Forum

Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    earth
    Posts
    35

    TS3 Client updater file install location Flatpak/Ubuntu

    I cannot update TS3 client because of permissions.
    I cannot find the folder where this file is so I can update its permissions,
    Does anyone know where this file is?
    In the taskman I found what I thought was the path I needed but it wasn't.
    Thanks!
    Last edited by Cougarxr7; September 16th, 2019 at 11:16 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    18,260
    The updater binary and all other files to run the program are in same path where you start the client from.
    When sending me private messages: Please make sure to include reference link to your forum thread or post.

    TeamSpeak FAQ || What should i report, when i open a client thread?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    earth
    Posts
    35
    Thanks for replying!
    And that's the problem!
    Linux, unlike Windows seems to install apps all over the place with no set organized
    install or no info on where it is installed.
    So if anyone know where ts3 client gets installed to, let me know!
    Thanks!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    18,260
    Quote Originally Posted by Cougarxr7 View Post
    Linux, unlike Windows seems to install apps all over the place
    No it doesn't. The client gets extracted in one path with our installer.
    When sending me private messages: Please make sure to include reference link to your forum thread or post.

    TeamSpeak FAQ || What should i report, when i open a client thread?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    earth
    Posts
    35
    and that path would be?
    I got ts3 client installed by Flatpak.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    18,260
    For Flatpack support you need to ask the creator of that package.
    We do not offer such installer.

    NOTE: This wrapper is not verified by, affiliated with, or supported by TeamSpeak Systems, Inc.
    When sending me private messages: Please make sure to include reference link to your forum thread or post.

    TeamSpeak FAQ || What should i report, when i open a client thread?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    earth
    Posts
    35
    Thank you for replying!
    I will check with flatpack.
    What is the default Linux Teamspeak 3 Client install path?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    18,260
    There is none. The client folder gets extracted where you start the installer.
    The folder can be moved later.

    For your possible next question:
    You start the client with ./ts3client_runscript.sh
    When sending me private messages: Please make sure to include reference link to your forum thread or post.

    TeamSpeak FAQ || What should i report, when i open a client thread?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    earth
    Posts
    35
    Thank you so much for your help!
    Does the update file have a certain name?
    I installed "locate" and I am trying to find that file and where it is.
    The error windows says its the "update.ini", is that the correct name?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    18,260
    The binary is called update.

    Why using any tool any terminal or Window manager can show you the files.
    When sending me private messages: Please make sure to include reference link to your forum thread or post.

    TeamSpeak FAQ || What should i report, when i open a client thread?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    earth
    Posts
    35
    update.???
    The tool is a search tool.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    18,260
    update not update.

    Yes you do not need any tool to find the binary. It's inside root of installed client.
    When sending me private messages: Please make sure to include reference link to your forum thread or post.

    TeamSpeak FAQ || What should i report, when i open a client thread?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    September 2019
    Posts
    7
    flatpak installs the client into:
    /var/lib/flatpak/app/com.teamspeak.TeamSpeak

    however, the starter-command (for the desktop icon) is on my system :
    /usr/bin/flatpak run --branch=stable --arch=x86_64 --command=teamspeak com.teamspeak.TeamSpeak

  14. #14
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    earth
    Posts
    35
    Thanks for helping!
    Here are screen shots.
    https://ibb.co/0Cfn7nx
    https://ibb.co/WFpqYRc
    The user path does not have the update for teamspeak in it, check pic.
    I am at a loss, I cannot get ts to update.
    The path to the updater is,
    /var/lib/flatpak/app/com.teamspeak.TeamSpeak/x86_64/stable/0c2729ee5778a6278ebe5d8175762ee16a4bd2a7a0ac210437 ec7c1f302e5779/files/extra/ , see pic.
    Can anybody see where I am making my mistake??
    Last edited by Cougarxr7; September 18th, 2019 at 10:49 AM.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    earth
    Posts
    35
    ***************SOLVED********************
    flatpak update com.teamspeak.TeamSpeak

    This is the command to update ts3client using flatpak!
    It took a couple of tries, but it worked!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 6
    Last Post: December 30th, 2017, 10:40 AM
  2. Replies: 5
    Last Post: August 10th, 2013, 02:28 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •