Forum


Notice to all users

We are migrating towards a new forum system located at community.teamspeak.com, as such this forum will become read-only on January 29, 2020

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Join Date
    September 2007
    Location
    Szczecin / Poland / EU
    Posts
    19

    Exclamation Speex: Encoding complexity, VBR and mono/stereo setting

    Greetings,

    Which "Encoding complexity" is selected by default? There is no option to change this via TS.

    Can 7.25KiB/s (maximum bitrate for Speex in TS3) be raised ? I think not, since official Speex limit is 44kbps, but I ask anyway...

    Does TS3 use stereo for speex? Stereo and mono signals have (almost) same sizes and identical quality for me. Anyway, it will be great to play with these settings in TS3 and find any differences.

    VBR option causes (with Q=10 and C=10) speech files to achieve... smaller sizes than ABR. Strange but true. It happens especially for 16KHz, and a little for 32KHz. I used Speexdrop "V. 0.0.8 - Speex 1.2rc1 - ICL 9.0 compile - - By John33." from: http://www.rarewares.org/others.php

    For Q=5 VBR causes fluctuations of stream size (small ones IMO), but filesize is almost the same (VBR little smaller).

    Author of Speex says "(...)VBR can achive lower bit-rate for the same quality, or a better quality for a certain bit-rate(...)".

    So, how about enabling to users - currently public beta-testers - complexity changing, mono/stereo setting and VBR mode (I assume, that TS3 uses ABR currently) ?

    Peter

  2. #2
    Join Date
    September 2007
    Location
    Szczecin / Poland / EU
    Posts
    19
    Hey, why are you still using Speex 1.2beta3, not 1.2rc1?

    http://speex.org/downloads/

  3. #3
    Join Date
    July 2002
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,191
    Hey,

    there are many options in speex, most of which are for specialised
    scenarios. TeamSpeak3 only offers options that make sense to be
    changed, not every option possible, as this would confuse the user,
    cause problems when "bad" values are chosen out of ignorance and
    also give no benefit.

    > Encoding complexity
    Is not configurable intentionally, we had it configurable in early alpha builds,
    but noticed a good default value would be better than confusing a user with
    an option that has nearly zero affect on quality, and can cause quite a hit
    in CPU usage.

    > Can 7.25KiB/s (maximum bitrate for Speex in TS3) be raised ? I think not, since official Speex limit is 44kbps, but I ask anyway...

    Raising bitrates is always possible, but not always sensible. As long as the other parameters (e.g. 16 kHz, 16 bit) stay the same, the bitrate only controls how much "artefacts" the encoding creates, I personally can not hear the difference even between quality 9 and 10, on a very expensive audio setup, no point in having e.g. 11

    > Does TS3 use stereo for speex?
    No, nobody has stereo microphones, so it doesn't make all that much sense.

    > VBR
    I know what it is, and it is not what we think is best suited for the teamspeak users needs. From a client
    perspective you do not want your game to lag, which it does say if you go over X bytes/sec. Using
    a variable bitrate, that might most of the time be belog X bytes/sec (no lag in game) but *sometimes* goes above this value is NOT what the user wants.

    > So, how about enabling to users - currently public beta-testers - complexity changing,
    > mono/stereo setting and VBR mode (I assume, that TS3 uses ABR currently) ?
    stereo maybe sometime in the future, but no promises, no to everything else.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    November 2009
    Location
    Czech Republic
    Posts
    6
    Why not make one super quality option codec?
    If we hawe 100/100Mbit server connectivity.. and client is on 8Mbit why we are limited to hear "computer voices" of friends ?

    I agree with opinion about stereo.. we dont need stereo

    But if TS server is low populated and CPU and connection is ok.. why you still limit us in quality? Leave server administrators to make choice.. how to setup codecs.

    We need 3 class setup. 1- for bad internet connection 2- optional 3- realy high quality...

    TS3 offers only 1 and 2. (and something between)

    Thx

  5. #5
    Join Date
    September 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    26
    Quote Originally Posted by kosac View Post
    Why not make one super quality option codec?
    If we hawe 100/100Mbit server connectivity.. and client is on 8Mbit why we are limited to hear "computer voices" of friends ?

    I agree with opinion about stereo.. we dont need stereo

    But if TS server is low populated and CPU and connection is ok.. why you still limit us in quality? Leave server administrators to make choice.. how to setup codecs.

    We need 3 class setup. 1- for bad internet connection 2- optional 3- realy high quality...

    TS3 offers only 1 and 2. (and something between)

    Thx
    It's the "remove background noise" that makes it sound "computer voice" - Uncheck that option in Settings -> Options -> Capture -> Advanced Options

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. [Rejected] Have the option to mix stereo input to mono
    By JamEngulfer in forum Suggestions and Feedback
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: September 13th, 2015, 01:03 PM
  2. Which Codecs are mono and stereo?
    By Tomasz Dulak in forum General Questions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: November 9th, 2014, 02:29 PM
  3. [Resolved] Multiple Encoding bug
    By willy_sunny in forum Bug Reports [EN/DE]
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: August 18th, 2011, 02:55 PM
  4. Sql password encoding
    By Syam_ in forum Server Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: February 4th, 2010, 05:16 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •