Forum

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Join Date
    January 2010
    Location
    earth
    Posts
    3

    Unhappy unable to set phonetic nickname [solved]

    soundpack is default text to speech.
    and when i click on self/set phonetic nickname i get this:



    os: win xp sp3 32bit
    ts client: 3 beta 9 build 9592

    where do i fail?
    Last edited by fx991ms; January 9th, 2010 at 06:06 PM. Reason: problem solved

  2. #2
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Taiwan
    Posts
    313
    possible guess - no text to speech was installed?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    January 2010
    Location
    earth
    Posts
    3

    Thumbs up

    bingo, that is where i fail.

    thanks, but i will not install tts, aka reinstall windows.
    (could not find a seperate tts download)

    but why do i have to have tts installed to set up a phonetic name in the frist place?
    i do not necessarily want it to be read to me, but others maybe want to hear how my name/tag is spelled.
    so why penalise others for my windows' lack of tts?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    January 2010
    Location
    illinois
    Posts
    3

    Unhappy re

    I've got a simalar prob, except when I start typing in the text field the text box turns red, the ok button is the only thing greyed out. Is this the same problem? no text to speech? if it is how do I get that?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Taiwan
    Posts
    313
    Quote Originally Posted by charlie991956 View Post
    I've got a simalar prob, except when I start typing in the text field the text box turns red, the ok button is the only thing greyed out. Is this the same problem? no text to speech? if it is how do I get that?
    as to your question, it's rather simple. I believe that you are not using the latest BETA (Beta9), where they fixed the tts so that it can read the whole string, instead of you typing each syllobal out.

    For exmple, in the latest beta, you can just type the name "WillySunny" and it'll read it to you, where as in the old beta, you'd probably enter something like "Wi li s on ni" or something like that before it can let you set it.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Phonetic Nickname
    By miredom in forum General Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: June 7th, 2014, 10:38 PM
  2. Unable to Override Phonetic Nickname in "Edit in Contacts"
    By Faelandaea in forum Client Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: August 5th, 2012, 12:21 PM
  3. phonetic nickname
    By spikevolley in forum General Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: February 23rd, 2010, 04:16 PM
  4. Phonetic nickname
    By viporpa in forum General Questions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: December 24th, 2009, 07:44 PM
  5. Channel Phonetic Nickname
    By Pandalink in forum Client Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: December 21st, 2009, 04:13 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •