Forum


Notice to all users

We are migrating towards a new forum system located at community.teamspeak.com, as such this forum will become read-only on January 29, 2020

Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    40

    Install client on console server

    Hey guys,

    I want to install the Teamspeak client on my server, which is already successfully running the latest Teamspeak server build.

    I want to install the client to create a music bot and stream music into a music channel. As with most dedicated servers I know, only console access
    is possible, no GUI.

    After "sh TeamSpeak3-Client-linux_x86-3.0.0-beta16.run".
    [email protected]:/home/teamspeak/TeamSpeak3-Client-linux_x86# sh ts3client_runscript.sh
    ts3client_linux_x86: cannot connect to X server
    [email protected]:/home/teamspeak/TeamSpeak3-Client-linux_x86#

    Is it possible to install KDE and remotely access KDE like with Microsoft's remote desktop connection?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    492
    Hi

    As far as i know, you can't run a RDP server in Linux, only a client, cause it is proprietary (Microsoft). What you can do is install a VNC server, and then access it from Windows using one of the many VNC clients out there.

    Regards

  3. #3
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    14

    re

    i wrote that on the other thread too, but anyways:

    Simple Howto:
    install fluxbox (or any lightweight window-manager)
    install tightvncserver on your server
    start tightvncserver (dont use root! create a normal user)

    connect to your server using tightvncviewer on your machine
    dont type in "ipadress", type "ipadress:0" or "ipadress:1", vncserver should say which adress is right.
    install the client.

    you really should not install kde or gnome because they need MUCH power.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    40
    Thanks for your help cr4wl!

    I installed fluxbox and tightvncserver (started as regular user).

    Whenver I try to start fluxbox though, i get

    "[email protected]:/$ fluxbox
    Error: Couldn't connect to XServer
    "

    Edit:

    When I try to connect to my tightvncserver it does work and I can start teamspeak using "sh ts3client_runscript.sh"

    Screenshot: http://www.abload.de/img/ts2c4l.jpg

    My original intention was to create a music bot streaming music via winamp or other stream-capable music player into my Teamspeak channel.
    My Teamspeak client does not recognize a "Capture Device".

    I have the following "Capture Modes" to choose from:

    Open Sound System
    ALSA
    Enlightment Sound Daemon

    It must be somehow possible to dump the audio. I am sure this server has a sound interface somehow, otherwise no dedicated server would be able
    to run a music bot.
    Last edited by Hakaori; March 9th, 2010 at 02:31 PM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    492
    Have you installed "xorg"? Also, depending if your distro resolves dependencies automatically or not, you will need to install "libgl" (generic OpenGL lib) and "x86-video-vesa" (generic video driver). Be aware that the names of the packages can change, depending on your distro.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    40
    Even though fluxbox did not start, tightvnc was still able to connect (see my screenshot).
    Why do I even need fluxbox?

    And can I chose an audio interface ?


    I dumped "dmesg" into a text file, showing my servers hardware config.
    It's attached to this post.

    Maybe that is of interest regarding a sound interface?
    Last edited by Hakaori; March 9th, 2010 at 03:06 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    40
    I followed the instructions here, to find out about the installed soundcard:
    http://www.linux-gamers.net/modules/...ge=HOWTO+Sound

    [email protected]:/sbin# lspci | grep audio
    [email protected]:/sbin# lsmod | grep snd

    No return means no way I can have a music bot?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    14
    Even though fluxbox did not start, tightvnc was still able to connect (see my screenshot).
    Why do I even need fluxbox?
    this funny window manager in your tightvnc window IS fluxbox
    without that, you would see a grey screen and nothing else.
    so you dont need to start fluxbox in the command line, tightvnc can handle this

  9. #9
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    492
    Quote Originally Posted by Hakaori View Post
    I followed the instructions here, to find out about the installed soundcard:
    http://www.linux-gamers.net/modules/...ge=HOWTO+Sound

    [email protected]:/sbin# lspci | grep audio
    [email protected]:/sbin# lsmod | grep snd

    No return means no way I can have a music bot?
    I am no linux expert, but that seems to be about it. Does the system that you are using happens to be hosted in a VPS? Cause if you are, not having a sound card is completely normal.

    Anyways, even without a sound card i guess that it could be done, using some sort of dummy driver or the null device. Be aware tho, that i am not sure of any of this, but it might help you searching for a solution

  10. #10
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    40
    I am using a dedicated server. So with a dummy driver or null device I would still be able to stream music from a music player into my teamspeak channel? Sweet!

  11. #11
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    40
    I have done research, and I came up with these:

    http://www.alsa-project.org/main/ind...x:Module-dummy

    This might help I reckon, I will try!

  12. #12
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    40
    Nobody has any input or help in this matter?
    Surely this must be very interesting for all the other owners of dedicated servers

  13. #13
    Join Date
    October 2010
    Location
    Bucharest, Romania
    Posts
    1
    I know this is an old thread but if anyone is interested, I did something like this using a distro with pulseaudio, vnc configured as a per user port and mpd + mpd webui-client to allow multiple persons to change the music.

    If needed I can try to provide more details.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Hamburg
    Posts
    4
    The first beta release of TeamSpeak3 was supposed to come with a command line client. At least it was promoted.
    When that thing was missing in the initial release, the devs said, that it fell into oblivion when pushing TS3 towards the release, but still was on the list and to be released sometime in the future.

    Time went by, but it still doesn't seem like the command line client made any progress. I am really missing that thing with TS3.
    A client that does not depend on a GUI and can use stdin/stdout for audio would make things like this possible and a lot more efficient.

    I would appreciate, if one of the TS3 devs would make a statement on this subject.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: June 24th, 2011, 08:22 PM
  2. [Rejected] Console/Text-Mode Team Speak Client
    By hoak in forum Suggestions and Feedback
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: March 11th, 2011, 10:51 AM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: February 27th, 2010, 01:47 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •