Forum

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 42
  1. #1
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2

    Solved Recording skips silence & cont. transmission

    Hi there,

    I got a little problem with my TS3 Client.
    Yesterday I recorded some of our CS 1.6 sessions with TS3.

    In TS2, the records were all in real-time. That means: if there was silence in TS, there was silence on the record.
    Now TS3 kills all the gaps between two messages. Now it sounds like a flood of words.
    But I do want these breaks!
    Cause we record our wars in CStrike and we wanted to overlay the TS3 records with the CStrike records to make some funny movies .
    But now this is impossible....
    Is there any chance to get the breaks/gaps back?

    Kind regards
    ethra

  2. #2
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2
    Lets update to get some answers - please .

  3. #3
    Join Date
    November 2008
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    1,719
    As of right now, no it's not possible to get the gaps/breaks back. This might or might not change. I don't think it'll change during the beta, but perhaps in the future. However, i am not a dev, so all i say is speculation.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    January 2010
    Location
    finland
    Posts
    5

    Recording skips silent parts

    I'm not sure if I'm mad or what, but I just recorded a few hours of raid with TS3, and all the speech was packed so that there were no quiet moments. If the TS was silent for 3 minutes, it didn't show in the recording. The last and the next speech were adjacent no matter the pause between them. The video I record runs 1:1 realtime, but the TS recording jumps silence gaps.
    This makes it utterly impossible to make raid fights with live teamspeak chat behind them.

    Is there any way to disable this? I could not find one, or is there something wrong with my client.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    439
    This is a feature that can't be disabled (at the moment).

  6. #6
    Join Date
    January 2010
    Location
    finland
    Posts
    5
    Ok.

    It's just so... what?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    January 2010
    Location
    finland
    Posts
    5
    I updated to the latest version, this problem still persists. Any ideas if/when this will be fixed?

    To be honest, seems kind of odd to create feature to skip silent parts. Wouldn't it be easier just to record everything and when nothing is heard just add silence?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    November 2008
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    1,719
    depends how you use it. Some people enjoy the silent parts being skipped so they don't have to go through and edit out all the silent parts. Some people want the silent parts.

    I wouldn't expect this to change anytime soon. Perhaps after things settle down.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    January 2010
    Location
    finland
    Posts
    5
    Well that's even more odd. I kinda thought a solid timeline is a very important thing. I mean teamspeak is used frequently as a medium for recording multiplayer fights, races, raids and whatnot, and I'd think the same thing is very often also captured on video.
    Now, having a 1:1 videotrack of a race or a raid, and a voicetrack that is utterly impossible to lay over the actual video is just ... I'm loss for words.

    I would have understood this as a feature you could snap on, like in a voice conversation, an interview or a forum chat.

    Isn't there any way somebody could take this up on their task list to fix? I would bet good money that making this feature was more time consuming than to actually just record everything as it comes out.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    July 2002
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,192
    Quote Originally Posted by acdarc View Post
    I would bet good money that making this feature was more time consuming than to actually just record everything as it comes out.
    I would take that bet. Ok that wouldn't be fair, because I know I would win . Beefing up the recording feature with a few things is on our todo, but we still have more important stuff to do before we can go there.
    You think my answer is stupid ? Read This:
    http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-...ons.html#intro

    In a world without fences and walls - who needs windows and gates ?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    January 2010
    Location
    finland
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by Peter View Post
    Beefing up the recording feature with a few things is on our todo, but we still have more important stuff to do before we can go there.
    What could be more important than a random rant of a nobody in a developers forum! I demand justice! I demand action!

    Okay sarcasm aside, if this feature (or lack of it?) is really on the todo-list, I'm happy.

    Thanks for the great software in any case .

    ~/A

  12. #12
    Join Date
    March 2010
    Location
    world
    Posts
    6
    I agree with acdarc, this function is very necessary.
    It is not known, when it is planned to make?

    Many thanks for your program.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1

    Continuous Recording

    With Ts2, we liked to capture ingame videos with fraps and later mix it together with the voices from the audio file captured with teamspeak + some music. Ts3 only records if somebody talks, so it is impossible to synchronize the files any more.
    Would it be possible to insert another recording mode like the one in ts2?

    Thx in advance!

  14. #14
    Join Date
    November 2008
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    1,719
    This has been suggested before and i do believe it will be inserted as a recording option but it is low priority at the moment.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    April 2010
    Location
    Daytona Beach, Florida
    Posts
    69
    Easy work around, have one of your members use continuous transmission while you are playing in game, maybe the one that is making the recording in the first place.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Recording skips silence & cont. transmission
    By ethra in forum Bug Reports [EN/DE]
    Replies: 36
    Last Post: March 1st, 2011, 03:43 PM
  2. Recording requires transmission pause
    By ranko_6 in forum Bug Reports [EN/DE]
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: August 17th, 2010, 07:53 AM
  3. Recording skips silent parts
    By acdarc in forum Client Support
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: August 12th, 2010, 06:39 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •