Forum

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Join Date
    July 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    11

    Red face How to integrate the SDK with .NET?

    I have been trying to access .NET from the plugin, but I wasn't able to yet. If I change the plugin to use .NET components it is not recognized anymore by TS3.

    Is there anyone with a solution out there that would provide some sample code?

    I have moved over to programming in C# instead of C++ years ago, and I would love to actually develop in C#... that would be just great. However, I can still work fine with C++ if I have access to maybe even managed C++.

    Seems like I lack the C++ skills to write a wrapper though. *sigh*

    BTW, it would be great if the SDK had a callback timer event that is configurable, so that plugins can update every X ms without creating their own thread.
    Last edited by skyflash_de; January 14th, 2010 at 11:43 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    September 2005
    Location
    Germany / Dortmund
    Posts
    1,369
    I have no idea of programming with C#, but perhaps there is missing some library needed by your plugin?
    If you have Dependency walker, check, if there is something missing.

    Any output in the clientlog?

    a callback timer event that is configurable, so that plugins can update every X ms without creating their own thread
    Some time ago, I requested the same feature. Sorry. but the developers won't add it.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    July 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by Thomas View Post
    I have no idea of programming with C#, but perhaps there is missing some library needed by your plugin?
    If you have Dependency walker, check, if there is something missing.
    Any output in the clientlog?
    I think it has to do with the plugin being in pure (unmanaged) C and the fact that I'd like to use managed C#. I am not able to get the server to work with any plugin other than in C, and I am having extreme troubles to build a bridge.

    Perfect would be a sample where a plugin creates a .NET dialog, from then on I'd be happy developing.

    I tried most of the stuff I am able to do, like creating a C# DLL and calling it from the C plugin, but that isn't working for some reason. I converted the plugin to C++ with just the callbacks in pure C but even then I was not able to call any .NET cause it's all unmanaged.

    Here is part of the problem:

    http://www.codeproject.com/KB/mcpp/u...o_managed.aspx

    Now for me the perfect solution would be to compile the plugin with Common Language Runtime Support (/clr). This is not working, the Teamspeak 3 server does not recognize the DLL anymore if I do that.

    http://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/C%2B%2B/CLI

    Once we have a bridge to .NET plugins can be created very quickly, but right now I am somewhat lost.
    Last edited by skyflash_de; January 14th, 2010 at 02:09 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Location
    Krün, Germany
    Posts
    510
    The plugin API is standard C, as this can be integrated with pretty much any language. However, writing a wrapper for Python, Java, Lua, C# and whatnot is up to the plugin authors. So far TS3 has been integrated successfully with Java and Lua. The SDK examples (This one, not the plugin SDK) also contains a simple C# sample integration, which might give you some ideas.

    We cannot provide wrappers and demos for every language out there.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    July 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by PeterS View Post
    The plugin API is standard C, as this can be integrated with pretty much any language. However, writing a wrapper for Python, Java, Lua, C# and whatnot is up to the plugin authors. So far TS3 has been integrated successfully with Java and Lua. The SDK examples (This one, not the plugin SDK) also contains a simple C# sample integration, which might give you some ideas. We cannot provide wrappers and demos for every language out there.
    That C# sample is nice but doesn't solve the problem at hand with the plugin SDK....

    The problem is that although my 32bit C++ plugin does get compiled just fine and I can enable it on the TS3 Client in the plugin section, it does not work at all. I tried debugging it, but it's like running through a dark forest without a flashlight. I can see it's not working, but I have no clue what the client is doing and why.

    It isn't crashing or doing something weird, it is just sitting there doing nothing. I left the printf in the init section which works when I compile as non /clr, but as soon as I enable that compiler option the server doesn't seem to call the plugins callbacks anymore.

    Now normally I would debug and fix that on the TS3 clients code, but as I dont have access to that I am pretty stumped on what to do.

    If I can't compile my plugin as CLR, I have massive problems with any integration, and I would have to do it via COM which is a complete hassle and not really working if I want to deploy the plugin.

    Integrating Java, Python and Lua is very simple compared to integrating a .NET managed language like C#, yes it surely can be done, but really it should be done by the people that can change the plugin API, not the plugin authors.

    At least I know that this is far too complex for me without being able to fully debug what is going on in the client.

    I am just saying, C# is a pretty powerful language and available at least on Windows and Linux. I'd even say the most powerful in existance for rapid application development with almost no defects. It would be a complete shame to not having it integrated with TS3.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Integrate 3D Sound
    By CmasterG in forum General Questions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: July 25th, 2014, 02:37 PM
  2. [Resolved] Does TeamSpeak integrate with Unity 3D?
    By jclbrs in forum General Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: October 18th, 2012, 10:52 AM
  3. Can you integrate TS3 with vbulletin?
    By optimatez in forum Tools / Web Based
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: April 30th, 2010, 03:15 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •