Forum

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20
  1. #1
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5

    TCP transfer for voice?

    All,

    Loving the product so far, just thought I'd throw my 2 cents out.

    I come from a background of using Ventrilo mostly due to sound quality. While Teamspeak is now using quality codecs I'd love to see an *option* to use TCP instead of UDP for voice transfer.

    I have a feeling that the "robotic/crystalize" sound that sometimes occurs is because the UDP packets are lost or arrive out of sequence. UDP obviously favors speed of delivery, but it would be nice for the users who crave premium quality to have TCP as an option.

    Thanks for your time.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    June 2002
    Location
    Krün / Germany
    Posts
    1,638
    Edit by mod
    It's not planned to add TCP support for voice.

    Any following posts (2009 - 2014) from TeamSpeak are outdated.
    Last edited by dante696; June 20th, 2016 at 08:38 AM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5
    That's wonderful! Here I thought I was making some outlandish request that might require a major code overhaul. I can understand the priority as there are a lot more high priory issues to be resolved yet.

    Cheers!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    June 2002
    Location
    Krün / Germany
    Posts
    1,638
    nah we prepared already something for that... its just something we dont wanted for the beta.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Cottbus, Germany
    Posts
    25
    TCP would be great indeed. not because of the quality (lost packets should not be a too big issue on modern networks) but because of users behind ssl or socks proxies (universities, schools etc.) that don't support udp (i know socks 5 does... but not always).

  6. #6
    Join Date
    September 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2

    Use TCP for voice from a client

    I have seen references around the net to a new feature in ts3 allowing the use of tcp for all traffic to the server including voip, I would like to figure out how to use this to get it through my tcp forwarding to bypass restrictive firewalls (one of which I am often behind). Does anyone know how to tell the client to use this new feature?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    17,933
    Maybe TCP will be included after the final release of the clinet.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    September 2011
    Location
    D.C USA
    Posts
    29

    TS3, how to make it use only TCP and not UDP

    Is there a way to do this, "to make TS3 use only TCP and not UDP?"

    *** Thread Merged ***
    Last edited by florian_fr40; September 10th, 2011 at 05:54 PM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    September 2011
    Posts
    1

    TCP Only mode (Debian)

    Let me start off by saying, I love TS3 - its been working wonderfully.

    I have recently blocked ALL udp traffic/fragments at the switch level of my datacenter. Hence I can only have TCP packets being transmitted.

    Is it possible to have TS3 run in a TCP only mode for voice? I know mumble has this ability if UDP is being blocked but I've been searching and haven't found a method to place TS3 in this same mode.

    Thanks for any help, I appreciate it

    *** Thread Merged ***
    Last edited by florian_fr40; September 18th, 2011 at 09:35 AM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    November 2013
    Posts
    13
    yes add tcp voice support is a good idea ...

  11. #11
    Join Date
    September 2012
    Posts
    132
    Actually it is not.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    June 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,335
    Could you provide any reason? It's just an optionm, you don't have to use it.

    I like the idea of TCP option as I don't want to have a Ventrilo running on my server just to talk to people that have EDGE.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    September 2012
    Posts
    132
    Because this is a voice chat. If you lose a packet during transmission, chances are that still understand the person you are talking too.

    Also it is faster, because you don't need a ACK-Packet after each packet sent.

    EDGE has imho nothing to do with it. Bandwith is still low, latency is still bad.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    November 2013
    Posts
    13
    TCP over voice should be a good idea . this will be more easy for fix DDOS .

  15. #15
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    17,933
    Quote Originally Posted by tictac7 View Post
    TCP over voice should be a good idea . this will be more easy for fix DDOS .
    Definitly 2 topics and will not fix a DDOS.

    This feature is not planned anymore
    When sending me private messages: Please make sure to include reference link to your forum thread or post.

    TeamSpeak FAQ || What should i report, when i open a client thread?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Voice and File Transfer IP's are Different
    By Hazell in forum Windows
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: October 13th, 2015, 11:39 AM
  2. Replies: 11
    Last Post: May 5th, 2014, 03:02 PM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: November 27th, 2012, 10:42 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •