Forum

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    United states
    Posts
    1

    Phonetic nickname

    Can someone tell me how exactly to get this to work please. Beta 6 now running here and have set the nickname correctly. Sounds good on the play button as well. However , when i , or anyone else joins or leaves it either says "buddy" or "user". Isnt it suppose to speak the name that was entered in the phonetic box at these points ?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Hungary
    Posts
    162
    Switch to the Test to speech sound package.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3
    Hi I've the Text to Speech Soundpack active and in my Server I Edited the phonetic Name of some Channels to Test the Mode.

    At first it works fine Software reads the name and gives it our as sound but after a few switches or editings it doesnts works anymore.

    regardless which channel I join or edit.

    If I disconnect an reconnect it works again for a few times.

    I hope this is just a bug from Beta an will work properly in full version...

    additionally I hope there comes a german version of the soundpackage because currently it just redognises english or reads german words in english ^^ sounds crazy

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    172
    Yes its a bug and Ludwig said they would look into it... hopefully it gets resolved soon because I really like the feature.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3
    yes its really a nice function just some little improvements and i think its perfect.

    the reading is good because you can switch channels with keystroke in gmae and know where you are ^^

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    172
    Yea I love it... now all we need is something to do Voice Commands so we can press a key and say "Switch to channel AFK" and then we get moved

    Heck... shame something can't be developed like this, because then we might see something like Press Voice Command -> "Find User GutterMan" -> Switched to channel that user GutterMan is in.

    Now that would really rock!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3
    just like in game "Supreme Commander" I think where you can give voice commands to move your units ^^

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    172
    Really??? I have SupCom and Forged Allience... gonna have to look into that now

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Phonetic Nickname
    By miredom in forum General Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: June 7th, 2014, 09:38 PM
  2. Phonetic Nickname ? Avatar ?
    By poupis in forum General Questions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: August 26th, 2013, 08:50 PM
  3. phonetic nickname
    By spikevolley in forum General Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: February 23rd, 2010, 03:16 PM
  4. limit phonetic nickname
    By the damned in forum Client Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: January 26th, 2010, 07:28 PM
  5. Channel Phonetic Nickname
    By Pandalink in forum Client Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: December 21st, 2009, 03:13 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •