Forum

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19
  1. #1
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    439

    [Solved] clientedit: nickname

    The ServerQuery documentation lists client_nickname as changable.

    When using clientedit the following happens:
    clientedit clid=3 CLIENT_NICKNAME=Test
    error id=0 msg=ok

    But the nickname is not changed.

    There seems to be also an inconsistency between lower and upper case properties. "client_description" works, but "client_nickname" shows:
    error id=1538 msg=invalid\sparameter

  2. #2
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    439
    Bug can be reproduced in beta 5 too.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    439
    Reproducible in beta 9

  4. #4
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    439
    changed behaviour in beta 12, but still not working:

    clientedit clid=3 CLIENT_NICKNAME=Test
    error id=1538 msg=invalid\sparameter

    clientedit clid=8 client_nickname=Test
    error id=1538 msg=invalid\sparameter

  5. #5
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    439
    Will this be implemented? Changing nickname would be a nice feature together with the new auth options as I could force my users to have a specific name.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    August 2009
    Location
    Across the street
    Posts
    216
    Code:
    error id=512 msg=invalid\sclientID  (50 ms)
    Total: 92 ms
    That is what I get when I try... and I know it's a valid clientID, so I don't know.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    June 2002
    Location
    Krün / Germany
    Posts
    1,638
    use clientupdate command

  8. #8
    Join Date
    August 2009
    Location
    Across the street
    Posts
    216
    Quote Originally Posted by R. Ludwig View Post
    use clientupdate command
    Well.... hehehe, that works.

    Thanks!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    August 2009
    Location
    Across the street
    Posts
    216
    Okay, no, take that back. It does not work.

    Code:
    clientupdate clid=3 CLIENT_NICKNAME=TemporaryNick
    error id=0 msg=ok  (40 ms)
    It comes back error-free, but no change is made when attempting to edit a clients nickname.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    439
    Quote Originally Posted by R. Ludwig View Post
    use clientupdate command
    clientupdate is for the current server query client only. I was talking about clientedit.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    August 2009
    Location
    Across the street
    Posts
    216
    Why was this changed to "solved" when it obviously is not?

    Unless the OP solved the issue and did not post it here.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    439
    No, I did not solve the problem

  13. #13
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    18,396
    With clientedit you can change Client description and flag talker.
    You only can change the name of your own Query.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    February 2010
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    2

    Change a client's nickname

    I want to know how to change a client's nickname through the ServerQuery (the exact command to type). I'm able to log into the serveradmin, and I'm able to change the description of anyone on the server. However, the client_nickname part always comes up as an error.

    I've tried searching the forums, nothing came up. Thanks in advance.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    US
    Posts
    18
    I don't see client_nickname as a serverquery option...

    Do you have access to the sql database file ts3server.sqlitedb? If yes, than you can use SQL databse manager to modify the client nickname under the clients table...

    I use the SQLite Manager addon in FireFox, it works very nicely for this...

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. [solved] Change nickname via serverquery
    By Air SeaTac in forum Permission System
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: July 18th, 2010, 03:00 PM
  2. [solved] fix phonetic nickname for unique ID
    By Skorga in forum General Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: June 30th, 2010, 03:52 PM
  3. [Solved] View nickname history?
    By Air SeaTac in forum General Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: June 22nd, 2010, 01:01 PM
  4. [Solved] Phonetic Nickname
    By Me.Greedy in forum General Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: March 6th, 2010, 01:07 AM
  5. [Solved] Nickname change
    By Sigi[CH] in forum Windows
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: February 17th, 2010, 11:42 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •