Forum

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 27 of 27
  1. #16
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Posts
    51
    Okay, I took a deeper look into the screenshots you posted. It seems like you are hosting the server on your private PC right?

    The easiest way is to remove the "old" teamspeak user and create a whole new account for it. If you remove the old one, make sure that the home folder from that account is removed too.
    Then create a new user via command "adduser name-here" and follow the prompt.
    After that login to that user via command "su name-here" (if necessary change the directory to the home folder of that account).
    Then:
    wget https://files.teamspeak-services.com...-3.8.0.tar.bz2
    tar xfvj teamspeak3-server_linux_amd64-3.8.0.tar.bz2
    cd teamspeak3-server_linux_amd64-3.8.0
    cp -R * /home/account-name-here
    cd ..
    touch .ts3server_license_accepted
    ./ts3server_startscript.sh start

    That should start the server without a proper server.ini file.
    If that worked, do this to clean up the archive and the extraced folder (both arent needed anymore):
    rm -rf teamspeak3-server_linux_amd64-3.8.0
    rm teamspeak3-server_linux_amd64-3.8.0.tar.bz2


    After that follow the tutorial you posted (step 7 to 10.2) to get the service ready.

  2. #17
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Posts
    51
    Opening your own topic would help. Hijacking other topics only disrupts the helping attempts for others.

  3. #18
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    earth
    Posts
    35
    The pic shows me log on as Teamspeak1 < the reason is I do not want to delete Teamspeak user, I want to keep those files and move them when I get Teamspeak1 running as a service.
    The pic says it all!

    The first is wrong, its the second one!
    Looks like Teamspeak1 is not much of a superuser???
    wget does not work for SU Teamspeak1!
    Tried sudo and wouldn't you know it Teamspeak1 cannot sudo, must not be a su???
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	TeamspeakLogon.png 
Views:	13 
Size:	191.2 KB 
ID:	18010   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	LoggonasTeamspeak.png 
Views:	14 
Size:	374.7 KB 
ID:	18011  
    Last edited by Cougarxr7; June 20th, 2019 at 12:28 AM.

  4. #19
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Posts
    51
    That is why I recommended deleting the user and create a new one. Either that or you fix the permissions (in your case the first is way better and easiert for you).
    Plus I already told you, you "cant" use su / sudo with another command behind it. If you use "su" it means its running with root permissions. If you put a name behind it, then it will run with elevated rights from the user you mentioned.
    You simply enter "nano .script-here" as an example.

  5. #20
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    earth
    Posts
    35
    If I understand what you are saying is that as a su, you use nano and not sudo??
    nano script
    Is this correct?

  6. #21
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Posts
    51
    Yes, you can simply run "nano script" within the new account. If it needs elevated rights, the system will ask for it or tell you what to do.

  7. #22
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    earth
    Posts
    35
    is nano suppost to open a different terminal?
    because when I typed nano the window that opened was like the one for the service script.
    Is that what's suppost to happen?
    I'm ready to delete and start from the biginning.
    With this:PLEASE MODIFY AND/OR CORRECT THESE INSTRUCTIONS
    sudo adduse teamspeak
    cd /home/teamspeak/
    su teamspeak
    wget https://files.teamspeak-services.com...-3.8.0.tar.bz2
    cp * -R /home/teamspeak< DID NOT WORK PERMISSIONS PROBLEM
    touch .ts3server_license_accepted< DID NOT, PERMISSION PROBLEM
    ./ts3server_startscript.sh start
    ./ts3server_startscript.sh stop
    exit
    nano /lib/systemd/system/ts3server.service

    [Step 8.1.]
    Copy the below and paste it:
    [Unit]
    Description=Teamspeak Service
    Wants=network.target
    [Service]
    WorkingDirectory=/home/teamspeak
    User=teamspeak
    ExecStart=/home/teamspeak/ts3server_minimal_runscript.sh
    ExecStop=/home/teamspeak/ts3server_startscript.sh stop
    ExecReload=/home/teamspeak/ts3server_startscript.sh restart
    Restart=always
    RestartSec=15
    [Install]
    WantedBy=multi-user.target
    Step 8.2:
    Now we need to save it
    Press CTRL and X together, then Press Y <THAT DID NOT WORK FOR ME, HOW DO YOU SAVE?
    Step 9:
    Now we need to enable it, by typing in the following command
    systemctl enable ts3server.service
    Step 9.1:
    Type in the following to restart the server)
    REBOOT

    I will post pics with the first problem I have.
    Last edited by Cougarxr7; June 20th, 2019 at 09:32 PM.

  8. #23
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    earth
    Posts
    35
    I deleted all users.

    started new and here I am.
    it says no such file or Directory?
    Yet I can see it in front of me, see pic, in fact CougarXR7 is logon in that Directory, look at the very top!
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	No teamspeakDirectory.png 
Views:	12 
Size:	235.1 KB 
ID:	18018.
    Help!

  9. #24
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    earth
    Posts
    35
    I am stuck on a nano prompt with permission denied.
    Saving and exiting is not working for me, please post those commands, make sure I'm using outdated commands.
    It was looking so good, downloaded, installed, even started with no root warning which was great,now this.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	NANOpermissiondenied.png 
Views:	13 
Size:	268.2 KB 
ID:	18019

  10. #25
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    earth
    Posts
    35
    Almost there, enabling is being denied!Click image for larger version. 

Name:	EnablingDenied.png 
Views:	14 
Size:	262.7 KB 
ID:	18020

  11. #26
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    earth
    Posts
    35
    I have a server the starts at boot and does not run from root!
    Not sure how, but its working now!
    Thanks for all your help!

  12. #27
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Posts
    51
    No problem. Please dont take this personal, but it seems like you dont know Ubuntu very well (thats already nicely said).
    You should inform yourself a bit on how to handle Ubuntu in general. That will help you in future too.
    But if you got problems again, you are of course welcome here.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Ts3 Server on Ubuntu 14.04
    By Mr Oreo in forum Linux / FreeBSD
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: October 1st, 2014, 06:43 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •