Forum

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Threaded View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    November 2013
    Posts
    6

    Server Query Client Nickname is already in use error

    Hi, I've just updated my Teamspeak 3 server to version 3.7.0

    I've noticed what I think may be a bug, in this latest version.

    For context I've been using the following Teamspeak 3 NodeJS Bot - Steam-Ts. Which I'm not the Developer of. This bot allows us to verify (link) a Teamspeak User with their Steam Account, in order for them to be added to a Verified Group which allows us to reduce trolls, etc.

    Problem:

    On updating to version 3.7.0 I could no longer launch this bot, the bot uses the older telnet connection to Teamspeak's server query. On connecting to the server it assigns itself a set user name, in our case: "Steam-Verify-Bot".

    However, when I try start this bot now, I get the following error:
    Code:
    id: 513, msg: 'nickname is already in use'
    Name:  1FRp0xM.png
Views: 689
Size:  59.5 KB

    As the only change which has been made since receiving this error was the Server update to v3.7.0, I'm guessing this may be a bug with this version, as the nickname is certainly not in use when the Bot is not connected.

    Work Around:

    My only method to solve this is to get the bot to randomise its name on connection, e.g. "Steam-Verify-Bot123" or "Steam-Verify-Bot451", etc. As the bot does occasional disconnect, crash, etc. On reconnect it always states that the last used nickname is 'still' in use, and only assigning the bot a completely new nickname allows it to connect.

    As per the Change-log's for v3.7.0:
    Code:
    Added: Restricted the amount of possible ServerQuery connections to five per IP.
           Whitelisted IPs ignore this limit, and the limit can be changed using
           `instanceedit serverinstance_serverquery_max_connections_per_ip=<limit>`
           in the ServerQuery.
    I've double checked this and this IP (127.0.0.1) the bot runs on the same server as the Teamspeak 3 server. The IP is added to the whitelist and only has one other bot, i.e. 2 bots on the same IP.

    Hoping I could get any assistance, or if anyone else is noticing this error?
    Last edited by FugiTive Legacy; March 26th, 2019 at 07:55 PM. Reason: Grammar

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: August 9th, 2017, 03:34 PM
  2. [Not possible] Query Max Client ERROR
    By dangerlord63 in forum Server Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: September 23rd, 2016, 03:28 PM
  3. [Resolved] How do i change the nickname of a server query?
    By tom_deluxe in forum Server Support
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: January 5th, 2016, 11:10 PM
  4. [Not possible] Server Admin error on Client connect with Query Group
    By TandelK in forum Server Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: September 20th, 2015, 03:49 PM
  5. [Resolved] Rename Query Nickname (Username + IP)
    By jamesonp in forum General Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: August 17th, 2014, 01:19 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •