Forum

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    10

    Solved [Fixed] Welcomemessage with multiple lines

    Hi folks,

    i'm wondering if it is possible to make some multiline welcomemessages like that:

    ****** Welcome on server xyz *****
    Here are some information about the server or something
    maybe a link or two
    Admin email-addy
    *****************************


    I know that BBCodes can be used but there isn't a code to make a 'newline'.
    Everything in the welcome message is written in one long single line.

    It would be nice if that behaior can be fixed.

    Thanks
    Last edited by Sammy83; December 30th, 2009 at 03:32 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,354
    This would be great.

    As an addition to this, it would be great if the welcome message would be shown after the (channel count * Channel "XYZ" was subscribed) messages.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    March 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    50
    Quote Originally Posted by Sammy83 View Post
    Hi folks,

    i'm wondering if it is possible to make some multiline welcomemessages like that:

    ****** Welcome on server xyz *****
    Here are some information about the server or some thing
    maybe a link or two
    Admin email-addy
    *****************************


    I know that BBCodes can be used but there isn't a code to make a 'newline'.
    Everything in the welcome message is written in one long single line.

    It would be nice if that behaior can be fixed.

    Thanks
    reading manuals are gooooood :P
    Attachment 2122

  4. #4
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    10
    It would be but the slash commands are ignored in welcome messages.
    Maybe it is possible to set the welcomemessage through serverquery that way.
    I'll try it but i think it should also be possible to do that by simply typing it in the client.

    Update:
    I tried it with the server query and escape chars but still no new lines

    Code:
    login serveradmin **********
    use 3
    serveredit virtualserver_welcomemessage=Welcome\r\nNew\sLine
    Result
    Code:
    virtualserver_unique_identifier=******** virtualserver_name=****************
    virtualserver_welcomemessage=WelcomeNew\sLine virtualserver_platform=Linux virtualserver_version=3.0.0-beta11\s[Build:\s9559]
    As you can see the \r or \n was ignored and deleted.
    Last edited by Sammy83; December 30th, 2009 at 02:13 PM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    10
    Till now i tried the escape charset and BBCodes. None of them are working for a new line.
    Is it possible that there are only one line messages allowed?

    It would be nice if it can be fixed.
    Last edited by Sammy83; December 30th, 2009 at 07:08 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,354
    Quote Originally Posted by Sammy83 View Post
    Is it possible that there are only online messages allowed?
    At the moment it seems only one line is possible. Would be nice if this would change in the future . The right textarea are already there in the virtual server options, who knows .

  7. #7
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    33

    Lightbulb workaround

    I did this by directly entering my multiline welcome message into the sqlite database.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    10
    I'm using a mysql DB. I've tried to insert it by hand but i still get one single line.
    Can you please post you welcomemessage code here?

    I can't figure it out


    Update
    I got it but that workaround isn't that comfortable
    I hope that the devs will change that in the near future

    Here is what i have done:

    Code:
    UPDATE `server_properties` SET `server_id` = '1',
    `id` = '1',
    `value` = 'This is the first row\nThis is the second row\nThis is the third row' WHERE `server_id` =1 AND `id` =1 AND CONVERT( `ident` USING utf8 ) = 'virtualserver_welcomemessage' LIMIT 1;
    Result

    Code:
    This is the first row
    This is the second row
    This is the third row

    This is the code for MySQL NOT for sqlite!
    Last edited by Sammy83; December 30th, 2009 at 11:50 PM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    June 2010
    Location
    Holland
    Posts
    7
    is there already a fix for this because i tryed to do it. when i do right click on server name and then edit it but it still gives 1 line for me.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    18,237
    Thank you for bumping that report. I wrote it down into our bugtracker.

    Update
    This has been fixed in our upcoming client beta23.
    New lines from servers Welcome Message are now shown.
    Last edited by dante696; June 30th, 2010 at 08:01 AM.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. [On Todo] Null byte after each line in chat when multiple lines are copied
    By \x00NULL in forum Bug Reports [EN/DE]
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: November 14th, 2012, 08:28 AM
  2. Query send WelcomeMessage
    By Mr.Telo in forum General Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: June 26th, 2012, 12:50 PM
  3. [On Todo / solved / fixed?] multiple bugs regarding permissions
    By willy_sunny in forum Bug Reports [EN/DE]
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: November 10th, 2010, 11:07 AM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: July 9th, 2010, 08:21 AM
  5. [Fixed] I can open Teamspeak multiple times.
    By flowti00 in forum Bug Reports [EN/DE]
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: July 8th, 2010, 08:21 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •