Forum


Notice to all users

We are migrating towards a new forum system located at community.teamspeak.com, as such this forum will become read-only on January 29, 2020

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 28
  1. #1
    Join Date
    February 2010
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    20

    [Solved] Disconnected all the time

    hi i have downloaded the serverand the client as i want to use this for online gaming.

    As told to do in the info i have read the quick start guide and got as far putting the server in my programs file on my c drive and made a desktop short cut to it started the server for the first time took notes of all the info and screen shotted it and then started client and entered all the info it gave me BUT WHAT info do i put in address and port.

    i use a wireless set up any instructions for that ??

    i understand what to do once connected to the sever u make just dont get how to get it up and running.


    Please help been reading for 3 hours now and getting no ware fast

  2. #2
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    492
    Hi

    The address is your machine IP address and the port is the default 9987 (as in FAQ).

    Regards

  3. #3
    Join Date
    February 2010
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    20
    ok so u mean my wireless Ip as i have no lan connection ip right ?? just to get that clear as this pc is not connected via any lan connection.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    February 2006
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    4,143
    If hosting the server on the same computer as you are using client to connect you can use localhost with the default port.

    If the server is on a different computer than your client you need the IP address of the server computer. On the LAN it will be a 192.X.X.X type address. You will have to give out your external IP to anyone not on your LAN if they want to connect and you will need to port forward a few ports so TS can talk through your firewall. I recommend either a static or resereved IP for the computer running the server because if it gets a different IP assigned to it your port forwarding won't work.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    February 2010
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    20
    ok getting there now i entered my wirless ip and got managed to connect to my server and have now entered token and managed to get server admin rights on the server so now i bookmarked yay.

    so all i need to do no is set up the port forwarding on my router correct ?? so other ppl can connect to it is what u are saying if i understand u correctly ??

    thank u so much for all the help so far sorry i am a bit of a novice on ts this is my first ts server.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    February 2006
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    4,143
    yeah, look through the FAQs to find the default ports/type you need to forward and once you do that anyone who has your WAN/external IP should be able to connect. You do have admin control right?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    492
    Yup, now you forward the server ports in the router to that address and for connecting from the outside, you will have to give your external IP or use some dynamic DNS service (like DynDNS or No-IP) to have a static name assigned to your IP (that changes from time to time).

  8. #8
    Join Date
    February 2010
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    20

    A big ty

    Thanks guys very help full i just did a test to see if i needed to set up my ports and i have to say they are all working fine with no con fig I can talk to my mac and my pc with no probs and virtually 0 lag very nice piece of software love it so i am gona go with the old theroy.

    IF IT AINT BROKE DONT FIX IT

    big thanks

    dude 30

  9. #9
    Join Date
    February 2006
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    4,143
    You won't have any problems on your LAN because you are inside the firewall but those who use your external IP may have problems. If they do then setup the port forwarding and they should be able to connect.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    February 2010
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    20
    ok will get a friend to test it later with me and good point forgot that he he

  11. #11
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    745
    this is a good resource for port forwarding: http://portforward.com/

  12. #12
    Join Date
    February 2010
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    20

    ok got my server sorted after doing port forwarding

    hey all just a not to let u know how i got on and what i had to do to get my system running

    step by step what i had to do

    after unpacking all the software and installing the client and putting the server in my programs files and making a desktop short cut to it i started the server and took notes of all the info it gave me.

    i first needed to take note of my ip address of the connection i used to connect to the internet i found my router home page very useful here as it had all the addresses i needed instead of hunting the internet for them i assume most other routers have the same info in them.

    next i started the client and entered the ip of the computer i connected to the internet in the address left the port as it was nick name i left the same for now and i used the password the server gave me when i first started it which connected just fine next i used the token the server gave me to become the server admin and at this point every think was looking great could connect np when i used any comp in my network the probs came when i tryed a comp which was not on my net work.

    so i went to port forward for info no good all the info was out of date for my router and prots also were not right so this is what i did hope this info helps other ppl so after much trial and error i discovered that my comp was giving me a single digit at the end of my ip address and when i tryed to set up the port forward it would error so the solution i found that worked for me was

    to go to network and sharing centre and view stats of the connection then properties on the bottom left then hi light internet protocol 4 then properties again and changed it from auto to use the following ip the i then entered the ip as before but changed the last group of figures from a single digit number to a three digit number eg from 192.168.2.3 to 192.168.2.145 then imputed the info i collected from the router for the rest of the boxes as i said earlier it made it very easy for me i had done all the hard info collecting and then hit ok.

    so now i could port forward the following port through my router fire wall with out it erroring.

    ports to be forwarded to the ip u set

    Default voice port (UDP): 9987
    Default filetransfer port (TCP): 30033
    Default serverquery port (TCP): 10011

    i then applied the changes and rebouted my router and pc and then i used the external ip address again i found that on my router stats page as a log in on a comp not in my network success it worked. ps this was a belkin wireless g router.

    hope this helps some one

    dude 30

  13. #13
    Join Date
    February 2010
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    20

    oh yea forgot to add

    port forward.com was very out of date for my routers firmware 3 whole versions infact and gave me the wrong prots to forward ahhhhhhh
    Last edited by dude30; February 26th, 2010 at 06:36 PM. Reason: mis type

  14. #14
    Join Date
    February 2010
    Location
    canada
    Posts
    17
    punctuation can be your be friend...

    congrats on getting it working.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    February 2010
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    20

    any one know what this is caused by

    This is my server log pc
    28/02/2010 11:00:49 VirtualServer Error connectionLost() invalid clientID: 0
    28/02/2010 11:19:48 VirtualServer Error connectionLost() invalid clientID: 0

    my Client log pc
    2010-02-28 11:10:03.139814 Info Logging started, clientlib version: 3.0.0-beta16 [Build: 10314]
    2010-02-28 11:10:03.498614 ClientUI Info TeamSpeak 3 client version: 3.0.0-beta16 [Build: 10314]
    2010-02-28 11:10:03.498614 ClientUI Info Qt version: 4.5.3
    2010-02-28 11:10:03.498614 ClientUI Info Using configuration location: C:/Users/Peter/AppData/Roaming/TS3Client/ts3clientui_qt.conf
    2010-02-28 11:10:03.997814 ClientUI Info Last update check was: Sun 28. Feb 10:49:33 2010
    2010-02-28 11:10:10.029014 PreProSpeex Info Speex version: speex-1.2beta3
    2010-02-28 11:10:10.155614 ClientUI Warning Error opening capture device: could not open capture device
    2010-02-28 11:10:10.276014 ClientUI Info getServerHostPort result: 192.168.2.3 9987
    2010-02-28 11:19:20.076014 ClientUI Info Autoreconnecting...
    2010-02-28 11:19:26.768014 ClientUI Info Autoreconnecting...
    2010-02-28 11:19:32.094014 Warning Failed to resolve blacklist server
    2010-02-28 11:19:33.476014 ClientUI Info Autoreconnecting...
    2010-02-28 11:19:37.159014 ClientUI Info getServerHostPort result: 192.168.2.3 9987
    2010-02-28 11:22:00.300014 Info Checking for updates...
    2010-02-28 11:52:16.261014 ClientUI Info Autoreconnecting...
    2010-02-28 11:52:22.969014 ClientUI Info Autoreconnecting...
    2010-02-28 11:52:28.280014 Warning Failed to resolve blacklist server
    2010-02-28 11:52:29.662014 ClientUI Info Autoreconnecting...
    2010-02-28 11:52:36.370014 ClientUI Info Autoreconnecting...
    2010-02-28 11:52:38.062014 SCHandler Error Received invalid response from server
    2010-02-28 11:52:38.062014 SCHandler Warning Error while parsing packet: Connection lost
    2010-02-28 11:52:43.061014 ClientUI Info Autoreconnecting...
    2010-02-28 11:52:43.121014 ClientUI Info getServerHostPort result: 192.168.2.3 9987
    2010-02-28 12:01:07.959014 Info Checking for updates...

    This is my client log mac
    2010-02-28 11:10:17.798459 Info Logging started, clientlib version: 3.0.0-beta16 [Build: 10314]
    2010-02-28 11:10:18.214375 ClientUI Info TeamSpeak 3 client version: 3.0.0-beta16 [Build: 10314]
    2010-02-28 11:10:18.214546 ClientUI Info Qt version: 4.5.3
    2010-02-28 11:10:18.214621 ClientUI Info Using configuration location: /Users/peterxxxxxxx/.ts3client/ts3clientui_qt.conf
    2010-02-28 11:10:18.614545 ClientUI Info Last update check was: Sun Feb 28 10:46:41 2010
    2010-02-28 11:10:22.804501 PreProSpeex Info Speex version: 1.2rc1
    2010-02-28 11:10:22.940418 ClientUI Info getServerHostPort result: 192.168.2.3 9987
    2010-02-28 11:18:48.310124 ClientUI Info Autoreconnecting...
    2010-02-28 11:18:55.100997 ClientUI Info Autoreconnecting...
    2010-02-28 11:19:01.804529 ClientUI Info Autoreconnecting...
    2010-02-28 11:19:08.508203 ClientUI Info Autoreconnecting...
    2010-02-28 11:19:15.211627 ClientUI Info Autoreconnecting...
    2010-02-28 11:19:16.117491 SCHandler Error Received invalid response from server
    2010-02-28 11:19:16.117638 SCHandler Warning Error while parsing packet: Connection lost
    2010-02-28 11:19:21.915115 ClientUI Info Autoreconnecting...
    2010-02-28 11:19:23.237119 ClientUI Info getServerHostPort result: 192.168.2.3 9987
    2010-02-28 11:51:46.205807 ClientUI Info Autoreconnecting...
    2010-02-28 11:51:53.001571 ClientUI Info Autoreconnecting...
    2010-02-28 11:51:59.704982 ClientUI Info Autoreconnecting...
    2010-02-28 11:52:06.408321 ClientUI Info Autoreconnecting...
    2010-02-28 11:52:13.111791 ClientUI Info Autoreconnecting...
    2010-02-28 11:52:16.149201 ClientUI Info getServerHostPort result: 192.168.2.3 9987

    it caused my server to kick every one then let them back in 30 secs later then works fine for a while then dose it again.

    is this a bug or is there a work round

    dude 30
    Last edited by dude30; February 28th, 2010 at 01:55 PM. Reason: got more info

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Disconnected All the time
    By klartes in forum Windows
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: March 21st, 2013, 09:00 AM
  2. Getting Disconnected all the time
    By Dazz3 in forum Windows
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: September 16th, 2012, 12:37 AM
  3. Disconnected after some time
    By Dutch Jer in forum Windows
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: April 2nd, 2012, 10:43 AM
  4. [Solved] Get IP Address from Disconnected Client
    By JohnnyT in forum Client Support
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: October 6th, 2010, 08:06 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •