a while)
    2019-08-04 11:05:01.758741|WARNING |Accounting | |Unable to open licensekey.dat, falling back to limited functionality
    2019-08-04 11:05:01.759168|CRITICAL|Accounting | |Failed loading default license file!

    Also i tried to these steps:


    Please set the environment variable TS3SERVER_LICENSE to "accept" in order to accept the license agreement.
    Alternatively, create a file named ".ts3server_license_accepted" in the working directory or start the server with the command line parameter "license_accepted=1".
    To view the license agreement set TS3SERVER_LICENSE to "view" in order to print the license to the console.
    Alternatively view the file "LICENSE" in your favorite text viewer yourself.

    BUT this hasnt any effect.

    Thanks a lot!
    Last edited by dante696; August 5th, 2019 at 07:21 AM. Reason: merged

  10. #100
    Join Date
    July 2019
    Posts
    2

    Red face Instructions

    Quote Originally Posted by sneak310 View Post
    Just got the same issue. This really makes no sense. One of the reasons we stick with TS3 is to avoid arbitrary or stupid restrictions. Forcing us to update software running on our own server makes no sense. That's up to us.

    EDIT: Server is already latest version. What's going on?

    Log file Error:
    Code:
    Error creating ephemeral license: EXPIRED
    Error when starting server:
    Code:
    |CRITICAL|Accounting    |   |Failed loading default license file!
    I didn't do anything. I came home from work and suddenly nobody can connect.

    EDIT 2:
    After over an hour and a half of messing with this stuff to try to resolve an issue which should never have existed in the first place, because licenses for unpaid software on our own private servers makes zero sense to begin with, I've found a work-around for this nonsense...

    You basically follow the instructions for an "update" posted by the team but you are installing the SAME version of TS3 since there is no new version available then replacing the database file (and whitelist/blacklist/etc as applicable) with your old one. Shouldn't have to do all this and thanks for that huge waste of time for something so pointless. And now, I will have everyone asking me about the warning that appears when they connect, which has a reasonable intention but fails in this scenario due to the unreasonable reality of this license system randomly shutting our servers down without notice and requiring such a struggle to get them back up.

    When you add useless obstacles like this to your software you only encourage people to go get cracked licenses or use something else.
    Can you give me the instructions pls? I'm clumsy to look for

  11. #101
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    18,151
    Quote Originally Posted by GhostingGodzilla View Post
    my server is no longer starting up it says I need a license now but I thought that 32 slot is free
    Free doesn't mean it can be used forever and the the server always had a license when no own license was in use.

    Just update your server and then it's fine again.
    When sending me private messages: Please make sure to include reference link to your forum thread or post.

    TeamSpeak FAQ || What should i report, when i open a client thread?

  12. #102
    Join Date
    February 2015
    Posts
    16

    |CRITICAL|Accounting | |Failed loading defa

    Running CentOS 7
    Teamspeak server version: teamspeak3-server_linux_amd64-3.9.1.tar


    Server ran perfectly for months and suddenly it stopped. I'm getting the following error:

    -bash-4.2$ ./ts3server_startscript.sh start
    ts3server.pid found, but no server running. Possibly your previously started server crashed
    Please view the logfile for details.
    Starting the TeamSpeak 3 server
    TeamSpeak 3 server started, for details please view the log file
    -bash-4.2$ 2019-08-11 12:08:02.551866|CRITICAL|Accounting | |Failed loading default license file!

    Contents of log file:

    -bash-4.2$ cat ts3server_2019-08-11__12_08_02.521782_0.log
    2019-08-11 12:08:02.521926|INFO |ServerLibPriv | |TeamSpeak 3 Server 3.2.0 (2018-05-08 06:11:20)
    2019-08-11 12:08:02.522235|INFO |ServerLibPriv | |SystemInformation: Linux 3.10.0-957.27.2.el7.x86_64 #1 SMP Mon Jul 29 17:46:05 UTC 2019 x86_64 Binary: 64bit
    2019-08-11 12:08:02.523309|INFO |DatabaseQuery | |dbPlugin name: SQLite3 plugin, Version 3, (c)TeamSpeak Systems GmbH
    2019-08-11 12:08:02.523355|INFO |DatabaseQuery | |dbPlugin version: 3.11.1
    2019-08-11 12:08:02.523712|INFO |DatabaseQuery | |checking database integrity (may take a while)
    2019-08-11 12:08:02.551709|WARNING |Accounting | |Unable to open licensekey.dat, falling back to limited functionality
    2019-08-11 12:08:02.551866|CRITICAL|Accounting | |Failed loading default license file!
    -bash-4.2$


    I've never used a license key in the past. This is strictly a private server used only by myself and my friend while we're gaming.


    How do I fix this??

  13. #103
    Join Date
    November 2016
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    115

    Solved Update to 3.9.1

    Quote Originally Posted by CptnBlues63 View Post
    2019-08-11 12:08:02.521926|INFO |ServerLibPriv | |TeamSpeak 3 Server 3.2.0 (2018-05-08 06:11:20)
    You are running server version 3.2.0 which is way too old! Just update to 3.9.1 and your license gets refreshed.

  14. #104
    Join Date
    February 2015
    Posts
    16
    Quote Originally Posted by D0mm4S View Post
    You are running server version 3.2.0 which is way too old! Just update to 3.9.1 and your license gets refreshed.
    How do I update it correctly? I've never done this before.

    Thanks

  15. #105
    Join Date
    November 2016
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    115

    Solved How to update

    Quote Originally Posted by CptnBlues63 View Post
    How do I update it correctly? I've never done this before.
    See here (very basic instructions):


Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: March 26th, 2013, 07:01 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •