Forum


Notice to all users

We are migrating towards a new forum system located at community.teamspeak.com, as such this forum will become read-only on January 29, 2020

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Join Date
    January 2010
    Location
    Closer than you think
    Posts
    3

    assign channel group

    I might be having the same issue as a post i just read but i'm unsure and i didn't want to spam another thread in case this is different.
    http://forum.teamspeak.com/showthread.php?t=49476



    I've created a Channel Group that i can assign to users simply by right clicking there name > Set Channel Group. Ok great they are part of that channel group now right!

    So now how do i assign that channel group to a set of channels? Example:

    -Default Channel (everyone goes here when connected)
    -Game channel 1 (group abc)
    -sub
    -sub
    -Game channel 2 (group xyz)
    -sub
    -sub

    So i want to right click user "John Doe" and set him to group "abc". He can now join "Game channel 1" and all subs but NOT Game channel 2.

    I add "Jane Doe" to the "xyz" group and same thing. She access Channel 2 and subs but not channel 1.

    I haven't found a way to set channel groups to actual channels, just users, which seems silly. Whats the point of setting a group for a user if you can't link it against channels.

    Void4ever

  2. #2
    Join Date
    October 2008
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    166
    If you assign a channel group inside a certain channel, that channel group will only apply in that channel. So just move the client to that channel, then set their group.

    FYI, the channel groups have a bug right now that has them not working properly.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    January 2010
    Location
    Closer than you think
    Posts
    3
    OK i see what your saying, any permissions i setup for abc will apply in channel 1 is thats where i set it. But that still doesn't keep them from going into channel 2 does it?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    October 2008
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    166
    First, keep in mind that due to the bug, this won't work. But the bug should be fixed in the next beta, and then it will.

    So, what you can do, is set it up like this:

    Server Group: i_channel_join_power (Remove Permission)
    Channel Permissions (for all Game channel 1 (and subs) and Game channel 2 (and subs)): i_needed_channel_join_power (Set to 10)
    Channel Group: i_channel_join_power (Set to 10)

    Once again, it won't work until the bug is fixed, hopefully with next beta.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    January 2010
    Location
    Closer than you think
    Posts
    3
    Alrighty i'll give this a try once we get the next beta. Thank you for your insight and help.

    Void4ever

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Auto-Assign Channel Group based on Server Group?
    By mish_poly in forum Permission System
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: June 7th, 2014, 09:37 PM
  2. Assign a channel to one group only?
    By JordanDoyle in forum Server Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: November 9th, 2013, 01:23 PM
  3. Can assign server group but not channel group
    By Morthawt in forum Permission System
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: January 17th, 2013, 01:08 PM
  4. Assign non-default channel group when user joins channel.
    By Morfi in forum Permission System
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: May 15th, 2010, 08:06 PM
  5. How To Assign a Group to a Channel
    By TrentonSODMG in forum Permission System
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: December 23rd, 2009, 05:32 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •