Forum

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Czech Republic
    Posts
    43

    TSDNS to be removed?

    Why there is this warning?
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	MgFO4hwAjY.png 
Views:	88 
Size:	4.3 KB 
ID:	17778
    I have bad configuration? I don't know what is this mean.

    On my another domain it's all ok without warnings.


    DNS Resolver - YaTQA
    Last edited by Ondra3211; April 23rd, 2019 at 05:13 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    18,151
    You are using a TSDNS server for that one domain and oo the one who isn't complaining you do not use TSDNS.
    We suggest to use a SRV entry instead of TSDNS.
    When sending me private messages: Please make sure to include reference link to your forum thread or post.

    TeamSpeak FAQ || What should i report, when i open a client thread?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    June 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,351
    plain TSDNS = TSDNS which is not invoked as a result of _tsdns._tcp SRV RR.
    If you also have such SRV RR pointing to that (or any other) TSDNS server or the server in question is even using _ts3._udp SRV RR, SRV RR will have priority (_ts3 has priority over _tsdns) and everything is alright.

    AFAIR, the TeamSpeak 3 client shows a warning about this as well, if no SRV RRs exist.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Czech Republic
    Posts
    43
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	cYVxCNoiWK.png 
Views:	22 
Size:	17.8 KB 
ID:	17784
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	LwfNcBnDKb.png 
Views:	42 
Size:	11.0 KB 
ID:	17785

  5. #5
    Join Date
    June 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,351
    If you look at YaTQA's result, TeamSpeak will use the first un-indented successful result, which, in this case, is the result of "_ts3._udp.ts3server.eu". All other results are not taken into account and simply ignored.

    If that is your only server, feel free to uninstall TSDNS and remove all SRV RRs. They are all pointless. There is a single situation where you will want to use TSDNS: You have multiple virtual servers that you want to distinguish by their ports only. This is not the case, because you did not configure TSDNS to use $PORT (rule of thumb: if your TSDNS server does not return $PORT, you should never use TSDNS). So yeah, just uninstall TSDNS.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Czech Republic
    Posts
    43
    You mean this is the best dns configuration for me: Click image for larger version. 

Name:	6Acb9VNvRa.png 
Views:	28 
Size:	11.6 KB 
ID:	17786

    But when I want use "all-subdomains.domain.tld" only for teamspeak and no for web? What I can do? Again use TSDNS?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    June 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,351
    Yes, that's what I meant.
    But indeed, doing a catch-all (any subdomain to the same server) is only possible with TSDNS (which is looked up on the two highest levels of the input domain that are not on this list, no matter if SRV or not). Haven't thought about that situation. No need for a TS3 SRV RR.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: September 11th, 2015, 09:09 AM
  2. Removed my i_group_modify_power
    By theonlyduck in forum Permission System
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: January 1st, 2015, 02:01 PM
  3. server ip removed
    By r2d2juan in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: July 15th, 2014, 09:30 PM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: August 4th, 2013, 01:52 PM
  5. [Resolved] How not to be removed from ServerAdmin on your own TS3.
    By Kazed in forum Permission System
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: March 6th, 2011, 03:25 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •