Forum


Notice to all users

We are migrating towards a new forum system located at community.teamspeak.com, as such this forum will become read-only on January 29, 2020

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 35
  1. #1
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Taiwan
    Posts
    313

    The English Typo Thread

    Just while looking through the strings to translate, I've found serveral interesting typos (or was it)

    First of all, one of the most obvious one, is the one in the last step of the setup wizard, where it says "you can either add a new bookmakr entry"

    anyways, this thread is open for those who have found some grammar errors or typos that you've found while using the software

    location: ReadyPage (last page in the setup wizard)

    typos:

    "You have successfully completed the setup wizard. Your next step is to connect to a TeamSpeak 3 server and start talking! In case you don't know any servers, you can start with one of the public servers available in the bookmarks. If you already know the details to a TeamSpeak 3 server you wish to connect to, you can either add a new bookmakr entry (recommended if you want to visit this server more than once) or use Connections -> Connect to join the server."

    correction:

    "You have successfully completed the setup wizard. Your next step is to connect to a TeamSpeak 3 server and start talking! In case you don't know any servers, you can start with one of the public servers available in the bookmarks. If you already know the details to a TeamSpeak 3 server you wish to connect to, you can either add a new bookmark entry (recommended if you want to visit this server more than once) or use Connections -> Connect to join the server."

    location: captureSoundSetupDialog (the capture option in the options window)

    typo: db

    correction: dB (yes, I'm picky, bite me XD)
    Last edited by willy_sunny; January 9th, 2010 at 02:51 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Taiwan
    Posts
    313
    adding one more while translating ...

    Location: BanListDialog (when trying to deleting multiple selected bans)

    tyops:

    "Delete maked..."

    Correction:

    "Delete marked..." (or I guess selected is fine too)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Location
    Krün, Germany
    Posts
    510
    Good catch, fixed so far.

    Keep them coming.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Taiwan
    Posts
    313
    Here comes another one.

    Location: HotkeyMsgDialog

    typo: Please choose an other Hotkey.

    Correction: Please choose another Hotkey.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    439
    The example for clientinfo in the query doc says "cid" instead of "clid"

  6. #6
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Taiwan
    Posts
    313
    Yay, so excited with Beta12 Translation file, so I can report more

    Location: ServerView

    typo: <p>The client version is outdated.</p>Do you want to check for updates now?</p>

    Correction:
    <p>The client version is outdated.</p><p>Do you want to check for updates now?</p>

    or

    <p>The client version is outdated.<br>Do you want to check for updates now?</p>

    Just so that the tags cloes properly.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Taiwan
    Posts
    313
    Alright, this is more of a "question" instead of typo

    Location: VirturalServerEditDialog

    Line in question: <p>You selected a permanent group as default.</p><p style="color:red;">Be careful, all users will be removed from this group!</p>

    Question:
    1. What does it mean by that? Since I've tried to trigger the quote, and when I apply the changes, true, the users that is originally in the group is gone (since that's the default now), but once I changed the default group to another group again, the users that were originally on the list is still there. So ... I think the warning should be re-written or something?

    2. Instead of saying "all users will be removed from this group", wouldn't "all existing users on the selected group will be removed", since by using "this" could mean the original group or the new group selected.

    3. When using default group, it will remove that group's permement permission (b_group_is_permement), I think that should be the warning.

    Suggested new phrase:

    <p>You have selected a permanent group as default.</p><p style="color:red;">Be careful, all existing users in the selected group will be removed temporarily until default group is changed to another group!</p>

  8. #8
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Taiwan
    Posts
    313
    Descriptive Error:

    Location: ServerView

    Line: Connection failed: <b>Channel maximum clients reached</b>.<br />Would you like to join the default channel instead?

    Correction: Connection failed: <b>Channel maximum clients reached</b>.<br />Would you like to join the Server's default channel instead?

    because both are written as default channel, just so that it can reduce some confusion

  9. #9
    Join Date
    January 2010
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    50
    <16:29:11> Trying to resolve hostname voice.teamspeak.com
    <16:29:11> Trying to connect to server on voice.teamspeak.com:9987
    <16:29:11> Connection failed because the server reached his maximum amount of clients
    <16:29:11> Failed to connect to server
    The server reached his maximum amount of clients?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Location
    Krün, Germany
    Posts
    510
    Thanks guys, adjusted so far.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Taiwan
    Posts
    313
    Catagory Error:

    Location:

    FileTransferTable

    Quote: %1 Queue "%2" - waiting

    Reason for correcting: I thought the "- waiting" should be split up? Just so that it fit in the %1 Queue "%2" %3 format?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Taiwan
    Posts
    313
    Consistency Error:

    Location: ServerGroupClientChange

    Quote: <p>You are about to change your own groups. If you leave a group, you might not get it back on your own!

    Error: should add </p> at the end for consistency

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Österreich
    Posts
    48
    Nice catch Willy,thanks for the support :-)

  14. #14
    Join Date
    January 2010
    Location
    New England USA / Marnbach, Weilheim i.OB, Germany
    Posts
    428
    In Settings->Options->Design, when you mouse.over several things such as the Expand Channels options this occurs: On the first two bubble selections the word logging as in 'logging in' is typed as 'loggin in'. It only says 'logging' for the last selection which is Expand own channels on login.

    I've read through most of the mouse.over things that pop up and they're inconsistent, a little sloppy. Doesn't bother me at all, I'd probably just make sure to clean it up before the final release!

  15. #15
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Taiwan
    Posts
    313
    I'd recommend that instead of Bookmarks -> Bookmarks

    The menu should represent something more meaningful like Bookmarks -> Manage Bookmarks

    or something like that

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. [Fixed] Small typo
    By Jordi in forum Bug Reports [EN/DE]
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: September 23rd, 2010, 11:22 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •