Forum


Notice to all users

We are migrating towards a new forum system located at community.teamspeak.com, as such this forum will become read-only on January 29, 2020

Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1

    TS2 Mysql to TS3 Mysql

    Anyone know how to convert the databases over?

    I don't really want to ask the 9000 registered members to do it over

  2. #2
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    10
    I believe it has been stated many times that this is not doable.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    April 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    75
    Is this still the case??

    I have so many user accounts and channels

  4. #4
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    9
    TS2 is not transferable to TS3

  5. #5
    Join Date
    January 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    28
    Yes, it's a completely different system, so no chance to migrate your old user database.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    December 2004
    Location
    RF
    Posts
    3,008
    Quote Originally Posted by Spaldo View Post
    Is this still the case??

    I have so many user accounts and channels
    It's not "still", it just simple as that.
    TS3 do not have "user accounts" in the way you thinking about them.
    Channels, however, could be ported, but considering the wast improvement of channel system in TS3, I'm sure you'll want to make your own channel family more robust, and in that case, it's easier to start from scratch.
    Last edited by ANR Daemon; January 2nd, 2010 at 04:01 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    April 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    75
    The user accounts are not a great issue for me, it is more the channels actually.

    I run a large gaming network and have a vast amount of channels & sub-channels.

    If anyone is aware of a way to convert the channel system open I would love to know how to give it a go.

    Thanks.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    58
    It would be smarter and probably easier to start from scratch.

    It doesn't take long, especially if you get another person to help.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    April 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    75
    Quote Originally Posted by Malivil View Post
    It would be smarter and probably easier to start from scratch.

    It doesn't take long, especially if you get another person to help.
    I guess with most people I would agree... It may be smarter, but, definately not easier with the server I run.

    With about 410 channels and 300 sub-channels, all customised for one of the largest gaming comminities in Australia, that may be easier said than done.

    All the channel requests need to go via a support system, which means taking, actioning, commenting & replying to tickets each per channel & sub-channel this task would be massive.

    I appreciate your comment, but, if there is a way out to there to convert my channel base, I would very much prefer taking it.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    April 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    98
    I think it's possible. Maybe we could get in touch...

    You got ICQ/Windows Live Messenger (MSN)/Skype? Just contact me via pm for getting added.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    745
    my only suggestion would be to get 10-15 people to help you.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    January 2010
    Location
    DK
    Posts
    31
    Just open the new SQLite database and the old, and start moving the datasets manually (not copy/paste, but with queries).

    It is also an opportunity to move to MySQL - http://forum.teamspeak.com/showthread.php?t=47917

  13. #13
    Join Date
    April 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    98
    Oh, that must be quite annoying xD Manually migrating projects is a sh*t of work...

    I wanted to do this with a combination of MySQL and PHP, so everything we manage to migrate will be available for others in future. I just still have no database so I can not start working on it...

  14. #14
    Join Date
    December 2004
    Location
    RF
    Posts
    3,008
    There's no rush in moving to TS3, I understand it right?
    Then, just do the work. By the time you finish it, there's will be much more stable version of TS.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    66
    Migrating TS2 channels to TS3 is possible. It could work like this:
    - connect to TS2 server per telnet
    - get the Channellist (via "cl")
    - parse a Channel Tree with all related data
    - connect to TS3 ServerQuery
    - loop through the TS2 channel tree and create the channels and add the data

    This could be done completely automated or half-manual in a multi-step process (for one server the latter would be the easier option), and shouldn't be too hard (parsing a TS2 channel tree is very easy, given that there are only two possible levels).

    If you need help with the process I could help you.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. [Resolved] Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket '/var/lib/mysql/mysql.sock'
    By Svenskunganka in forum Server Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: September 12th, 2013, 10:59 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •