Forum


Notice to all users

We are migrating towards a new forum system located at community.teamspeak.com, as such this forum will become read-only on January 29, 2020

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Malmö
    Posts
    11

    Exclamation Teamspeak3 Breaking up DirectSound

    Hi

    I noticed few weeks ago that when I tried to play some music in "Spotify" it would give me an error that something is wrong with my soundcard. Recently I traced it down to Teamspeak3. Killing Teamspeak3 process would make Spotify work.

    Sometime i get no sound from Teamspeak3 aswell and I can only fix it by restarting the client.

    Also sometimes the sound would "lagg" in Spotify for 1-2 sek and then play along but when I try to change song Spotify would display a error message again.

    Also if I play a song and start Teamspeak3 the song plays until end and when it is about to play a new song in the playlist it would show this error.

    OS: Windows 7 x64 RTM (7600)
    Sound: Creative Elite Pro (PCI)
    Chipset: ATI 790FX
    Latest Drivers.

    Edit, Found that using Creative Alchemy program (DirectSound -> OpenAL) seems to work like a workarround. Thing is i have no idea why Spotify and Teamspeak3 is arguing about.
    But having Spotify in OpenAL mode is not a good idea because OpenAL only supports GameMode in Creative. Tried doing the same thing in Teamspeak3 but root folder or plugin folder seems have no effect on Teamspeak3.

    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/2137335/problem_workarrond.png

    This happens only when having Teamspeak3 launched.


    Best Regards
    Galactica
    Last edited by Galactica; February 8th, 2010 at 10:35 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Malmö
    Posts
    11
    Anyone got a solution?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    February 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1
    That seems not to be a problem with "Spotify" only. I got some errors if i try to start and connect Counterstrike 1.6 over Steam. Sometimes it just shows up the Counterstrike Backround and nothing seems to happend. After restarting Teamspeak 3 everything works fine.It seems that there maybe a problem with the audiodg.exe that call this problem.
    In a earlier Version of TS3 there was also a Problem with the audiodg.exe in combination with the Banner of the server as gif grafic, where the cpu got a permanent load up to 50%. I already updated the driver from my soundcard to the actually version, but this didnt solve the problem.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    June 2003
    Posts
    274
    In TS3, have you tried using other options besides DirectSound? What does it use when the default value is selected?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Malmö
    Posts
    11
    I use directsound. Gonna try different modes now and report my findings. By the way what soundcard do you guys use?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Malmö
    Posts
    11
    I can say not it is not only Spotify that has this issue. Last time had some sound problems with media player classic and when i killed ts3 the problem was gone.

    I am now using Windows Audio Session but the problem remains. I am not sure why this is happening to us but one thing is sure there is something in TS3 that eather my soundcard drivers hate or the soundcard as whole.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Malmö
    Posts
    11
    I have noticed that Audiodg.exe jumps from 0-1% CPU usage to about 10% when TS3 is idle and jumps sometimes to 20%

    Anyone else having this?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. [Resolved] DirectSound ERROR (-215)
    By alefor in forum Bug Reports [EN/DE]
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: September 5th, 2011, 11:14 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •