Forum


Notice to all users

We are migrating towards a new forum system located at community.teamspeak.com, as such this forum will become read-only on January 29, 2020

Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Join Date
    February 2008
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    1

    Exclamation aoss teamspeak, wrapper fails

    Cant get Teamspeak to output or input any sound using the aoss wrapper.

    [email protected]:~$ lspci | grep audio
    00:13.0 Multimedia audio controller: nVidia Corporation MCP04 AC'97 Audio Controller (rev a1)

    [email protected]:~$ cat /proc/asound/cards
    0 [MCP04 ]: NFORCE - NVidia MCP04
    NVidia MCP04 with ALC850 at irq 18
    1 [U0x4710x311 ]: USB-Audio - USB Device 0x471:0x311
    USB Device 0x471:0x311 at usb-0000:00:0b.1-3, full speed


    [email protected]:~$ cat /proc/asound/devices
    0: [ 0] : control
    1: : sequencer
    16: [ 0- 0]: digital audio playback
    18: [ 0- 2]: digital audio playback
    24: [ 0- 0]: digital audio capture
    25: [ 0- 1]: digital audio capture
    32: [ 1] : control
    33: : timer
    56: [ 1- 0]: digital audio capture



    i have two sound devices one for output and one for input, now ive mapped these in .asoundrc.

    pcm.MCP {
    type hw
    card 0
    }

    pcm.USB {
    type hw
    card 1
    }

    pcm.dsp {
    type asym

    playback.pcm "MCP"
    capture.pcm "USB"
    }

    pcm.!default{
    type plug
    slave.pcm "dsp"
    }

    which sets the default device using card0 as output device and card1 as input device.

    and according to man aoss:

    In the above configuration examples, the pcm.dsp0 definition is used to wrap calls do /dev/dsp0. You can also wrap usage of /dev/dsp1, /dev/dsp2, etc. by defining pcm.dsp1, pcm.dsp2, etc..

    my configuration should give me the correct output and input when invoking the command "aoss teamspeak". But this is not the case, i dont get any sound at all, alltough i do see green icon on my user, but not any transmitting light.

    any suggestions would be appreciated.

    i do however get output sound without the wrapper, but no input sound from my mic as expected.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    February 2009
    Location
    Santiago de Chile
    Posts
    2
    hi body, u try with aoss teamspeak and inside teamspeak you change /dev/dsp with /dev/audio?


    thats all...



    i find that and my TS works... but with a quality of the hell!!! XD

    but i can hear my game, music and use the TS...poorly bad something is something... when ventrilo get the Linux version working i going use that :P

  3. #3
    Join Date
    October 2006
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    37
    Same quality here.
    You know Mumble already works, don't you? Even with encryption!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    September 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    8
    It's generally just easier to run Teamspeak in wine, since wine doesn't use the oss device for sound.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. I need some help about Teamspeak 3 Service Wrapper
    By Barrybe in forum Tools / Web Based
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: June 2nd, 2016, 11:56 PM
  2. need Help with Teamspeak 3 Service Wrapper
    By Sir Lenny in forum Tools / Web Based
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: April 19th, 2013, 11:44 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •