Forum

Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 81
  1. #16
    Join Date
    January 2010
    Location
    Catalunya
    Posts
    2,350
    This option already exists:
    Tools > Edit Virtual Server > More > Host > Host Message > Messsage Mode > Modal

  2. #17
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    florida
    Posts
    263
    big hint...

    do not set it to modal quit

  3. #18
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Eastern NC
    Posts
    1,798
    Quote Originally Posted by HHD_HELLBOUND View Post
    big hint...

    do not set it to modal quit
    LOL, you learn this from experience?

  4. #19
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    florida
    Posts
    263
    yes i did, but i learned how to change it both with server query and
    database editor.

  5. #20
    Join Date
    March 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    6
    edit by mod
    stupid comments removed here

    Hi,

    I think that's a big bug. Why is the serveradmin (me) also kicked? I don't want to reinstall everything, so please teach me Hellbound.
    Last edited by dante696; January 5th, 2011 at 01:34 PM.

  6. #21
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    18,151
    This is no bug!
    The person who set that via client ignored a red warning dialog!

    You can undo this only via ServerQuery .
    login as serveradmin (or with own aacc if you got one) into the query. Or ask your host to undo this.
    Code:
    Login serveradmin yourpasswordhere
    use 1
    serveredit VIRTUALSERVER_HOSTMESSAGE_MODE
    HostMessageMode_LOG = 1, // 1: display message in chatlog
    HostMessageMode_MODAL, // 2: display message in modal dialog
    HostMessageMode_MODALQUIT // 3: display message in modal dialog and close connection
    Last edited by dante696; October 22nd, 2018 at 07:12 AM.

  7. #22
    Join Date
    March 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    6
    There was no stupid comments. I have read the warning but there is no any information that the connection will be closed also for the server administration. This function is unnecessary in my opinion if an admin can't connect. What purpose does this function? I thought for maintenance :-/

    Think about it, that should be changed :-/

  8. #23
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Eastern NC
    Posts
    1,798
    It is intended to allow hosters to lock servers that are behind on payments. They can put a message that the server is behind on payment and will deleted on XX/XX date if not paid up. If the SA could still use the server with this message he would add all his friends to SA and use a service that is not paid for.

  9. #24
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    18,151
    Quote Originally Posted by Leon M View Post
    There was no stupid comments. I have read the warning but there is no any information that the connection will be closed also for the server administration. This function is unnecessary in my opinion if an admin can't connect. What purpose does this function? I thought for maintenance :-/

    Think about it, that should be changed :-/
    WTF WTF WTF WTF > are stupid comments!
    and there is a warning for this setting!
    Attachment 4429
    Trhis window appears as son, you just select the message mode.
    "No user" includes every user.

  10. #25
    Join Date
    March 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    6
    @Screech
    Thanks, that's a good example. Although the provider has other ways to disable the server.

    @dante696
    I wrote that I have read this warning. If a server admin can select this option, he should be able to disable easily this function on the server. I'm not a "user", I'm the "server administration" :-/

    So, this option should be able to activate only through the server query. I think I'm not alone with this issue. Doesn't matter I got the answer and could undo this setting. But I spend my time for searching.

    ;-)

  11. #26
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    18,151
    User = everyone who uses Teamspeak.
    Admin and guest is the status conencted with permissions you have on a server.

    Doesn't makes sense, when a hoster activates this mode, when someone didn't payed the bills and ServerAdmin or Query can connect and deactivate it again. Or when the ServerAdmin just grants other users admin to.

    This won't be deactivated or changed.

  12. #27
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Eastern NC
    Posts
    1,798
    Quote Originally Posted by Leon M View Post
    @Screech
    Thanks, that's a good example. Although the provider has other ways to disable the server.
    Does any other way allow the message as detailed as the modelquit? I know there are several ways to disable the server, but as best I can tell this is the only one that is 100% at stopping all logins and providing a detailed message as to why.

  13. #28
    Join Date
    January 2011
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by dante696 View Post
    This is no bug! Never ignore warnings :-/

    You can undo this.
    login as Serveradmin into the query
    Code:
    Login serveradmin yourpasswordhere
    use 1
    serveredit VIRTUALSERVER_HOSTMESSAGE_MODE
    HostMessageMode_LOG = 1, // 1: display message in chatlog
    HostMessageMode_MODAL, // 2: display message in modal dialog
    HostMessageMode_MODALQUIT // 3: display message in modal dialog and close connection
    Code:
    login serveradmin [password]
    use sid= [server id]
    servergroupaddclient sgid=2 cldbid= [you Database ID]

  14. #29
    Join Date
    September 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    39
    Quote Originally Posted by Dannym View Post
    Code:
    login serveradmin [password]
    use sid= [server id]
    servergroupaddclient sgid=2 cldbid= [you Database ID]
    This is pointless as you can't connect to the server anyways so you can't functionally use this method.
    Last edited by .:Paul:.; January 16th, 2011 at 02:24 AM.

  15. #30
    Join Date
    January 2010
    Location
    Secret Base in Arctic Region
    Posts
    1,671
    If you want to use ServerQuery within the client it wont work.
    But you can use tools like putty or telnet etc. to connect to ServerQuery, no whether if you set the Hostmessage-Mode.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Host Message (Show modal message) question.
    By hyprdmg in forum General Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: December 19th, 2016, 10:05 AM
  2. connect disconnect, host message
    By ketata13 in forum Android
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: August 12th, 2015, 08:01 AM
  3. [Rejected] ability to not show host message:MODAL based on a b_modal_ignore
    By Tomas in forum Suggestions and Feedback
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: November 15th, 2014, 08:36 AM
  4. [Not possible] Host message modal shown once only
    By PituPl in forum General Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: August 23rd, 2014, 11:18 AM
  5. Modal Message & Quit
    By littledave in forum Windows
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: December 30th, 2009, 09:19 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •