Forum

Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 96
  1. #1
    Join Date
    December 2004
    Location
    RF
    Posts
    3,007

    Exclamation Common checklist for server diagnostics

    1. Before installing TS, You need a PC with network card, installed IP protocol and network cable plugged in card outlet and connected to network hub/similar.
    2. Some commands explained here have different options in different versions of Windows.
    3. You should have both TS server and client installed. It is ok' to install them both in the same directory, no problem for me for a long time.
    4. Remove any BoundToIp# options from server.ini and restart server before running these diagnostic tests.


    [ ] Server is up and running.
    Common checks: You see server icon in tray area or server_windows.exe listed in task manager.
    If not - check server.log in directory where You have TS installed.

    [ ] Server configured and functions properly.
    Common checks:
    [ ] You can see HTTP interface by entering
    http://localhost:<HTTPServer Port>
    in Your webbrowser.
    [ ] You can connect to TCP query port by starting telnet.exe and entering
    open localhost <TCPQueryPort>
    there.
    [ ] You can connect to TS server at address
    localhost:<Server Port>
    <HTTPServer Port> and <TCPQueryPort> can be obtained from server.ini.
    <Server Port> can be obtained from server.log - one last string, like "Started VirtualServer id:1 with port:8767".
    If You have problem with one of these three tests, post Your server.ini and result of
    netstat -aon
    with Your request for help.

    [ ] You have Your server accessible from WAN.
    Common checks: go to http://ts2test.planetteamspeak.com, correct Your UDP port and run test.
    You should have green "Ok" marks in UDP test at step 3 as indication that your server set up function properly. Othrvise, you have an error somewhere inbetween yourself and your clients from internet.
    To solve this problem, we need much more information because there's too much intermediate points and nothing to test them one by one.
    1. Do You have Your firewall configured correctly to allow UDP connections to and from <Server Port>?
    2. Is Your server located behind a router? Does that router have real WAN address or just address in other (wider) LAN?
    3. Did You set up port forwarding properly? Or use DMZ option? (make sure you have Your firewall always enabled!! even if You are behind a router!)
    4. Which address You provide to Your friends? Is it Your real IP or name? Does that IP dynamically changes from time to time? Is Your name updated to reflect that changes?
    Please provide following information to help us locate Your problem
    1. Your server.ini
    2. Output from
      ipconfig /all
    3. Output from
      tracert ts2test.planetteamspeak.com
    4. Model and firmware version of Your router, with screenshots or exact description of Your portforward(Virtual Server) settings and WAN status screen. (preferable screenshots)
    Last edited by ANR Daemon; May 14th, 2009 at 08:51 AM. Reason: Some clarifications+Distinctive icon

  2. #2
    Join Date
    December 2004
    Location
    RF
    Posts
    3,007
    Solutions suggested from user problems.

    Example solution for dual router->modem/router scheme
    User have modem as dialing/routing device and second router with WiFi interface and need to host TS server behind second router.
    Last edited by ANR Daemon; June 8th, 2007 at 01:23 PM. Reason: Reuse post for other tasks

  3. #3
    BHKai is offline -= Undercover TeamSpeak Fanatic =-
    Join Date
    January 2007
    Location
    LA
    Posts
    4,576
    People would not check it anyway. They lazy.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    July 2006
    Location
    Nebraska
    Posts
    25
    I'm haveing a problum not being able to connect to my Super Server Admin. It will start to load it in my web browser, then stop and show nothing, or say it couldn't connect. I can connect to the servers though, just not get into my SSA. It's really makeing me mad too. xD

  5. #5
    Join Date
    December 2004
    Location
    RF
    Posts
    3,007
    Quote Originally Posted by BHKai View Post
    People would not check it anyway. They lazy.
    At least I have it written and I (and You and anyone else) can refer to this document as we need more info form newbies.

    nickill2, do this checklist and provide corresponding information please.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    January 2007
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    10
    server.ini

    Code:
    [debug]
    MessageTypes=LMTALL
    MessageDepths=LMDALL
    [Main Config]
    ExternalIPDectection=1
    HTTPServer Port=14534
    HTTPServer Enabled=1
    DateTimeFormat=dd-mm-yyyy hh:nn:ss
    TCPQueryPort=51234
    AllowedClientNameChars=
    DisAllowedClientNameChars=()[]{}
    BoundToIp1=
    [WebPost]
    AdminEmail=na
    ISPLinkURL=na
    ISPName=Private
    ISPCountryNumber=2457
    Enabled=0
    PostURL=
    ListPublic=0
    UserAgent=teamspeak
    [log]
    access_r=0
    access_u=0
    channel_registerred=0
    channel_unregisterred=0
    sa=0
    chat=0
    kick_server=0
    kick_channel=0
    [Spam]
    max_commands=10
    in_seconds=2
    The test site shows that I'm accessible through the UDP (but server is passworded), and I haven't found a reason yet to open the TCP ports (though if I open them, everything reads fine.) I do not have a firewall (husband's idea -_-). I have no idea where to get the information for "ipconfig /all", if I type it in the "Run" option in Windows, a box shows up for about half a second and then disappears. My friends that are able to connect have my WAN IP and are able to connect even though I'm behind a router. I can also use my WAN IP to connect. I am using a Linksys Cable/DSL 4 Port Router, I don't know how to find the version of the firmware I have 2 out of about 25 people that are unable to connect with these settings. Both of them get a similar error, "Connection Timed Out," I think. Both are behind a router. I must be doing the BoundtoIP thing wrong, because whenever I enter my WAN IP next to "BoundtoIP1=" in my server.ini, no one can connect, not even myself using either WAN or LAN. If you need more information, please tell me how and I'll post it

  7. #7
    BHKai is offline -= Undercover TeamSpeak Fanatic =-
    Join Date
    January 2007
    Location
    LA
    Posts
    4,576
    You do not have to put anything in the bound to ip thing. Your setup seems fine. Could you as the two that do connect to try and get a traceroot using your WAN IP.

    start>run>cmd>"tracert <wan ip>"

  8. #8
    Join Date
    January 2007
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    10
    Ok I got one of them to run the tracert. What am I looking for, or should I just post what it said? No one can hack me based off the info in that can they?

  9. #9
    BHKai is offline -= Undercover TeamSpeak Fanatic =-
    Join Date
    January 2007
    Location
    LA
    Posts
    4,576
    Quote Originally Posted by Quedari View Post
    Ok I got one of them to run the tracert. What am I looking for, or should I just post what it said? No one can hack me based off the info in that can they?
    The information is just pings for each router that the person meets. They can not hack you from the information, it would be easier if you just posted the what it had.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    January 2007
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    10
    This is what my friend that CANNOT connect sent me:

    Code:
    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.
    
    C:\>tracert 68.53.155.4
    
    Tracing route to c-68-53-155-4.hsd1.tn.comcast.net [68.53.155.4]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:
    
     1    10 ms    <1 ms     1 ms  192.168.1.1
     2    25 ms    35 ms   114 ms  L100.DSL-02.PTLDOR.verizon-gni.net [71.111.48.1]
    
     3    25 ms    24 ms    24 ms  P1-1.LCR-01.WASHDC.verizon-gni.net [130.81.34.80
    ]
     4    30 ms    30 ms    29 ms  so-6-0-0-0.PEER-RTR1.SEA81.verizon-gni.net [130.
    81.17.137]
     5    30 ms    29 ms    29 ms  0.so-7-0-0.XT2.SEA1.ALTER.NET [152.63.104.49]
     6    30 ms    29 ms    29 ms  POS7-0.BR1.SEA1.ALTER.NET [152.63.105.21]
     7    30 ms    29 ms    29 ms  192.205.33.121
     8   103 ms   103 ms   103 ms  12.122.86.46
     9   104 ms   104 ms   104 ms  tbr2.cgcil.ip.att.net [12.122.10.61]
    10   114 ms   101 ms   102 ms  tbr2.sl9mo.ip.att.net [12.122.10.46]
    11   116 ms   103 ms   104 ms  tbr2.attga.ip.att.net [12.122.10.137]
    12    97 ms    97 ms    97 ms  12.122.96.73
    13   110 ms   110 ms   110 ms  12.86.87.10
    14   113 ms   113 ms   113 ms  te-9-1-ur02.blairblvd.tn.nash.comcast.net [68.86
    ..148.10]
    15   113 ms   113 ms   120 ms  te-9-1-ur01.blairblvd.tn.nash.comcast.net [68.86
    ..148.42]
    16   113 ms   113 ms     *     te-9-1-ur01.hicksrd.tn.nash.comcast.net [68.86.1
    48.106]
    17   114 ms   120 ms   114 ms  te-9-1-ur01.dickson.tn.nash.comcast.net [68.86.1
    48.70]
    18   114 ms   114 ms   114 ms  68.86.150.50
    19     *        *        *     Request timed out.
    20     *        *        *     Request timed out.
    21     *        *        *     Request timed out.
    22     *        *        *     Request timed out.
    23     *        *        *     Request timed out.
    24     *        *        *     Request timed out.
    25     *        *        *     Request timed out.
    26     *        *        *     Request timed out.
    27     *        *        *     Request timed out.
    28     *

  11. #11
    BHKai is offline -= Undercover TeamSpeak Fanatic =-
    Join Date
    January 2007
    Location
    LA
    Posts
    4,576
    As you can see the ping increases then at 68.86.150.50 it dies. They do have a good connection to get to the server. That is the problem with verizon likes to hop from one place to another, geographically speaking.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    January 2007
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    10
    So there's not really anything I can do to fix it? It's just her connection then? And by the way, thanks for the replies

  13. #13
    Join Date
    December 2004
    Location
    RF
    Posts
    3,007
    As You stated in Your request, "The test site shows that I'm accessible through the UDP".
    That's all what You need to know about Your server.
    If test site can connect to You, but others can't - it mostly their problem.
    I.e. firewall setup or wrong address:port entered.

  14. #14
    BHKai is offline -= Undercover TeamSpeak Fanatic =-
    Join Date
    January 2007
    Location
    LA
    Posts
    4,576
    Quote Originally Posted by Quedari View Post
    So there's not really anything I can do to fix it? It's just her connection then? And by the way, thanks for the replies
    Just her connection. No way to really make her connection take another route.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    December 2004
    Location
    RF
    Posts
    3,007
    Quote Originally Posted by twiztid420 View Post
    Does not work:
    [ ] You can see HTTP interface by entering

    http://localhost:8767

    in Your webbrowser.

    [ ] You can connect to TCP query port by starting telnet.exe and entering

    open localhost 8767
    Does Work:
    [X] You can connect to TS server at address

    localhost:<Server Port>


    Her are out puts requested.

    http://i142.photobucket.com/albums/r.../serverini.jpg
    http://i142.photobucket.com/albums/r...TS/netstat.jpg
    According to Your server.ini:
    Your <HTTPServer Port> is 14534
    Your <TCPQueryPort> is 51234

    Thank You for Your question. Checklist now corrected.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Whispering AND 3D Sound? Common way?
    By KEMBL in forum General Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: November 10th, 2015, 12:10 PM
  2. [Resolved] TS3 Server Crash (common\parameter\parameterparser.cpp:252)
    By Eiki87 in forum Bug Reports [EN/DE]
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: August 1st, 2015, 12:15 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •